In my local club my name came out for an All Ireland ticket to the football.I ve now been told I have to pay for it, just wondering is this the norm.
Is it the same in other clubs?
Just watching Up for the Match and I must say Gráinne Seoige is looking absolutely lovely!
LESS OF THE BULL NOW!
I have a spare ticket to the hurling final if anyone wants it, face value.
I would prefer a swap for a football final if anyone has one.
PM in any case if interested.
Digraceful scenes afterwards. Clearly could see punches thrown at stewards and Gardai from those on the Hill. No doubt would be called a riot by the papers if it was at a "soccer" match.
It's the GAA's fault for trying to stop the fans running onto the pitch, imo.
There's a huge risk of a stampede or crush by letting the fans all pool up at the foot of Hill 16 and then having the Guards and stewards trying to force them backwards.
Extratime.ie
Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.
Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.
Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.
They spent the last two weeks in the media telling people they wouldn't get on the pitch.
GAA people feel they have a God given right to get on the pitch, but they don't. Have you seen how much the GAA have paid out in damages for people injured in pitch invasions over the last decade? There were a few articles in the Sunday papers on it over the last few years. Not to mention the damage to the pitch.
If LoI fans struck out at stewards and guards like some of the Kilkenny fans did it would be in the papers for weeks.
People aren't robots though and they aren't going to be thinking about their safety when they've just won the All-Ireland.
It is a dangerous tradition but, imo, it was more dangerous when the stewards started pushing the fans back into more onrushing fans.
Extratime.ie
Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.
Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.
Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.
Still not good enough Frank. As said if that was a "soccer" match there'd be war over it and there'd be stills from videos published to identify the ringleaders and have them thrown to the mercy of the law.
Nobody's asking them to be robots -they can celebrate and behave themselves at the same time. Their own organisation asked them to stay off the pitch for health and safety reasons ...theirs, the players, the officials. Feckin rednecks.
" I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"
Excellent game today. In general Tipp gave an inspirational display, but all the game's crucial moments pivoted against them.
I didn't see the Gardaí being punched, but definitely agree an effort should be made to pick out the culprits. However I'm not sure there would be the claimed media-hysterics if a similar incident happened after say Derry City won their fourth FAI Cup in a row after a fantastic, tense tussle with Cork City and there was a tradition of invading the pitch as a means of celebration? Not trying to be smart, I just don't think the incident is being viewed in its full context.
Anyway, last word should go to the Kilkenny team for an outstanding achievement.
Great game ruined by terrible refereeing. Both goals should never have been allowed. The 1st goal was actually a free-out and for the 2nd Tennyson slid out over the touchline with the sliothar in his hands.
LESS OF THE BULL NOW!
Thought the referee had a good game apart from the penalty decision, which was a howler. Was still a 21 yard free in all the same. Would be pretty sure that the ball wasnt carried over the sideline before the first goal too.
Tipperary threw it away, I thought. They were by far the better team but didnt make it pay and were caught for the two goals. Even after the man got sent off they were still the better team up until the first goal.
Agree with you Ceirtlis on the ref - good game overall, and Kavanagh kept that one in play.
Tipp definitely threw it away. It's all well and good saying "their time will come" - but having delivered that level of performance on the day, they'll hardly get many better opportunities to win an All-Ireland. Curran, Maher and O'Mahoney were outstanding in defence, two-midfielders the same, and Kelly and Corbett were on fire. Sickening to play so well, to give yourself such a chance of winning, and then lose at the end.
Once again Kilkenny were on the right side of a few crucial referee decisions in a big game.They made them count but like i said to a friend before todays game id love to see how they'd do if those crucial decisions went against them etc.About time some team crowded the half back line,Galway couldnt keep it up in the Leinster semi final but it worked and Tipp did a far better job of it today and but for big referee decisions it could have gone the other way.
What goes around comes around though and Tipp won in 01 thnaks to some very dodgy decisions.The ref that day was at their celebrations the following Tuesday night.
Doesn't really matter whether or not the ball was over the line for the 2nd goal, the fact is that goal only came as a result of the first goal anyway. I don't agree that it was a free in, the only foul was committed at the very end inside the box, by which time it was definitely over carrying. It's true about 2001 though, Galway had a good goal disallowed that looked likely to make the difference that day. Just as well though cos otherwise Galway would have won the Hurling/Football double, and as a Corkman, that's all we have left now!!
Ref had a shocker - Padraig Maher blatently elbowed in the head, had his facemash pulled in first half, penalty was a crazy decision, power fouled curran in build up to second goal...if you think ref was good you should stick to watching football.
Fair play to KK though, great team and humblw set of lads. Pity the same could not be said about their manager who was a disgrace in his post match interview. arrogant t wat
Finally, if those scenesat the end happened at a soccer match there'd be war. there were plenty of appeals to saty off the pitch and those idiots could have caused serious injury with their behaviour on the terraces
Tipp should have got at least one goal, probably two, but Kilkenny's ability to live off scraps and take pretty much every chance was unbelievable.
Tipp should have been out of sight with 10/15 mins to go, but Kilkenny were still in the game and you always knew that they would likely win a close game.
Has there ever been a better hurler in recent times than Tommy Walsh. The guy is unreal, he has everything not only the skill but never pulls out of a challenge. He produces it in every big game and knows how to look after himself as well. A hurling superstar
Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.