Page 9 of 10 FirstFirst ... 78910 LastLast

Thread: Foot.ie Music Exchange 2009

Yeah it was only recently that I discovered Dando's take on it and I'm liking it immensely. Does the original more than justice in my opinion.

Here's the track listing of A Crumbling Slice of Cake (the somewhat crappy title deriving from the change that occurs around the half way point of the mix; the cheery, poppy songs that make up the first half give way to songs that deal with more grimy matters):

1. Frank Zappa - Peaches En Regalia (1969)
    2. Arthur Brown - Fire (1968)
    3. Hüsker Dü - Could You Be The One (1987)
    4. The Chills - Heavenly Pop Hit (1990)
    5. The Velvet Underground - Stephanie Says (1969)
    6. Jonathan Richman - I Was Dancing In A Lesbian Bar (1992)
    7. Throwing Muses - Not Too Soon (1990)
    8. The Lemonheads - Hey, That's No Way To Say Goodbye (2008)
    9. Quiet Village - Circus Of Horror (2008)
    10. I am not lefthanded - Everybody Sleeps (2009)
    11. Violent Femmes - American Music (1991)
    12. Grant Hart - 2541 (1988)
    13. Bang Bang Machine - Geek Love (1992)
    14. Warren Zevon - Accidentally Like A Martyr (1978)
    15. Blitzen Trapper - Black River Killer - (2008)
    16. The Kinks - This Time Tomorrow (1970)
    17. Gemma Hayes - Evening Sun (1999)
    18. Black Francis - When They Come To Murder Me (2008)

Apologies to all for the pink track listing provided with the disc btw - my little sister meddled with the printer and the change seems irrevocable

115 Posts
    Just got it today too Monzo, also not played it yet but will give it a good spin tonight and tomorrow.
    Two that LEAP out at me are New Zealand's finest The Chills' Heavenly Pop Hit with it's lovely soaring chorus, and the gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous Geek Love. Have that Geek EP on vinyl somewhere too. Very rude song at the end of it! :-D
    And anything that features the godlike Throwing Muses is worth its weight in gold. Bit on their poppy side this one, but a class, class tune nonetheless.
    Really looking forward to this.
    Last edited by stann; 06/07/2009 at 5:08 PM. Reason: forgot the muses! :-(
    more bass

I was also really looking forward to it, but alas I currently connect to you in a far, far away land (well, Dublin is pretty far), and I won't be back to previous abode for a few weeks so I'll have to make do with listening to Lionel's offering, of which I have been listening and singing along to such a vociferous extent that my housemates are beginning to wonder if some Donna character is every night stealing into my bedroom without her troosers on.. (I assure them that she isn't - that she does indeed have pants on, unfortunately.)

jebus would you mind jumping in there?

Not at all sligobrewer, I have my playlist sorted and will burn them off and have them out by Thursday hopefully

Had quick look at Monzo's tracklist and "Bang Bang Machine" stood out straight away.
    The name rang a bell from the early 90's and one song in particular that i had on an old blank cassette.
    Never knew the name of the song and i hadn't heard it in years until last night!

Monzo you've ressurected a little gem from those glory days!
    The beatings will continue until morale improves!

I have fallen off the pace somewhat due to work commitments but I've just had a couple of exhilarating listens to Kingdom Hoops Sunny Soul. Excellent work and helping me no small way through a seriously mundane paperwork day.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Would anyone object to mine not going out til next week?

Would give us time to catch up on the past few mixes on the upside

115 Posts
    Enjoying it hugely Monzo!
    On constant rotation in the car this last week.

Loads of highlights - Husker Du, The Chills, Velvets, Muses, Bang Bang Machine, all brilliant as expected.
    Some wonderful tunes I hadn't heard before too: Lemonheads (their version I mean), Quiet Village, Warren Zevon (who this time I'm definitely going to seek out more of), Gemma Hayes, Frank Black.
    Pick of the bunch for me though was Blitzen Trapper. Never heard of them before, but what a song!! Another album sold out of this!
    more bass

The only Zevon album that I own is Excitable Boy (picked it up cheap in Germany recently), which is pretty great overall, so that should serve as a good starting point.

That Blitzen Trapper song is brilliant alright, Fleet Foxes supported them on tour a while ago, strange BT haven't received as much attention!

Glad to see Geek Love appreciated, although I didn't think it was so well known!

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    I have fallen off the pace somewhat due to work commitments but I've just had a couple of exhilarating listens to Kingdom Hoops Sunny Soul. Excellent work and helping me no small way through a seriously mundane paperwork day.
    Nice to hear at least one or two appreciated it.

Meanwhile, I've had a great week gluttoning (that word's not being recognised on my spellcheck - it really should be a verb, though it don't sound too nice) - anyway, I've been greatly enjoying going back over the history of the Music Exchange this past week. While so doing I thought it might be interesting for us to submit our Top 5 (you can pick 6 if you must) favourite tracks of the series. (just to satisfy thischarmingman I think we should be allowed vote for our own songs. )

My Top 5 in no particular order:

1. Whitey - Wrap It Up (from Stann's Declining Stanndards)
    2. They Might Be Giants - Birdhouse In Your Soul (from Lionel Ritchie's Whoa What A Feelin')
    3. The LK - Tamagotchi Freestyle (ahem, from my Sunny Soul)
    4. Dexy's Midnight Runners - Tell Me When My Light Turns Green (from Noby's self-titled Noby)
    5. Nina Simone - Ooh Child (from Jebus's Jebus In The Mix).

Controversial, spur-of-the-moment, and with little analytical framework employed, there you go, My Top 5. What's yours?

Not sure if I could narrow it down to just five songs out of them all but here's my favourite two songs (that I hadn't heard before) out of each mix (excluding so many gems as it is!)...

Le Tigre - TKO (possibly the best 'rocking' song out of the series)

Saint Maarten's The Rolling Tones - It's A Feeling (haven't stopped playing this since I got it)

Fred Falke - 8.08pm @ The Beach (I've totally overplayed this (already) but it's class)

Sinead O'Connor - Mandinka (great tune this, really reminds me of Kristen Hersh)

A. Skillz & Krafty Kuts - Tricka Technology (brilliantly catchy)

Evil Nine - Icicles (starts off good, breaks into something wonderful)

Rory Gallagher - Wayward Child (this is probably the RG with the most 'commercial' sound that I've heard but the guitar solo is quite amazing)

Kate Bush - Jig of Life (a great reminder that I need to invest in some Kate Bush material)

A House - Call Me Blue (great poppy guitar song, still need to get that album)

Into Paradise - Burns My Skin (love the wailing guitar outbursts and the vocals)

Stevie Wonder - Higher Wonder (this one was stuck in my head for days)

Dinosaur Jr - The Boy With The Thorn In His Side (like someone else noted, has a cool party vibe to it along with JM's brilliant guitar playing)

Dropkick Murphys - Rocky Road To Dublin (as usual with this band, a ferociously epic song)

Lonnie Donegan - Tom Dooley (on the basis of this song, this is someone I really need to delve into more)

Syd Barrett - Long Gone (quite great, especially the vocal)

The Avalanches - Since I Left You (along with Call Me Blue, this has the most plays on my itunes - amazing song)

Black Francis - When They Come To Murder Me (based on Cuchulainn this is one of BF / FB's best creations ever)

Husker Du - Could You Be The One (fantastic song with one of the most ebullient guitar solos known to me)

Honorable mentions: The Hitchers - Liver; Nick Cave - There's No Night Out In The Jail; SLF - Half A Life Away; Blitzen Trapper - Black River Killer; Frank Turner - Thatcher ****ed The Kids (this guy is brilliant); Nine Black Alps - Unsatisfied; T Power - Mutant Jazz; The Scofflaws - TG,TB,AU; Etienne De Crecy - ****; Laura Marling - Crawled Out of the Sea.

Gun to my head for top five I'd probably plump for It's A Feeling, Since I Left You, Call Me Blue, Tricka Technology and Icicles.

Is it my turn next week?

115 Posts
    You're next alright SligoBrewer, and Jebus starts a new cycle then.
    But it's delightfully fluid round here. Have a chat sure, and decide which of ye goes next.
    more bass

Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    Is it my turn next week?
    Whatever you fancy. I have one done up and ready to go out by either tomorrow or Friday at latest, burning CDs tonight or tomorrow morning depending on what shenanigans I get up to later and will post them then, but if you have one good to go I can hold off

Monzo, your CD went missing and only turned up about 20 minutes ago. I'm only on track 5 and have loved every tune so far. Top flight football sir!
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

115 Posts
    It's well nigh impossible (not to mention grossly unfair!) to pick out just six, but here are some that sit somewhere at the top of my head:

Jinx Lennon - City Of Styrofoam Cups from Lionel's excellent effort,
    Blitzen Trapper's Black River Killer from Monzo's,
    Pierce Turner - Thunderstorm from Sunny Jim's one,
    Freeland's Morning Sun from Kingdom Hoop's Sunny Soul,
    Boxer Rebellion - Flashing Red Light Means Go from Optimist's,
    and from the earlier series, one of my faves of all was
    Gui Boratto - Like You I think it was called, off Jebus' Fail.

Actually, must dig out a few of the earlier ones too, there was some truly great stuff there that's well overdue for another spin.
    Last edited by stann; 29/07/2009 at 9:00 AM.
    more bass

Lads I'm away to France for ten days or so and am taking all yeer CDs with me for a nice wine fuelled ecouté.

Back just in time for Australia in TP.

Til then.

LR

Could someone send on addresses to me again? Cleared out my private messages a few weeks ago and they must have gone with it.

Apologies for the delay, went on a bit of a bender last weekend and have only just recovered fully now. CDs are done and have them in envelopes and was gonna post them now so will do as soon as I get the addresses

Page 9 of 10 FirstFirst ... 78910 LastLast