That last cd by TCM is class.

Louden Up arrived. I'll stick it on later. A quick scan of the track list and it looks like a fair few songs that are new to me.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

115 Posts
    Good, good, that's what I do be hoping for with these yokes.

Might as well put up the tracklist so, anyone who hasn't got it yet surely will by the a.m.

1. Cran - Cucanandy / The Dusty Miller (1995)
    2. Amateur Night In The Big Top - The Story (2003)
    3. A Skillz & Krafty Kuts ft TC Izlam - Tricka Technology (2004)
    4. Scritti Politti - Hypnotize (1985)
    5. Goldfrapp - Slide In (2005)
    6. Pet - Monza (2004)
    7. Echo & The Bunnymen - Never Stop (1983)
    8. The Delays - Nearer Than Heaven (2003)
    9. Cocteau Twins - Carolyn's Fingers (1988)
    10. Elbow - Station Approach (2005)
    11. Thin White Rope - Moonhead (1987)
    12. Big Black - Bad Penny (1987)
    13. King Of The Slums - Fanciable Headcase (1989)
    14. A House - Snowball Down (1987)
    15. T Power vs MK Ultra - Mutant Jazz (Full Version) (1996)
    16. The Nextmen ft Dynamite MC - High Score (Stanton Warriors Remix) (2004)
    17. Slyde - Kiss Kiss Bang Bang (2008)
    18. Evil Nine ft Seraphim - Icicles (2008)
    Last edited by stann; 02/04/2009 at 3:20 PM.
    more bass

Just finished my first listen stann.
    There are some gems there!
    The second track from "Amateur Night In The Big Top" is genius.It took me a while to cop on that it's actually Shaun Ryder.
    What's the name of the album cos i have to hear more of that.

I'll listen to the cd a few more times and report back.
    The beatings will continue until morale improves!

115 Posts
    It is a cracking tune alright!
    I got it off an X-Ray cover CD, if you remember that magazine from a few years ago.
    That's the way it was credited on that CD, don't know if that's because it was a pre-release demo or what, but I was looking it up the other day, and it turns he actually released a solo album called Amateur Night In The Big Top under his own name. Amazon have it anyway.
    more bass

Quote Originally Posted by noby View Post
    Louden Up arrived. I'll stick it on later. A quick scan of the track list and it looks like a fair few songs that are new to me.
    Same for me, only heard of six of them so this should be good. I got me a headache at the minute so might not get listening to it until tomorrow.

Undecided over Icicles and Mutant Jazz as the highlight. The former's chugging Pixies-like bass is just great. The first three tracks, Monza, Station Approach and Snowball Down were also well liked, while the Echo & The Bunnymen track has reminded me that I really need to get one of their albums!

Slight fore-warning - I've had a change in personal circumstances, since last Friday, which should, in theory mean I have a lot of free time to be making mix tapes, but the last couple of days I've spent sorting things out. So, my cd, while still on my to-do list, dropped down a peg or two priority-wise. I should still have them sorted towards the end of the week.

Ok, so, a week late and with no track list, but I finally got 'Versions' done and dusted, and posted today.
    Sorry for the delay.

Oh and after the death of my printer I'll just post up the track list here instead.

Good stuff Hmmm dunno if there'll be a printed track list from me either, unless people can persevere through bright pink writing

In other FME09-related news, I'm pretty sure I heard Vision Thing (by Sisters of Mercy) used as the background music for some MNS matches a couple of weeks ago.

Ok, so, a week late and with no track list, but I finally got 'Versions' done and dusted, and posted today.
    Sorry for the delay.

Oh and after the death of my printer I'll just post up the track list here instead.
    Got it this morning and have had one listen. For now ...Smiths cover is class (won't give it away til you post tracklist other than to say there is an alternate and very, very fine version out there performed by none other than Anthrax!)

I've also been listening to Stanns (on now) and TCMs last night ...monster review planned for later today. Working on my own pretty much all day which means I'm up the walls but can blare tunes at least.
    ....later folks.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Had a listen there now - some really great songs. Really enjoyed the double Minutemen / Kinks bomb (two of my favourite bands), Vaselines, NC and the entire first half of the album. As for the Young track, have you heard the Pixies version of it, noby? I like the original but for whatever reason I prefer their's. Is track 21 a Dino Jr. track? Pure love Mascis.
    Last edited by monzo; 15/04/2009 at 3:48 PM.

Good ol' An Post seem to be doing the business, so here's the tracklist:

Versions (original/alternate/cover)

The Good, The Bad And The Ugly - The Scofflaws 1998
    Madness - Prince Buster All Stars 1962
    History - Harry & Radcliffe 1969
    Swan Lake - Madness 1979
    Paranoid Android - Easystar Allstars feat. Kirsty Rock 2006
    I wanna hold your hand - Al Green 1969
    Wie Schon Das Ist - Marvin Gaye 1987
    Higher Ground - Stevie Wonder 1973
    Love Machine - Arctic Monkeys 2006
    Corona - Minutemen 1984
    Victoria - The Kinks 1992
    I touch myself - Rolf Harris 1993
    Anarchy in the UK - 386DX 2001
    Joe le taxi - Stereo Total 1999
    Falling - Wedding Present 1992
    London - Cinerama 2000
    Purple Rain - Stina Nordenstam 1998
    Born in the USA - Ballboy 2003
    Winterlong - Neil Young 1977
    Jesus wants me for a sunbeam - The Vaselines 1986
    The boy with the thorn in his side - Dinosaur Jr. 1996
    Mack the knife - Nick Cave 1997
    Á la fin - Blur 1994

Monzo, I'm presuming most people know the Puxies version of Winterlong, hence the original on the cd. Actually most people probably know the Neil Young version, but I really like it, so I just shoehorned it in there.
    You'r correct about #21. I have a compilation where it's credited ti Dinosaur Jr., but I think it's also on a J.Mascus album.

Haven't had a listen yet but I'm looking forward to it after seeing that track listing

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    Smiths cover is class

Which one, by the way?

Cinerama doing London.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Some good tunes on there noby.
    Highlights for me are The Vaselines,Steveie Wonder,Dinosour Jr and The Wedding Present.

The only downside for me was the thought of Rolf Harris "touching himself"
    The beatings will continue until morale improves!

Okay I'm overdue on a few so LONG POST WARNING...

Commenting on tracks I either didn't have or especially enjoyed...

STANN
    Cran - Cucanandy / The Dusty Miller (1995) great …must pick this up for the Da.
    A Skillz & Krafty Kuts ft TC Izlam - Tricka Technology (2004) …rockin tune.
    Scritti Politti - Hypnotize …remember them well. Was 11 when C&S was out. Preferred the Word Girl mind.
    Echo & The Bunnymen - Never Stop …is it a different version to the one on the hits album? Or is that long since I’ve listened. Either way –they should’ve been U2.
    The Delays - Nearer Than Heaven ...really liked this. Reminded me a bit of All About Eve and yet also St. Etienne
    Big Black - Bad Penny you can really hear the influence BB had on so many subsequent rock, grunge and industrial bands.
    A House - Snowball Down still sounds great even if a little of it’s time
    T Power vs MK Ultra - Mutant Jazz (Full Version) .... nice blissed out breakbeat.
    Slyde - Kiss Kiss Bang Bang that is very good indeed.

TCM
    Georgia Swing- Jelly Roll Morton cool tune …over 80 years old now!
    The Summerhouse- The Divine Comedy …great song, great recording.
    There's No Night Out In The Jail- Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds . Love this. Curious that with Cave having such a strong baritone voice he’s actually struggling to get down to some of the notes.
    Love, You Should've Come Over- Jeff Buckley …can’t make my mind up about this one. Hell of a performance mind.
    Today Has Been Ok- Emiliana Torrini …thought this lisa hannigan. Not bad.
    Hold Onto Your Friends- Morrissey …know it well. His finest lp too.
    Smokey Joe's Cafe- The Coasters …my 4 year old thought this was class.
    Martha- Tom Waits Find it hard to listen to this depending on my humour. Great, great song. I suppose a lot of folks have a ‘Martha’. Incidently I did a gig with a Tom Waits tribute recently…
    Long Gone- Syd Barrett …gem of a record
    I Wanna Be Your Boyfriend- The Ramones
    The Leaving Of Liverpool- The Pogues

Classic pair of tunes by Pogues and Ramones respectively
    Half A Life Away- Stiff Little Fingers …scarcely the best record SLF ever made but sounds great here. Like the A House tune on Stanns it’s very much of it’s time but there’s nothing wrong with that at all.
    Albion- Babyshambles not a band tune at all. Pleasantly surprised.
    Since I Left You -The Avalanches. Great track.
    House Of The Rising Sun- Woody Guthrie …this is my find of the day. I’d never heard this before. Savage version, absolutely savage.
    Glory Box- Portishead wow this takes me back to college …Carol from 3rd year and the way she might look at you. She was filthy –in the most excellent application of the term I should say… think she liked this lot.
    Green Green Fields- The Impacts …great tune. Never heard of it or the Impacts. Quite a find a s well.
    Little Church- Miles Davis –beautiful.
    Naive- Lily Allen …very pleasantly surprised –genuinely thought it was Kate Nash til I saw the track listing. Very impressive performance.
    Wonderful One- Vera Lynn nice closer for the CD. Good work TCM.

NOBY
    The Good, The Bad And The Ugly - The Scofflaws 1998
    Madness - Prince Buster All Stars 1962
    History - Harry & Radcliffe 1969
    Swan Lake - Madness 1979

Good Bad and Ugly aside -not mad about the reggae/ska tinged versions of opening tunes. Is that Prince Buster version not the original no?
    Paranoid Android - Easystar Allstars feat. Kirsty Rock This was more impressive. Not my favourite Radiohead tune but a difficult one to deliver in any style and they did it well.
    I wanna hold your hand - Al Green That's great. Never heard it before.
    Wie Schon Das Ist - Marvin Gaye This is priceless. I'd recently taken to wondering what 'Saturday Night at the Movies' would sound like in German. Now I've some idea ..."Zatterdag Nacht inst der Film-Haus..."
    Love Machine - Arctic Monkeys Thought this was the View doing ‘Love Machine’ til I saw the tracklisting. Cool.
    Victoria - The Kinks I love Victoria as well …no idea it was The Kinks.
    I touch myself - Rolf Harris Rolf Harris is the man. That’s a frightening take on the Divinyls though.
    Anarchy in the UK - 386DX Anarchy cover is excellent -I thought it was Stephen Hawking

Joe le taxi - Stereo Total Joe le Taxi is excellent too.
    Falling - Wedding Present Weddoes cover of Falling ****es on Julie Cruises original from a height. Some great covers in the hit parade series. Lets make some plans, cattle and cane, pleasant valley Sunday...
    London - Cinerama 2000 That version of London is fantastic. Completely different vibe. For something more similar to The Smiths (just heavier) ….anthrax’ version
    Born in the USA - Ballboy Sounds abit like David Kitt . Nice version.
    Jesus wants me for a sunbeam - The Vaselines Original no? I know Nirvana covered it at some stage. I'm sure Eugene Kelly played Limerick a few years back supporting Evan Dando.
    The boy with the thorn in his side - Dinosaur Jr. It only adds to the charm of it that it sounds like he's knocking it out at a 'back to mine for a bevvy' party at 4AM.

Nice one Noby.

A very detailed post! As for the 'Original, no?' queries, yes they are. Hence the title 'Verions', including original versions.

The German Marvin Gaye is from a Motown compilation - all the original artists re-recording their songs in German, Italian, Spanish etc. Berry Gordy really knew how to work it.

Gone a bit quiet here lately hasn't it?

Anyway I’ve been a bit busy lately so I have only got to listen to Stann’s CD as yet. I loved the King of the Slums; I’m definitely going to check out more of their stuff.

I was a bit shocked to find out the singer of The Delays was, eh, male, but I liked the song. I also liked the Elbow and Big Black songs.

Also “Kiss Kiss Bang Bang” is a song I would normally run a mile from but I find it strangely good and I don’t know why.

Anyway I hope to listen to TCM’s and Noby’s CD’s before the end of the week.

Page 6 of 10 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast