Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Foot.ie Music Exchange 2009

Dates up in first post for your week to send out. Does this suit everyone?

115 Posts
    Am happy with that anyway Jebus. Feck, will have to get thinking!

Didn't see this until now either...
    Quote Originally Posted by monzo View Post
    In last year's exchange was there any restrictions on the diversity of the selections? I have a feeling that my mix is going to incorporate a wide range of genres, which may or may not prevent the cd from having much of a flow.
    No restrictions last year Monzo, whatever you like is grand. A bit of flow a nice bonus but not essential. Thankfully!
    more bass

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Dates up in first post for your week to send out. Does this suit everyone?
    I'll go second no problem.

Yeah that's fine with me.

Fine by me too Cap'n.

Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    Feck, will have to get thinking!
    You've got the prime St Patrick's Week slot! Something related to green or Ireland or snake-banishing should strike the right chord!
    Last edited by kingdom hoop; 19/02/2009 at 1:52 PM.

I'll need postal addresses for everyone so guys and I'll get mine out next week. SligoBrewer throw me your one again and I'll send one out to you and all

Do you have the addresses from the last round no? That'll save a few of us a small bitín of effort if you do... (I think I have them saved somewhere anyway if you don't.)

Edit: Yeah I had them in a PM from last time (no, I wasn't storing them with intention of nefarious activity) so for all those who participated last time your address has been forwarded to Jebus - so you don't need to PM him unless you have some other purpose for so doing, which would of course be none of my business, so I won't ask if you do or you don't.
    Last edited by kingdom hoop; 19/02/2009 at 7:23 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    Am happy with that anyway Jebus. Feck, will have to get thinking!

Didn't see this until now either...

No restrictions last year Monzo, whatever you like is grand. A bit of flow a nice bonus but not essential. Thankfully!
    Lovely stuff, I've a few tracks already in mind and they juxtapose quite nicely.

PM sent btw!

New Season Kicking Off

So, here we are, on the cusp of a new season: enthusiasm mingling with tension, Hope battling Realism; the familiarity of the old, the exoticism of the new; all ready to bubble and boil together, set to form an at-times fiery, other times cool, concoction of diverse ingredients lavishly combined to form a sumptuous nine-part serving of immensely tasty fare.

Hurrah,

hurrah,

HURRAY!

is there a running order? I'm in no hurry but can slot in wherever needed either.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Yeah the running order is in the first post.

You're scheduled to go 7th, which translates as the week beginning the 6th April.

Burning my ones off tonight lads and will have them out tomorrow morning.

Excellent. And so it is re-born.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

Done and dusted lads. Didn't get them out til the afternoon post so they might not reach you til Monday I'm afraid, damn college deciding to take up my time, I live in hope that those closer to me might have their copy by tomorrow though

I went with an all female compilation as well the non-sexist among you may be pleased to hear, some new, some old, some well known, some not so well known (maybe), a mix from Patti Smith to Le Tigre to Anais Mitchell basically

Hope you enjoy

Intriguing.
    I just received a letter in the post. Inside was an unmarked cd. Folded around this cd is a blank piece of note paper. I am, of course, assuming this is from jebus. Is the track list written in invisible ink? I'm tempted to squeeze lemon juice over the piece of paper just to see.
    Either that or someone is going very old school in their virus spreading methods. I'll chance it in my computer at lunch time and see what happens.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

Sorry, didn't have time to write anything out so I burnt the tracks onto the CD, in case that fails here is the track list

* I for one always lose those sheets of paper anyway

1. Patti Smith - Gloria
    2. Feist - 1234
    3. Sinead O'Connor - Mandinka
    4. Tegan & Sara - Where Does The Good Go
    5. Le Tigre - TKO
    6. The All Seeing I - The Beat Goes On
    7. Martha & The Vandellas - Dancin' In The Street
    8. She & Him - Sweet Darlin'
    9. Laura Marling - Crawled Out Of The Sea
    10. The Be Good Tanyas - The Littlest Birds
    11. Joanna Newsom - Peach, Plum, Pear
    12. Erin McKeown - La Petite Mort
    13. Ani DiFranco - Hypnotized
    14. Anais Mitchell - Old Fashioned Hat
    15. Nina Simone - Mr.Bojangles
    16. Ella Fitzgerald - Let's Fall In Love

Lovely mix, thanks Jebus. The Sinead O'Connor track possibly the highlight. Loved TKO as well. Beforehand Gloria was the only track I had heard off the list.

I loved the Tegan And Sara track and also the Le Tigre one.Never heard of any of those two before.
    I always wondered who sang the "1234" song and now i know!

I can't decide on a theme for my selection so i'll probably just mix it up a bit and see where it goes.
    Jebus can you PM me with the addreses and i'll post them out on thursday.

Glad you liked them lads

Updated list of all participants have been sent on to the Optimist so we can forward that bad boy around

Thanks for the CD Jebus. Most of the tracks were a bit quiet for my taste tbh, but I liked Tegan & Sara, Le Tigre and The All Seeing I.

Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast