Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Singing Section Post Match

I will be there for the Bulgaria game when I am off the crutches and I will be giving it socks.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    I just downloaded the match and you can definitely hear us sing from start to finish. 2 mins30 gone and I can hear "One the one Road". Fair enough you do have to listen out for it to hear it but there's no doubt that it's a big help to the atmosphere. Without that it's a library.

4.30 a very audible Come on you boys sang.

The first 10 minutes sounds really good on TV. You'd know it was only a section of us singing obviously but it's definitely very audible.

20 mins you can clearly hear We Love You.

That was just spending a couple of seconds flicking and I'm pleasantly surprised. Without us I dread to think what the atmosphere would have been like.
    where did you download it? i'd love to watch the game in full.

Well done lads, best atmosphere in croker for a soccer game yet.

Anyone w/ho applies for the tickets through YBIG seemed to be more or less together

Will be talking to the FAI about Bulgaria and will try get everyone in the one section

Quote Originally Posted by irishultra View Post
    where did you download it? i'd love to watch the game in full.
    It's a torrent.

http://www.mininova.org/tor/2273896

If you download it use something like AVC player to watch it as Windows Media doesn't let you skip forward or back. If you press stop by accident you're screwed.

Quote Originally Posted by Mento View Post
    Anyone w/hoapplies for the tickets through YBIG seemed to be more or less together

Will be talking to the FAI about Bulgaria and will try get everyone in the one section
    My tickets for 321 row NN but that's the front row behind the main standing section.

Wasn't in the singing section myself. I'm determined to try to make it there for Bulgaria. It looked great. The rest of the stadium - particularly the part I was in - was shocking until we scored though.
    My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method, is love. I love you Sheriff Truman.

Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    broke my leg last monday playing 5 a side so didn't go up to match. watched a home international on TV for first time in years. singing wasn't that audible but did hear the wooo ohhh, wooo ohhhh song (aka derry/st. pauli i like it song).

would be an idea for RTE to get some mics closer to that section as that kind of signing always makes games sound better on TV.

i'll be back for the bulgaria game anyhow. does anyone know if i can send my cusack tickets back to the FAI to change for SS ones???
    Yes, contact the FAI ticket office or 'you boys in green' and they'll sort you out.

I've never sang as much at any game as I did last night. I'm sure many around me were the same. There's regular songs at away games but last night I was doing well to get a 30 second break.

As for the the Liverpool, Man U, Chelsea etc. Liverpool, Man U and Chelsea supporters wouldn't be the type of people that want to join this singing section. Most of them don't even want to go to the games.
    Get down to your local EL club

I'm not on about the literal armchair supporters. More the Early/Mid 20's groups of lads...

As for the the Liverpool, Man U, Chelsea etc. Liverpool, Man U and Chelsea supporters wouldn't be the type of people that want to join this singing section. Most of them don't even want to go to the games.
    Ridiculous generalisation. As for 'most of them dont even want to go the games' wtf Are they marched in at gunpoint or something?
    "Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy which sustained him through temporary periods of joy."

Quote Originally Posted by Mayo_Bhoy View Post
    Ridiculous generalisation. As for 'most of them dont even want to go the games' wtf Are they marched in at gunpoint or something?
    I don't get you? Certainly in Dublin anyway, most people with a keen interest in a premiership team wouldn't support Ireland too strongly. That's from my experience anyway. If I'm in the pub and I see someone with a Liverpool top watching Liverpool or a Man Utd top watching Man Utd, I definitely wouldn't expect them to have a great knowledge or support of the Irish team.

That's not just Irish people btw. If someone supports a club really strongly there's a big chance he doesn't have much interest in his national team. I myself would even be an exception to that so I'm not saying everybody. Anyway my point is, if I remember, the lads in the singing section last night would mainly be Ireland fans first and foremost.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 12/02/2009 at 6:50 PM.

All in all the first singing section went well. It was really frustrating having people in front not standing or singing, but we were in with the YBIG lot and went mad for it for the whole game. Hoarse today but it was worth it. YBIG are going to take on board the points made and try and make it better for the Bulgaria game. Its a grower anyways

Alright all. I thought the "singing section" was a great success. I'm not going bananas here or anything but compared to 5 of us standing & singing all the way through up at the back to maybe 70 people standing & 30 singing for the whole game I think it was a great success. And at times we got maybe a couple of hundred to join in. I know it was a little disjointed but that'll get sorted. As I mentioned prior to the match the ss needs to be the back seats in the Canal not the front ones; that was poor planning. Things can only get better now that others know we're at it so fair play, I think it was a good start. Crokers & Lansdowne are usually painfully quiet so I'm happy with how it went. So long as we're consistently making noise it'll feed out onto the pitch I think so lets give it bigger socks come the Bulgaria match. I can't bloody wait.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

so yeah would anyone be up in the next match for orchestrating things from a loud speaker? would work very well imo.

The FAI mentioned doing this
    The plan for this match was to get it out there, just get started really.
    Now we can build on it

What is the general feeling on a loud speaker?
    Any other suggestions e mail www.youboysingreen.ie

i tried joining that but it said i couldnt

Couldn't join what mate?

What was the story with the songs before the game. They played the bloody proclaimers. Fair play to the lads for putting all the effort in and Rome was not built in a day and it did add to the atmosphere. It was a pity for me that I did not want to risk going in there while on crutches but I will be there for the Bulgaria game. Fair plays lads and keep up the good work.
    In Trap we trust

634 Posts
    real big thank you to all at ybig for organising the Hedge. The first time I've felt like an Ireland supporter in a , well ever!

I'm hoarse this morning, my legs are boll*xed, my hands are numb, but I wouldn't have it any other way. First Ireland match I've been "dry" at in a long time too, which didn't help the nervousness approaching the new section. Spent the past couple of weeks looking at old fan clips, looking at the new chants and the you tube vids, thinking of the big days past at the Road.

Arrived early and was pretty disappointed by the lack of people around, to the (good natured) abuse of one our group. Was impressed by the green tops, nice touch even if they were sponsored by that shower.

The goal was a kick in the teeth, we as a section could have done without that. felt we settled too happily into the old repetoire of songs. The booing at half time seemed to be like an epiphany for us though. Everyone around our area burst into applause and from the word go in the second half didn't relent, and the performance on the pitch matched it.
    Without about 5 mins to go I had to stop, my head was killing me from the singing. I couldn't give anymore. I suppose the fitness will come with time

Having read the numerous posts here so far, a few of my own observations.

There was an obvious lack of/ breakdown in communication between either the FAI and ybig or the FAI and fans in general. Both the previous incumbents of the Canal End and the new arrivals were shortchanged due to the apparent confusion over those standing.
    We were in 321 Row V and we were lucky as all behind us were standing so it wasn't an issue, however those in front of us weren't and there was a bit of aggro between people who wanted to stand and those with kids who were getting peeved.

What I'd suggest is that maybe those of us with a like mind or a penchant for the craic of standing and singing submit their seat numbers to the lads at ybig and ask to be grouped together.

The fanzine got a lot of attention last night, as did the Hedge/SS and in the most part neither let itself down.

My own experience was great but at one point in the second half I looked around to the right, and people were sitting en masse. That was hard to take. Even bargaining with people didn't work. There were a man and his lad a few rows down to the right of us and they were obstructing another man and his even younger son. The standees offered to trade seats but through beligerence the sittee wouldn't move.

I can't wait for the Bulgaria game. A pat on the back for YBIG, the SS and the Hedge. From small acorns.....
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

i am dreading the bulgaria game, i had to move from 321 because of the lack of singing and the constant moaning from the people sitting behind me. worried that there won't be enough empty seats at the bulgaria game for us to move.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mento View Post
    The FAI mentioned doing this
    The plan for this match was to get it out there, just get started really.
    Now we can build on it

What is the general feeling on a loud speaker?
    Any other suggestions e mail www.youboysingreen.ie
    The NI fans have a guy with a loudspeaker and it works very well.

Well done to the guys on Wednesday night too btw.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast