It didn't look like there was a mexican wave at any stage last night. Thank God.
Well done Singing Section.
Really enjoyed being in the SS last night and recommend it to anyone who is sick of people round them sitting like they are at the cinema, a guy behind me and 3 seats across told me to sit down, i told him this is the SS and thats what we will be doing standing and singing, if he was unable to stand i would have sat down. We were chasing the equaliser and about 50 people around me were on their feet, i glanced round to see that guy and he was sitting trying to catch it on the big screen, was happy in the end as he finally got the gist and was standing for the last 10 minutes solid!!!
Love the stand up for the boys in green easy to maintain and gets most up although i feel like beating those who refuse to stand. On the one road another classic, that we should for the next game sing right to the end, if you don't know the words then get learning.
Blobbybo love your thinking that would be great, sing the slow and correct version no clapping with a massive tri colour on display. Besides ****ting myself until we had scored i agree with others most enjoyable game as a supporter and i can't wait for the next game. Hoarse today but couldn't give a monkey's!! Well done to all those who took full part in the SS and those who didn't you better up your support for the next game, the team needs YOU!!!!
It didn't look like there was a mexican wave at any stage last night. Thank God.
Well done Singing Section.
Have to start somewhere - and that was a good first effort from my birds eye view in the Upper Cusack.
Vell done to ze SS.
I'm in the Davin for the Bulgaria game. I'm getting the vocal chords charged up already.
Quoting years at random since 1975
I was in the corner of the Hogan and Davin stand, and tbh whilst the singing was an improvement for Croke Park, It was nothing great by any stretch of the imagination.
Singing Section was decent last night, fair play to all involved.
However, there's 17 of us on my Block Book and we were seperated out, 10 of us in Row W seast 23 to 33 and 7 of us in Row X seats 2 to 9 which was a pain in the @rse and neither of which I'd consider to be right in the singing section. We'd hoped to have been further back and more central. Still, we managed to stand the whole game and sang for most of it but I'll be hoping to get moved so that we're at least sitting on seats parallel to each other on consecutive rows for the final two games.
Anyone know if I'd be better off trying to get that changed through the YBIG lads or direct with the FAI?
Last edited by Drumcondra 69er; 12/02/2009 at 12:27 PM.
I suppose it didnt help that there still seemed to be lots of empty seats within the SS. If the 1000 or so were compact together it probably would have helped the look and sound of the section to the rest of the ground and on tv.
In the BundesLiga the TV stations have microphones positioned right in with the Ultras sections - always makes the atmosphere come across much better on TV.
I was in the Upper Cusack and whilst the SS didnt look to be exactly rocking it was certainly an improvement on previous atmospheres. Hopefully more join the crew for the forthcoming Bulgaria game.
I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?
"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew
I know, it's terrible! How many painful home games have I sat through (or rather banged through) and now it's become enjoyable again and I've emigrated, typical !
I wish I could go back for the Bulgaria gameAh well, the abundance of sun and bikini clad beauties should be of some comfort
<insert witty remark>
Just a couple of points now that I'm sober.
There seemed to be 2 groups in the singing section. 1 in front of me and one further back towards the right. Both groups knew the "we love you" song and sang it a lot. It was catching on by the end of the game. It's up to these groups to get new songs like Oro, se do bheatha bhaile sang. I can't emphasise enough how good that song is when sang in a group and it's easy to sing. I only heard it once last night and about 5 people were singing it.
And there was a few people in the section that just didn't sing. They were young, laughing and joking and should have been joining in.
Anyway, we definitely need a list of songs and for the big groups to get them going. When a few people start singing a song you feel stupid trying to join in. It requires a group to get these songs going. That's why I think we should organise a ****up in a couple of weeks. We get to know each other a bit and we're then all the one group and there'll be no problems singing.
btw - is it not "because we support the Irish, the Irish, the Irish..." ? Because I certainly wasn't hearing that line.
as you say there was no conformity, for Hertha matches for example, where often the stadium woud be like croke park last night, all the 'hardcore fans are packed tightly together. the rest of the ground doesn't stand that much but they do partake in the odd song.
a man beside me, cool guy and i kept hitting into him and he laughed, but he's a not going to be clapping 'ireland' and then the hands in the air. it just doesn't look right.
i don't know what they can do to to make the people who want to sing closer together but they should try out something.
AND AGAIN SCRAP ON THE ONE ROAD as the players come out. it doesnt create the right atmosphere.
have say I taught it was excellent last night.
The only downer was the idiot who at the end of first half started giving abuse to everybody as they were walking up to toilets etc for booing at half time..there was dad with his two kids and there was this fool mouthing off would not mind but he kept on for about two minutes making a ***** of himself and people just afraid or amused at him.
Anyway taught it was very good really enjoyed it and seems like there song or two more coming along as well.
Love to see "The Bounce" work would be class especially when corners come in from davin side for ireland get a real buzz and even players will feel the effect im sure.
All round well done to all who got invloved.
P.S never seen as many people go mental after a goal as we did after Robbie second fantastic.
Was everyone adhering to seat number and row on their ticket or was it a more of a loose arrangement like on a terrace?
Quoting years at random since 1975
with the cost of tickets people should be handed a free scarf imo, even just a green white and orange one.
there was 3 of us got tickets that were supposed to be the singing section but there wasn't much singing going on where we were so we just moved over into the thick of it where everyone was standing. there was no hassle changing seats at all.
"A farting horse will never tire and a farting man's the man to hire!"
I sang whenever I could. I'd be big into singing and atmosphere at Rovers matches. For me It wouldn't be the same otherwise.
However the impression I got last night, was of groups of lads who support Liverpool, Man U, Chelsea etc. going to the singing section and thinking that they know it all with regards to singing and chanting and "sure jesus aren't we great".
Maybe I'm completely wrong in my opinion but just what I felt. I think people are wetting themselves with over excitement in thinking that it was "great unbelievable" atmosphere last night when in reality, it wasn't.
I think you have the wrong end of the stick R&WR, everybody has moaned for ages about the lack of atsmosphere in Croke park, last night was a definite improvement but I am sure they would freely admit themselves its a work in progress. Fair play to them, something needed doing otherwise its just all talk and from small acorns ......
I've never sang as much at any game as I did last night. I'm sure many around me were the same. There's regular songs at away games but last night I was doing well to get a 30 second break.
As for the the Liverpool, Man U, Chelsea etc. Liverpool, Man U and Chelsea supporters wouldn't be the type of people that want to join this singing section. Most of them don't even want to go to the games.
would agree was slow to start with but really got going as game went on, lets keep it going lads
delighted for Robbie Keane
I just downloaded the match and you can definitely hear us sing from start to finish. 2 mins30 gone and I can hear "One the one Road". Fair enough you do have to listen out for it to hear it but there's no doubt that it's a big help to the atmosphere. Without that it's a library.
4.30 a very audible Come on you boys sang.
The first 10 minutes sounds really good on TV. You'd know it was only a section of us singing obviously but it's definitely very audible.
20 mins you can clearly hear We Love You.
That was just spending a couple of seconds flicking and I'm pleasantly surprised. Without us I dread to think what the atmosphere would have been like.