Thread: Realisticly what can we do?

Realisticly what can we do?

Lads just want to see, what you all think limerick can do on the field this year.
    Is there going to be a squad there capable of going up this year, or are we just trying to establish the future of limerick football playing in division 1, giving the youngsters the expierence.?
    cum on the blues

If we hold onto the majority of the squad that finished last season i think realistically we could be looking at a 3rd place finish and hopefully win the play off matches.

1.Sporting Fingal
    2.Shelbourne FC
    3.Limerick FC

Thats they way i think it will finish with all the other places up for grabs. Who knows though, Waterford, Monaghan, Harps and Longford could be in around third aswell. There probably won't be much between who finishes 2nd and who finishes 5th, 6th or even 7th. Its going to be a very competitive divsion.

Its too early to say yet, we dont know if we'll have UCD or Finn harps in the 1st division.
    If we can play like the latter half of last season, and there's no logical reason why we wouldnt, then we will be challenging for the promotion play-off.

For now, I'll predict;
    1. Sporting Fingal
    2. Harps
    3. Limerick FC
    4. Shels
    5. UCD
    6. Monaghan
    7. Waterford
    8. Cobh
    9. Wexford
    10. Longford
    11. Athlone
    12. Mervue
    LTID

i think you right Jofspring,a good start to the season will be vital.A few extra players to the squad to add some competition for places would be great.But i think if we have the bulk of last years squad we will be challenging.
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

have a look at this from Hackett bookmakers
    Sporting 4/6
    Shels 9/2
    Ucd 10/1
    Waterford 11/1
    Lime 16/1
    Mons 20/1
    Cobh 20/1
    Longford 25/1
    Athlone 80/1
    wex 80/1
    mervue 200/1

We're worth a punt at those odds.
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

Realisticly

Fingal for the title, Shels second, Waterford/Ucd/Harps for 3rd then ourselves and Dublin Mons.

Realistically I'd be disappointed with less than sixth and delighted with third.

Fingal have built a team that would be mid table in the Premier I think, so they'll win the league barring some catastrophe. Shels have kept a good squad and should be looking at taking one of the playoff spots. After that I'd fancy UCD to take third, Harps fourth with us, Monaghan and Waterford fighting it out for 5th, 6th and 7th. If we, or mons or Waterford, put a good run together and UCD or Harps hit bad form we could challenge for that playoff spot alright as I don't think we'll be too far off (if not better) than any team in this division bar Fingal and Shels.

End of the day I would expect Fingal and Shels to get promoted however.

This logical approach to the division won't stop the naysayers if we are in 5th for instance, but sure I doubt even their own mothers listen to them any more anyway

To be honest it's too early to make predictions with any degree of certainty yet, we're not even sure who'll be in the division yet after all. It will probably be Fingal running away with it followed by Shels/Waaaaaterford/UCD/Harps/us/Monagahan in any order and then the rest in any order too.

Fingal
    Us/Monaghan
    Shels/UCD
    Waterford
    Wexford
    Longford
    Kildare
    Athlone

Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    Fingal
    Us/Monaghan
    Shels/UCD
    Waterford
    Wexford
    Longford
    Kildare
    Athlone
    What about Harps/Cobh/Mervue?

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    To be honest it's too early to make predictions with any degree of certainty yet, we're not even sure who'll be in the division yet after all.
    When will we know???
    We tend to believe that words enable thought. But words can also substitute for thought.

- Richard A. Posner

Quote Originally Posted by GenerationXI View Post
    When will we know???
    Seen it posted in another thread something about Feb 16th with fixtures then to be out Feb 20th.

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Seen it posted in another thread something about Feb 16th with fixtures then to be out Feb 20th.
    Thanks.
    We tend to believe that words enable thought. But words can also substitute for thought.

- Richard A. Posner

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    What about Harps/Cobh/Mervue?
    dont think one of them if not two will be in the first division, but ill edit my post anyway and give a revisised guesstimit of where we'll finish

1. Sporting Fingal
    2. monaghan
    3. UCD
    4. Shels
    5. Limerick
    6. Waterford
    7. Wexford
    8. Harps
    9. Cobh/Kildare
    10. Longford
    11. Athlone
    12. Mervue

47 Posts
    If you will permit, my predictions are as follows

1. Sporting Fingal (out bought everyone else)
    2. Shels (they gotta do it at some stage)
    3. Waterford
    4. Limerick
    5. UCD
    6. Harps
    7. Monaghan
    8. Wexford Youths
    9. Cobh
    10. Longford
    11 Athlone
    12.Mervue

1. Sporting Fingal
    2. Limerick
    3. Waterford
    4. Shels
    5. UCD
    6. Harps
    7. Monaghan
    8. Wexford Youths
    9. Mervue
    10. Longford
    11 Athlone
    12.Cobh

Quote Originally Posted by poacher View Post
    By the sounds of it ye all think Limerick have a great chance of promotion
    Not really, but we'll be competitive

Thumbs up runners up at least!

[QUOTE=limerickblue;1097699]Lads just want to see, what you all think limerick can do on the field this year.

i think based on our form in the second half of last season that we have a great chance of finishing runners-up to fingal.if we start the season well the hordes will return and with a bit of luck who knows?

we can dream can we not?we have nothing to fear but fear itself etc etc

Thumbs down

[QUOTE=jaorta;1103806][QUOTE=limerickblue;1097699]Lads just want to see, what you all think limerick can do on the field this year.

after speaking to a couple of the players tonight i feel it is only right to offer a re-think on my last post.we will not be in the top five.we are again going backwards with the players being treated like s***e and our opening team will be a lot different to last seasons finishing line-up.
    i know i am going to be lambasted by the self styled "club insiders"who i admire for the hard work they do on all our behalfs,but i think its time to take off the rose-tinted specs and see things as they really are and not as "mike the magnificent"chooses to exclusively feed them...

lot has changed in a week hasnt it?