Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: Singing Section Post Match

I was in section 321 J and a few around sang through out but the main culprets for not singing and sitting like they were at the cinema was those directly behind the goal in the lower section. For crying out loud when we start chatting stand up for the boys in green the whole stadium should join in. All in all the SS area has definitely changed my Croke Park experience anywhere else now would just be dire now. After the Cryrus game i could see the next game far enough (upper canal row Z) and backs to the wall for 84mins (on and off the pitch), after Wednesday night i just wanted another game asap. Bring it on and again if you were shy/quiet on Wednesday take note and up your support for the next game!!!!! Hoarse the next day is the way to be!!!!!!!

229 Posts
    Whats the score with the standing. Can the FAI be seen to be actively allowing standing...I thought UEFA/FIFA would have something to say about it?
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Quote Originally Posted by Mento View Post
    The FAI mentioned doing this
    The plan for this match was to get it out there, just get started really.
    Now we can build on it

What is the general feeling on a loud speaker?
    Any other suggestions e mail www.youboysingreen.ie
    I don't know if it would work. I've watched plenty of clips of St Pauli fans and they're like a hardcore choir. They wait until the moment the guy with the loud speaker gives the go ahead and all sing the verse together. That was the way it was with the Polish at Croker too. They had people facing their fans with the backs to the pitch for the whole match. It would take a bit of getting used to. If we're just using a guy to get songs going I don't think it would make a difference tbh. There was no problems getting songs started where I was on Wednesday. People just need to learn the words to the new songs.

Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    What I'd suggest is that maybe those of us with a like mind or a penchant for the craic of standing and singing submit their seat numbers to the lads at ybig and ask to be grouped together.
    To avoid the hassle of having to send your ticket back and get a new one we should just make the SS an open area like terracing. Ignore seat numbers once we're in that area. Stewards were probably given that instruction anyway because I was allowed move where I wanted on Wednesday but if the FAI could make that official it would be great.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 13/02/2009 at 9:35 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by antrimgreen View Post
    Hoarse the next day is the way to be!!!!!!!
    maybe we could work that in to .. "my lovely hoarse".

I'll get me coat.

Quote Originally Posted by Mento View Post
    The FAI mentioned doing this
    The plan for this match was to get it out there, just get started really.
    Now we can build on it

What is the general feeling on a loud speaker?
    Any other suggestions e mail www.youboysingreen.ie
    also would like to add my congratulations and kudos to ybig and the organisers

two suggestions in terms of the music ..

(1) an dearg doom/pride (u2)/O sullivans march(chieftains) or something in this ilk as the teams come on to the pitch

close your eyes, and forget Rob Roy when listening to this Chieftains song

(2) Play On the One Road after the final whistle instead of at the beginning i.e. No STATUS QUO !!!

edit: might need a back up song in case the result doesn't go the right way. ermm ....

Anyone remember the Swiss playing aga doo doo doo after beating us in Basle ... it was so gay.
    Last edited by macdermesser; 13/02/2009 at 10:09 AM.

FORMERLY: Youwerethereray Traps Cat's Avatar
    Well done to the lads for organising the singing section - best atmosphere since the move to croker in my opinion.

We requsted a move of our blocked booked tickets in the Davin to the SS and presumed that the section would be solely for those who had requested the same and standing in the stand would be accepted (i know its not technically allowed)

There were fans both in front and behind us that knew nothing of a singing section having being organised. This resulted in a group of teenager's consistantly verbally abusing an elderly man (obviously in attendance with his grandchildren) - telling him to "F*** off to the Hogan" if he had a problem with them standing and obscuring his , and his grandchildrens view of the game. An isolated incident maybe , but i heard simalar on the way out of the ground.

Personally , i would have prefared to stand for the whole game (The north terrace is in my blood!) but i was sitting in front of a group of fans who knew nothing of the SS and refused to stand - which i thought was fair enough to be honost.

The idea in principle is great - and im sure will be fine tuned , so that everyone is singing of the same hymn sheet so to speak. Although the behaviour of some of the fans that i witnessed , in my opinion , was unacceptable.
    "The cat is in it, but it's open - and it's a wild cat"

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    I will be there for the Bulgaria game when I am off the crutches and I will be giving it socks.
    you have lots to give.

Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post
    Whats the score with the standing. Can the FAI be seen to be actively allowing standing...I thought UEFA/FIFA would have something to say about it?
    sssssh

My experience from Wednesday night....Good start that will improve as time goes on.
    My suggestion for the next games if for the FAI to put aside 2000 seats,regardless if there booked or not and hold them for anyone coming into the stadium to have the option to move to these seats.
    We were in front of the SS ..in line with the corner flag and it was a mess. We wanted to stand and sing,a few behind us wanted to sit,a group to the left of us (about 20) refused to sit down,even though everyone else around them were sitting. A lot of arguments breaking out over it.
    I think someone with a loud speaker or megaphone standing at the very front of the Davin directing people to move to the SS if they wanted to sing,or likewise, giving people the option to move out of the SS, At least people will understand what's going on, and it might keep all the singers in one area,cos it would have been brillaint had all the singers been in the one area.
    The St. Pauli song was good, the oh,oh,oh bit sounded great, but the actual words couldn't be heard. And last point..it REALLY needs someone with a pair of balls to be the music conductor at the front of the SS, so that we all sing the same songs...a few times different songs were started, and just cancelled each other out.
    AND last point...someone good on the drums. Yer man from the Derry City-St. Pauli video is class on the drums..anyone know who he is

130 Posts
    [QUOTE=Kingdom;1103948]

What I'd suggest is that maybe those of us with a like mind or a penchant for the craic of standing and singing submit their seat numbers to the lads at ybig and ask to be grouped together.

[QUOTE]

I agree, as I said earlier in the thread the 17 of us on my block booking weren't seated together which was a pain in the @rse, we used to have two sets of 8 and 9 in consecutive rows but we were in seperate areas in 321 for this game. No hassle standing where we were at least. Only problem is that the Bulgaria tickets have already been issued with the same seat numbers as Georgia......

can someone tell me if ybig would be the best bet for getting singing section tickets for bulgaria? as has been said, it was grand against georgia we could move to where the action was but where i was originally sitting i knew from the moment the people came in behind they were going to be sitting through the whole game.

The atmosphere was the best in Croker, along with the Slovakia match in my opinion.

Was at the front of 321 and had 1 problem with the person sitting in the seat directly behind. After standing for about the first 6 minutes,I got a tap on the shoulder from a middle-aged fella to sit down.I turned around and friendly enough said that this was the SS and straight away got threatened by this lad that if i didn't sit down he'd knock me "down there" (pointing at the floor) if I stood again. Anyway I pointed out the rest of the crowd around who were standing and told me to "**** off over there then, I've paid for this ticket".

i left it and we sat down to let him cool down and about 3 minutes later 'Stand up for TBIG' started and most of the Davin were up, not just the SS. I turned around when it was petering out to the lovely sight of the fella's foot sitting on my chair with the words "that will go as far up ur ****in hole..."

A real fan behind him told him to stop and leave it, and then fair enough, 1 of the 2 lads that was with the abusive lad encouraged him to calm down and made a slight apology to me.

However it did spoil the occasion as it meant we had to sit for the rest of the 1st half and the start of the second half. And when the whole stand was standing for the end of the second half, he was the only one within sight that I could see sitting down.(And he missed the winner when he was at the toilet which he rightly deserved).
    The 2 he was with were genuine fans, yet I still doubt that they knew of the SS.

A cheerleader with a loudspeaker would help imo but well done YBIG, it was a success that only can lead to better things.
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

Probably the same chap in 321 roaring at me with pure anger to sit down. He was sitting I think in the front row before the corridor area over the entrance. I was standing over the entrance, as in I could look directly down to the stairs and not blocking the view of anyone (this guy was to my right). I didn't even look his way once which I'm delighted about. I could hear the anger in his voice building as ignored him. We're both probably lucky I didn't look his way as it no doubt would have resulted in a heated argument. The steward shut him up anyway.

Fair enough if I was blocking his or someone elses view but he just wanted to shout for the sake of it.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 13/02/2009 at 8:10 PM.

7 of us in block 321 row O. There was an enclave (touchy word to the Georgians) of about 20 fans singing. Had no problems with standing and singing all the game and would have loved to have been up with the core group of singers as noise ye were making was brilliant. I think part of the problem was when the singing section tickets went on sale at twenty euros less than the rest of the lower level there were a lot of opportunists who availed of the cheaper tickets with no intention of singing. Coupled with block bookers who had their regular seats there, there was always going to be some flashpoints. I agree with the idea of anyone wanting to sing to give their current seat numbers to be relocated to a central section. Obviously it won't happen the next game with all of the tickets sent out but surely with the Italy game being a good while off it could be done in time for the big one and use the friendlies in between to co-ordinate our singing.

I think the whole of the Davin is €50 Murph.

My seat was in front of you, row NN, but as I said I lasted 2 minutes there. You should have moved down to the main crowd.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernian View Post
    The only downer was the idiot who at the end of first half started giving abuse to everybody as they were walking up to toilets etc for booing at half time..there was dad with his two kids and there was this fool mouthing off would not mind but he kept on for about two minutes making a ***** of himself and people just afraid or amused at him.
    Sorry Hibs but I have to back the guy up. The boo boys have no place at the game. Please see the "Booing at half time" thread for the arguments but I'm totally behind that lad. The only ones "making a ***** " of themselves were the boo boys. I think any spectator (coz they ain't supporters) should be shamed for booing or hurling abuse at the team. I' propose a campaign of ostracism against all the booers. See this thread http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=111757

Quote Originally Posted by zenokelly View Post
    Was at the front of 321 and had 1 problem with the person sitting in the seat directly behind. After standing for about the first 6 minutes,I got a tap on the shoulder from a middle-aged fella to sit down.I turned around and friendly enough said that this was the SS and straight away got threatened by this lad that if i didn't sit down he'd knock me "down there" (pointing at the floor) if I stood again. Anyway I pointed out the rest of the crowd around who were standing and told me to "**** off over there then, I've paid for this ticket".
    I'll bet it's that fella that goes to all the mtches home & away & just scowls for the whole thing. He nearly had a go at us in Cardiff for standing & going mental for the whole match & we were in the same row as him. He didn't even stand when we scored! How hardcore is that? Never smiled or cheered once. Check it out.....
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Colie; 14/02/2009 at 9:04 AM.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

I've uploaded the RTE audio of the few minutes after the Georgia goal. Have a listen.

http://www.zshare.net/audio/55620069d7c194dd/

Most of the crowd join in with a couple of the usual chants but it was the SS that got those chants going. Then listen exactly 2 minutes in. It's silence. That's the silence (with the exception of groans and shouts) we would have got for 70 minutes if it wasn't for us. 15-20 seconds later and you can hear the fields of athenry. It's not very loud but it's positive noise.

Chants can be heard all throughout the game on the RTE coverage so maybe many those at home just weren't listening for it. Maybe a few hundred people singing just goes over the head but whether they realise it or not it does make a difference.

I just find it frustrating that I have the match here on my PC and I can hear us singing all throughout the game yet I go into work on Thursday and I get a bit of friendly stick because nobody heard anything of a singing section.

brilliant Éirebhoy. as you say god forbid what it would have been like if not for the singing section.

now we have to try figure out how to get the st.pauli song and oró sé do bheatha abhaile widespread.

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    I've uploaded the RTE audio of the few minutes after the Georgia goal. Have a listen.

http://www.zshare.net/audio/55620069d7c194dd/

Most of the crowd join in with a couple of the usual chants but it was the SS that got those chants going. Then listen exactly 2 minutes in. It's silence. That's the silence (with the exception of groans and shouts) we would have got for 70 minutes if it wasn't for us. 15-20 seconds later and you can hear the fields of athenry. It's not very loud but it's positive noise.

Chants can be heard all throughout the game on the RTE coverage so maybe many those at home just weren't listening for it. Maybe a few hundred people singing just goes over the head but whether they realise it or not it does make a difference.

I just find it frustrating that I have the match here on my PC and I can hear us singing all throughout the game yet I go into work on Thursday and I get a bit of friendly stick because nobody heard anything of a singing section.
    Dont take to heart what a couple of wind up merchants are saying to you. Also not sure if you did, but bigging up the singing section to cynics does not work either.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    I don't get you? Certainly in Dublin anyway, most people with a keen interest in a premiership team wouldn't support Ireland too strongly. That's from my experience anyway. If I'm in the pub and I see someone with a Liverpool top watching Liverpool or a Man Utd top watching Man Utd, I definitely wouldn't expect them to have a great knowledge or support of the Irish team.

That's not just Irish people btw. If someone supports a club really strongly there's a big chance he doesn't have much interest in his national team. I myself would even be an exception to that so I'm not saying everybody. Anyway my point is, if I remember, the lads in the singing section last night would mainly be Ireland fans first and foremost.
    Im a mad Liverpool fan and Im going to the Bernabea in ten days for the Champions League. Ive been at every Ireland home game since 1979 and a lot of away trips incl Euro88 and USA94.

My mate is a mad Leeds fan and goes to Elland Road about five times a year. He too has been at every Ireland home game for the last 30 years and he was at Euro88 and WC2002.

We are also season ticket holders for a LOI club.

"Football is a game you play with your brain".

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast