Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Singing Section Post Match

Singing Section Post Match

very poor lads, when the crowd zoomed in on ye there was no one singing!!

Ill get ye going in march

don't know what your talking about. was ****ing epic being in there.

oh and btw all national teams, well most, have very 'poor'(in the way we see it here in western europe) atmospheres when playing at home. I enjoyed the SS tonight because it was good craic and I could stand for the whole game from a good vantage point and chant without weird looks. I actually enjoyed the experience of an Ireland match for the first time EVER.
    Last edited by irishultra; 11/02/2009 at 11:11 PM.

I have to say I've never sang for as long in my life. Even the big games and the away games. That was non-stop with the only break at half time.

I hear it couldn't be heard on TV but I couldn't care less. The few hundred of us that moved to this section sang non-stop.

Anyway, I lost my temper a bit at the start of the match. Myself and a friend got to our seats in Row NN and I could hear plenty of people shouting "sit down". After having a few pints and with Ireland conceding so early my blood was boiling. Row NN wasn't exactly where the singing section crowd was but it was where I got my SS ticket. I was told we were allowed to stand. Someone close to me told me to sit down and I lost it. I stormed down above the entrance into the section.

I stood there anyway and sang along with the rest of the crowd. After a few minutes I could hear someone shouting in my direction. I wasn't standing in any seating area so I immediately thought it was a stewart and didn't turn around. Then the guy started calling me a *****. I just kept watching the game with a slight smirk on my face. A stewart then went over to the chap and told him to keep quiet. 2 or 3 minutes later and a decent stewart with a smile on his face told me that someone asked if I would sit down. I told him I wasn't going back to where I was sitting and if it would be ok if I took one of the empty seats beside the crowd that were standing. That was no problem and that was the end of the problems.

From then on we all sang. The usual songs were sang as well as On the One Road and the Celtic/St Pauli/Bohs/Derry song. I was suprised how much that was sang and it seems to be catching on already. There was also smatterings of some other songs we made up online and it was clear a lot of people knew them.

A point I want to make is that the match was so bad for an hour or so that it drains any singing out of you. But many of us kept going. It wasn't as much a singing session but more a case of trying to lift the team. The team got booed off at half time and our section sang for them. I hoped at the time that they heard us singing and let them think "we'll go out and win it for that crowd".

I'm sure I could go on and on but I've a few drinks on me at this stage. Whether anyone could hear us on TV I thought we did a brilliant job and I hope it keeps up for the Bulgaria match. I'd seriously recommend a huge ****up at some stage though. I think once most of us got to know each other it would make a huge difference. As the match was coming to an end I just wish I could put up a huge "bounce bounce or the boys in green" banner to get everyone doing just that.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 11/02/2009 at 11:58 PM.

awww eireboy that sucks with that goon. the atmosphere was a bit tense at the start, i think some people confused what a 'singing section' was. me and my mate moved into the row of seats beside where the general noice was coming from, the people on front of us and behind were into the chanting so was really good. thankfully nobody came to displace us and we had a great night.

btw did anyone notice me, blonde highlights in hair, was wearing a blue hat thingy for a bit and neck warmer and doing really weird faces when chanting and also a real annoying screachy voice at times?

i have to say irish people are good, i mean the way we clap for the opposing team and anthem, it makes me proud.

OH BTW just one thing on the one road is a good official fan song but it doesnt get you in the zone for a match before the team come out. the boys are back in town, shipping out to boston, where the streets have no name etc. would be better.

i'd go as far as to say for bulgaria it should be where the streets have no name
    Last edited by irishultra; 12/02/2009 at 12:21 AM.

btw soccerc - "singing section my arse - I was right behind you at half time. I recognised your face from pictures online and when I saw the big camera I knew it was you.

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    btw soccerc - "singing section my arse - I was right behind you at half time. I recognised your face from pictures online and when I saw the big camera I knew it was you.
    Haven't a notion what you're on about?

What does "btw soccerc - "singing section my arse " mean as I was not in the Davin stand.

Dunno how you'd recognise my face from online as I don't believe there are many images of me on the web.

At half time I didn't have a big camera!

http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

lol evil twin

Quote Originally Posted by soccerc View Post
    Haven't a notion what you're on about?
    Ignore that so. Thought you were one of the cameramen because of your pics. I'm 100% I recognised the guys face though I don't know why I thought it was you. That's my head wrecked now.

btw, I definitely saw your face online. I think maybe even in a video interview?
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 12/02/2009 at 1:06 AM.

I was watching it on ESPN in Oz and I definitely noticed the difference with the atmosphere. In previously circumstances, if we were a goal down to a weaker team there would be an eerie silence over Croke Park. Today there was constant noise going and I believe it is a massive aid to reducing the tension on the pitch.

In the second half, when we were getting close and eventually scored the atmosphere reached great heights but this is when it's easy. Finding your voice when the chips are down is what good support is all about.

Fair play all involved and f*ck the sit down brigade
    <insert witty remark>

was sat in row nn block 321. i stood for the first 5 or 10 minutes and we kept being told to sit down, so the 4 of us found a space to stand over to right of us where all the craic was happening. have to say it was the most enjoyable match at croker yet. i think the fai have totally ****ed up the SS, it obvious that existing block bookers have remained in that area and that was why there was so many people sitting down and not singing.

Quote Originally Posted by Jegg View Post
    was sat in row nn block 321. i stood for the first 5 or 10 minutes and we kept being told to sit down
    Yeh that's exactly where we were supposed to be sat. Stayed there for all of 2 minutes before moving. I'm going to have to ask the FAI to move us further down for the Bulgaria match.

Fair play to all who were in the singing section. I was in the Hogan Stand, and was really impressed with the great wall of noise coming from the SS. The best I've seen at Croke Park. Hopefully this will continue and I can see it being even more effective in the 'smaller confines' of the new Lansdowne.

Watched the whole game on TV and heard hardly any singing at all??? Whats up with that?
    Do RTE not have any good mics or what??
    Reading this you guys obviously gave it a good go..

51 Posts
    Well done to the singing section in theCanal end - only for ye - place would have being dead last night - ye were great crack!

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Beavis View Post
    I was watching it on ESPN in Oz

You've left us?!

I thought it worked well, although I was over to the right of the section. It was slow to get going (the game's start didn't help in fairness), but when it did get going, it was very good. It spread a lot easier than before too. Though I thought the booing at half time wasn't warranted.

lads sorry it didnt at all come through on the tele, and the one time it focused in and said about ye, there was only a few lads looking and then starting pionting at the cameras, then everyone started singing and we could hear it on tele. SO it seemed like ye weren't singing throughout.

What were others reactions to it that weren't in the singing seciton? how did it sound.

Cant wait to bulgaria now and getting involved.

broke my leg last monday playing 5 a side so didn't go up to match. watched a home international on TV for first time in years. singing wasn't that audible but did hear the wooo ohhh, wooo ohhhh song (aka derry/st. pauli i like it song).

would be an idea for RTE to get some mics closer to that section as that kind of signing always makes games sound better on TV.

i'll be back for the bulgaria game anyhow. does anyone know if i can send my cusack tickets back to the FAI to change for SS ones???

where did keane run to when he scored? the passion was class, how much it meant to him and the whole team. Bloody brilliant.

Whoever said that the errie silence puts more pressure on our team i think that is spot on. Ive never seen them dominate and keep getting closer and closer before, and i do put a lot of that down to the noise that ye must have made. Fair play one and all.

Most enjoyable night in Dublin since Yugoslavia '99 in Lansdowne. Great crowd, great chants that I suprised how quick they caught on.

I was aprehensive early on when I thought we were just resorting to the same old chants x 30. Ole Ole was a bit inappropriate at 1-0 down and i did feel compelled to have to sit down for a guy behind me who have 3 small kids with him in the SS.

2nd half was relentless. Im hoarse to my stomach from singing and shouting. To hear people carry that on all the way back to town from Croker alongs the streets last night was a special feeling. Very heart warming on a cold night.
    ----------------------------------
    Suggestion for the night night if the Sun are doleing out free T shirts again. Section them into Green, White and Orange and we hold them up over our heads at the start of the game for a slow version of The Fields

Rugby style slow version of the fields of athenry without the clapping works better
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

Oh yeah - And no mexican wave - the hoodoo is broken. lol
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast