Thread: Squad

122 Posts

Squad

Who have ye kept on and what players are not being retained?

Quote Originally Posted by GUFCforlife View Post
    Who have ye kept on and what players are not being retained?

kept on so far:andy bermingham
    not kept so far: virually the rest of last seasons squad wont be kept...if i list them it will take too long ...

220 Posts
    kept on so far:andy bermingham
    not kept so far: virually the rest of last seasons squad wont be kept...if i list them it will take too long ...
    I'll give you start Marty!!! All these players haven't been offered contracts as of yet. Other players were released during the season or joined other clubs during the season and at the end of it. So I've put there current locations as I know them to be in brackets after their names!!!

Neil Gallagher
    John McGuinness
    Ronan Frawley
    Daithi Garry
    Alan O'Riordan
    Stephen Gough (joined Bray end of season but apparently released again!!)
    Ryan O'Donnell (left during the season)
    Ryan Casey
    Luke Hardy
    Colin Murray (joined Kildare during the season)
    Michael Hogan (released during the season)
    Daire Doyle (joined Bray end of season)
    Shane Harte
    Michael McCarthy (released during the season)
    Jason Oladele
    Nathan Weiss
    Dean Barrett (released during the season)
    Brian Kelly (released during the season)
    Darren McKenna
    Iarfhaith Davoren (joined Galway during the season)
    Gary Murphy
    Ken Butler
    Alan Lynch
    Keith Kelch (joined Mount Merrion FC during the season)
    Robert Douglas
    Damien Rushe
    Evan Connolly (joined UCD during the season)
    Adrian Cregg (joined Salthill Devon during the season)
    Shay Kelly (retired)

If I'm wrong with any of these I'm sure someone will point it out!!!
    Last edited by Town Legend; 07/02/2009 at 5:36 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Town Legend View Post
    I'll give you start Marty!!! All these players haven't been offered contracts as of yet. Other players were released during the season or joined other clubs during the season and at the end of it. So I've put there current locations as I know them to be in brackets after their names!!!

Neil Gallagher
    John McGuinness
    Ronan Frawley
    Daithi Garry
    Alan O'Riordan
    Stephen Brennan
    Stephen Gough (joined Bray end of season but apparently released again!!)
    Ryan O'Donnell (left during the season)
    Ryan Casey
    Luke Hardy
    Colin Murray (joined Kildare during the season)
    Michael Hogan (released during the season)
    Daire Doyle (joined Bray end of season)
    Shane Harte
    Michael McCarthy (released during the season)
    Jason Oladele
    Nathan Weiss
    Dean Barrett (released during the season)
    Brian Kelly (released during the season)
    Darren McKenna
    Iarfhaith Davoren (joined Galway during the season)
    Gary Murphy
    Ken Butler
    Alan Lynch
    Keith Kelch (joined Mount Merrion FC during the season)
    Robert Douglas
    Damien Rushe
    Evan Connolly (joined UCD during the season)
    Adrian Cregg (joined Salthill Devon during the season)
    Shay Kelly (retired)

If I'm wrong with any of these I'm sure someone will point it out!!!
    stephen brennan played in westport today he came on as sub and is back training with the club..

220 Posts
    Just changed the list there!!! Any info on the team today?

team best of my knowledge was:

murphy

tom king bermingham brian mccarthy michael lee

dean clarke gary curran liam lynch jason mccartney

adrian murphy glynn

subs:
    concannon, mark hutchison (ex sligo rovers) colm jinks justin perrin craig toner chris kelly ( sligo rovers youth) steve brennan carmine russo

very impressed with derek glynn hes way too good for us to be honest. hes fast and direct and theres a great understandin between the strikeforce.. brendan murphy made some good saves and have a fierce kickout with the hands( obviously his gaa background comes in handy)
    he scored two goals and adrian murphy scored the other in a three one win for the town..

mark huthison is on trial at the moment.. no sign of ray kenny so maybe hes not joinin( oops!!)

I was beside Alan gough in the dugout and from my observations so far he is a way better communicator than aaron will ever be..

also heard from a westport official that theres a strong chance that da town could be invited into the connacht senior cup today...

220 Posts
    Do you know where dean clarke and justin perrin came from?

dean clarkes from mullingar he has bein in towns underage panel for the last few seasons.. justin perrin is from strokestown i work with his father .. hes also came from the underage setup.

surprisingly enough the game kicked off at two.. so much for the speculation for a 2.30 pm., 3pm ko!! i made it in time by 10 mins but poor ronnieb didnt!!

i stood beside gough the whole game and he was always out of his box givin instructions.. imo hes a better communicator than callaghan was.. mark huthicson came on as sub( recognised him from his days at sligo rovers) . apprently him and alan gough were teammates at shels in the late nineties..
    huthison is only on trial with us at the moment but could be a good signing.. there was no sign of ray kenny there( oops!!)

derek glynn if he stays with us the whole of this season could be the next ritchie parsons or dave mooney (both got golden boots from their time with us). hes fast and direct and already theres a bit of an understandin between him and adrain murphy..

athlones craig toner came on and steve brennan made a surprise comeback!!

anyone goin to rathnew tues nite??

how did tom king and jay mccartney play?

two very good signings for ye in my opinion

137 Posts
    athlones craig toner came on and steve brennan made a surprise comeback!!
    He's not a printer, it's just Tone!
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

36 Posts
    According to the Bohs website, Brian McCarthy is in Spain with them on their training camp. He was a sub in their friendly today against Lokomotiv Moscow.

22 Posts
    Any sign of Duffy or Robbie Farrell, Marty?
    Marco Tardelli's red and black,
    Red and black, red and black.
    He hates Athlone.

220 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hollocaine View Post
    According to the Bohs website, Brian McCarthy is in Spain with them on their training camp. He was a sub in their friendly today against Lokomotiv Moscow.
    Just seen that on extratime.ie. Who do we believe??? Marty or Bohs????
    Or are there 2 Brian McCarthy's???

On another note have we only Glynn and Murphy as strikers?? No sign of Farrell or Duffy on that panel so doesn't look promising. Bit bare if we only have them 2 lads as out and out strikers.
    Last edited by Town Legend; 08/02/2009 at 1:54 AM.

Brian Kelly and Shane Harte both signed with Mount Merrion too. Dont think Keith Kelch is still there though...

What position does Daire Doyle play? Any good? Passing? Tracking? Tackling? Heading? You know... The usual info be greatful!!!
    Also, did I hear Alan Lynch was sisgning with us? Same info please if he is!!!
    Thanks
    DEVO: 'we want to challenge for the league next season' - speaking at the player of the year awards nite 2005. boy was he so far wrong!!

22 Posts
    If you're looking for a nice guy but who does f**k all, then Daire is your man.

If you want a winger with a load of talent but not interested in using it, then look no further than Alan Lynch.
    Red and black, red and black.
    He hates Athlone.

220 Posts
    Just checked out the Mount Merrion website and there's no sign of Brian Kelly or Shane Harte on it, although Keith Kelch seems to be still there. And there's also a David Lee there. Is that the big blonde bombshell that played up front for us for a couple of games but just spent the time falling over himself????

thats last years squad. hasnt been updated. harte and kelly are with them, kelch isnt, david lee is gone.

any info on the players?
    DEVO: 'we want to challenge for the league next season' - speaking at the player of the year awards nite 2005. boy was he so far wrong!!

220 Posts
    Ok i'll take your word for it!!!

I'd have to agree with Rocky on that one with the players. Lynch has a lot of talent but just when he decides to use it which was very rare when he was with Longford but maybe Gormley will be the man to get it out of him.

Doyle was captain last year until it was stripped of him apparently for turning up to training a little worse for wear (Lynch apparently along with him). Can have a good game one week and a desperate one the next. Be an decent squad player but can't see him been a regular.

Ok i'll take your word for it!!!

I'd have to agree with Rocky on that one with the players. Lynch has a lot of talent but just when he decides to use it which was very rare when he was with Longford but maybe Gormley will be the man to get it out of him.

Doyle was captain last year until it was stripped of him apparently for turning up to training a little worse for wear (Lynch apparently along with him). Can have a good game one week and a desperate one the next. Be an decent squad player but can't see him been a regular.
    cool thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Rocky77 View Post
    Any sign of Duffy or Robbie Farrell, Marty?

nope rocky77