Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Foot.ie Music Exchange 2009

Foot.ie Music Exchange 2009

A few from the old list don't seem to be that active around here nowadays so I was wondering if there would be any interest in filling their spots and getting this going again?

Really enjoyed recieving a new mix CD every week (and then every other week) so I think it's worthwhile. Probably should keep it to between 8 and 10 people again, but do the old members have any interest in reviving this? And then would there be any potential new members?

For those that don't recall we basically get a number of forummers (say 8)and take it in turns to make and post out a compilation CD, music can range from the Beatles to your own garage band, it's completely your choice what goes on the CD

Memberlist
    Jebus 23/02 - 01/03
    The Optimist 02/03 - 08/03
    Thischarmingman 09/03 - 15/03
    Stann 16/03 - 22/03
    Noby 23/03 - 29/03
    Sunny Jim 30/03 - 05/04
    Lionel Ritchie 06/04 - 12/04
    Monzo 13/04 - 19/04
    Kingdom Hoop 20/04 - 26/04
    SligoBrewer (joining in June)
    Last edited by jebus; 09/03/2009 at 12:55 PM.

Excellent, someone took the initiative! Admittedly I haven't been all that active lately, but I'm not prepared to give up my slot! If I'm booted out on account of creative differences fair enough, but I still owe yourself, Noby and Stan a round, so I'll have to send that out anyway, so I may as well stay in.

We probably should start again alright though, and I agree on the numbers you propose.

And would also encourage anyone thinking of joining in to do so!

Hi lads.
    I'd love to join in on the music exchange if possible.

290 Posts
    Count me in.

My address has changed, I'm now in Dublin so just let me know before you send me anything or when you're making an address list.

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    (and then every other week)
    You must have got a pile of them that I didn't then.
    Count me in again anyway. We still going on themes or reverting to a general mix kind of thing?

Just to be awkward, I'd like to see a couple more forummers, 10 maybe, in the exchange. The more different types of CD the better, but balanced against the amount of burning to be done!
    And though people are of course at liberty to put what they like on, I'd hope the trend of (for the most part) including lesser known or obscure tracks continues, that was the best bit for me.
    more bass

I'll rejoin in June, after the Leavin'.

Sorry for ditchin' yous all.

Ooh, count me in if it gets up and running again.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    I'll rejoin in June, after the Leavin'.
    Hmmm, that reminds me. I'm doing exams in a few weeks so on mature reflection I should probably focus on those rather than spending days vacillating on terribly troublesome stuff like putting track 5 in track 7's place or vice versa. And I won't (or shouldn't anyway! ) have time to give the other CDs the proper listens, feedback and discourse they deserve.

So unfortunately it's probably best if I revoke my membership for now, but would love to rejoin in mid-April should my application for temporary leave be accepted by the committee.

You could, of course, put yourself at the bottom of the list, so then you should have about ten weeks before worrying about burning a cd.

Fair point well made dear Noby.

I'll have to think about it.

Ok, I've thought about it. And no, I'll drop out. My condition, Severely Susceptible To Any Kind Of Distraction Syndrome, necessitates it so, I'm afraid. Although I'll probably still check in at regular intervals, see how things are going, look at what the tracklists are, and spend a few days buying all the separate tracks.

Despite doing the Leaving this coming June, I'd be interested in such a venture if there's room. Wouldn't really have time to compile a mix in the months of May and early June though (the designated 'cram-like-hell' months).

Memberlist is up, 2 places left for anyone who is interested and we'll get started then

In last year's exchange was there any restrictions on the diversity of the selections? I have a feeling that my mix is going to incorporate a wide range of genres, which may or may not prevent the cd from having much of a flow.

I'd love to take part, if ye have room.

115 Posts
    Jebus will revert no doubt, but I think there still is room alright.
    Will you give Lionel a nudge too Jebus, see if he's interested again?
    more bass

Sunny Jim is in, I'll pm Lionel and we can get started from there

Arm twisted. Go on so sure, I'm in.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Membership is complete thanks to the heavies I sent round to Lionel's last night

Anyone have any preference for what order they need to go in? Will we push the timeframe from every week out to every two weeks as well as that tripped us up in the second round of releases last year?

My preference would be weekly, but if someone can't make it to give plenty of notice so the person up next can jump in. The first round seemed to run smoother.

Fortnightly could work but there would have to be no delays, as otherwise it would go on forever.

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post

Anyone have any preference for what order they need to go in?
    A middle slot that doesn't clash with my orals (end of March) or actual Leaving (June) would suit me.

Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast