Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: 2009 squad

85 Posts
    Did Wallace say at the start that eventually the club would give up on the amateur ethos? I mean, in the long term I think you'll need to pay players if you are to ever push for promotion..
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Since MK left on Thur the 2 players mentioned were contacted by the club to see if they would return but it seems they have committed themselves to ye.
    Will be sorry to see them go and they'll hardly travel up and down to ye without getting a few bob?
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LK37oldskool View Post
    Since MK left on Thur the 2 players mentioned were contacted by the club to see if they would return but it seems they have committed themselves to ye.
    Will be sorry to see them go and they'll hardly travel up and down to ye without getting a few bob?
    They'll get good mileage rates, don't worry

I presume they'll get travel expenses, maybe generous ones at that but i doubt they'll get paid other than the usual few bob all player get per game. Maybe Mick has set them up with work, they're studying and he'll be flexible or something like that. Do they live in Limerick, the lads in WD cant be far away but maybe the LK lads are based in Dublin or eastern parts.
    A man can have no greater love than give 90 minutes to his friends

Quote Originally Posted by Splurge View Post
    I presume they'll get travel expenses, maybe generous ones at that but i doubt they'll get paid other than the usual few bob all player get per game. Maybe Mick has set them up with work, they're studying and he'll be flexible or something like that. Do they live in Limerick, the lads in WD cant be far away but maybe the LK lads are based in Dublin or eastern parts.

Sheahan would be based in Limerick but as far as I know White is based in Waterford.
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

Statement under the photos is utter nonsense - "Mike Kerley was quickly followed out the exit door by two key players "

The players left because Kerley froze them out. If he'd left a couple of weeks sooner the club would have signed them up. The first thing the club did once Kerley left was to get straight on the phone to Sheehan and White. It was too late, they'd already committed to the Youths by the time Kerley resigned.
    LTID

Quote Originally Posted by L37Ultra View Post
    Sheahan would be based in Limerick but as far as I know White is based in Waterford.
    Maybe, but tbh i've never heard of him.
    Would have liked Sheehan with us next year, we need another striker.
    Big loss to limerick?

Is Sheehan really "one the brightest prospects in the country"??
    Last edited by blue til i die; 23/02/2009 at 7:30 PM.
    I’m not pedantic...I’m merely overly concerned with minute details.

Quote Originally Posted by blue til i die View Post
    Maybe, but tbh i've never heard of him.
    Would have liked Sheehan with us next year, we need another striker.
    Big loss to limerick?

Is Sheehan really "one the brightest prospects in the country"??
    With himself and Grincell ye certainly would have had alot of speed.

Definatley not one of the brightest prospects in the country. Limerick have Jason Hughes, Paul Danaghar, Thomas Lyons and one or two more that would be brighter prospects. As do Waterford in someone like Grincell. Sheehan is a good player but i wouldn't say one of the brightest prospects.

Also in a previous post i said White was purely a left back, i meant right back

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Sheehan is a good player but i wouldn't say one of the brightest prospects.
    Do you know the nature of the injury which kept him out of our last friendly??

Nerves!!!
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LK37oldskool View Post
    Nerves!!!
    I hope the bad nerves are not from being scared of the dark!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by oldyouth View Post
    Do you know the nature of the injury which kept him out of our last friendly??
    A friend of mine was training with him with Mary I and said he was injured alright, he said he'd be out for a good few weeks at least. Dunno exactly what the injury was. He told me this a couple of weeks ago though so he could be nearly fit again. Youths might not have wanted to risk him yet for the sake of a friendly.

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    A friend of mine was training with him with Mary I and said he was injured alright, he said he'd be out for a good few weeks at least. Dunno exactly what the injury was. He told me this a couple of weeks ago though so he could be nearly fit again. Youths might not have wanted to risk him yet for the sake of a friendly.
    Thanks for that. Word here is 3-4 weeks. We have a tough opening month and could have done with him

Cant believe people in this site think that gary sheehan wont get paid it is a worry if the local lads are getting nothing and players from outside are putting in the same work and getting nothing,it will be tough for mick too keep the dressing room happy.

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by trueview6 View Post
    Cant believe people in this site think that gary sheehan wont get paid it is a worry if the local lads are getting nothing and players from outside are putting in the same work and getting nothing,it will be tough for mick too keep the dressing room happy.
    what are you basing this on that sheehan getting paid? Most will acknowledge that his expensive are probably very good but doubt getting paid as Wallace is not one to back down as he likes the team being amateur
    And Miles To Go Before We Sleep

Quote Originally Posted by Youths4Ever View Post
    what are you basing this on that sheehan getting paid? Most will acknowledge that his expensive are probably very good but doubt getting paid as Wallace is not one to back down as he likes the team being amateur
    he's obviously a LK ****estirrer.

you got it in one.he (lkoldskool)does not represent the vast majority of limerick fans.gary sheahan was in my openion the best player in the first division last year bar none.id like to wish him all the best and hope he might return to us in the not too distant future!ye are in for a treat

Quote Originally Posted by jaorta View Post
    you got it in one.he (lkoldskool)does not represent the vast majority of limerick fans.gary sheahan was in my openion the best player in the first division last year bar none.id like to wish him all the best and hope he might return to us in the not too distant future!ye are in for a treat
    Sounds good, we cant wait to see him in action, the sooner the better.

Heard he's still injured for at least another two months. Any word down in Wexford on this?
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast