Page 8 of 120 FirstFirst ... 6789101858108 ... LastLast

Thread: Séamus Coleman (D Everton b.1988)

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Legend View Post
    i havent seen this level of excitement since high flying eddie mcgoldrick!
    Who actually wasn't a bad player for Ireland. He played very well away to Denmark.

A nice start for Coleman. Let's hope he can keep his place.
    There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fergie's Son View Post
    Who actually wasn't a bad player for Ireland. He played very well away to Denmark.

Had a very decent game against the North in 93 and all, did he win Irwin's free that was cleared for McLoughlin's goal?

2,713 Posts
    He also played really well in the 25 miniute "win" over England. A tackle he made in the early minutes set the tone for us. Ok, there's revisionist history and revisionist history, but I think it's true...

2,713 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CF1989 View Post
    glad to see ye've all woken up and realised what a player he is
    Or maybe those of us who don't live in Sligo (or even Ireland) haven't been asleep, just open minded...

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fergie's Son View Post

I remember he tore Irwin to shreds in a club game against united too.. It's gas to think the players you treated with such indifference back in the day isn't it??
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

You know I love this a lad who was playing junior soccer 3 years ago and was a great gaelic player who was going to be called up to the donegal senior panel before silgo rovers jumped in and signed him, he must be pinching himself now. Speaking to a load of killybegs lads last night he was the talk of the London County Board meeting. All very proud of their own and rightly so.

Great story lets hope it stays that way and he doesn't fade into obscurity.

74 Posts
    aye it is great, he's doing the county proud! First man to play for Ireland from 'below the gap' (a donegal term)??
    Havin a weekend away is quite frankly,lettin ur team mates down!

Thats a big auld gap in fairness EAFC

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    You know I love this a lad who was playing junior soccer 3 years ago and was a great gaelic player who was going to be called up to the donegal senior panel before silgo rovers jumped in and signed him, he must be pinching himself now. Speaking to a load of killybegs lads last night he was the talk of the London County Board meeting. All very proud of their own and rightly so.

Great story lets hope it stays that way and he doesn't fade into obscurity.
    All spot on bar it was the minor panel. He was only 17 when he signed for Sligo and would've played centre-back for the minors that year. He was though playing senior club gaelic football with Killybegs.

Donegal, who were very strong with the likes of Michael Murphy on the side, went on to win the Ulster Minor League and Ulster Championship in 06, before losing to a Kerry team with Tommy Walsh in the All-Ireland semi-final. Fair play to the lad, he's going really well and everyone is delighted for him.

i'm flying back to ireland via liverpool/knock on xmas eve - i'm going to get a couple of everton shirts with coleman for my cousins in sligo - as it stands will rovers get anymore money based on future first team appearances and international caps

Mother of God will ye all calm down!!!
    Youd sware he was playing week in week out putting in Gary Kelly type performances! He's not. As i said earlier, this reminds me of nothing but McShane.....ye all thought he was gonna be "world class" and look what happened!! Just calm it for Gods sakes! We give out that the English press over hype their players.....have a read of this thread!!! On the back of one game! He has played 3 previous and been nothing but poor!!!
    Now we all hope Shamie proves himself as a big player and as an Everton fan no one hopes it more than me, but for the love of GOD, Give the hyperbole a rest will ye!!! He is Seamus Coleman, young player, decent potential, as yet unproven. He is not Cafu!! Not yet anyways. This is exactly the kind of OTT Rubbish Moysey is trying to protect him from!

CALM DOWN!!

Quote Originally Posted by an_ceannaire View Post
    Youd sware he was playing week in week out putting in Gary Kelly type performances! He's not. As i said earlier, this reminds me of nothing but McShane.....ye all thought he was gonna be "world class" and look what happened!! Just calm it for Gods sakes! We give out that the English press over hype their players.....have a read of this thread!!! On the back of one game! He has played 3 previous and been nothing but poor!!!Now we all hope Shamie proves himself as a big player and as an Everton fan no one hopes it more than me, but for the love of GOD, Give the hyperbole a rest will ye!!! He is Seamus Coleman, young player, decent potential, as yet unproven. He is not Cafu!! Not yet anyways. This is exactly the kind of OTT Rubbish Moysey is trying to protect him from!

CALM DOWN!!
    That's wrong anyway

He wasn't great against Benfica but then again he was playing on his debut out of position against a Brazilian squad member and the rest of the defence was a shambles

He bared played 5 minutes against Bolton

And he played very well against AEK Athens

People have been raving about him for a couple of years now

Youd sware he was playing week in week out putting in Gary Kelly type performances! He's not. As i said earlier, this reminds me of nothing but McShane.....ye all thought he was gonna be "world class" and look what happened!! Just calm it for Gods sakes! We give out that the English press over hype their players.....have a read of this thread!!! On the back of one game! He has played 3 previous and been nothing but poor!!!
    Now we all hope Shamie proves himself as a big player and as an Everton fan no one hopes it more than me, but for the love of GOD, Give the hyperbole a rest will ye!!! He is Seamus Coleman, young player, decent potential, as yet unproven. He is not Cafu!! Not yet anyways. This is exactly the kind of OTT Rubbish Moysey is trying to protect him from!

CALM DOWN!!
    finally, some sense.

Quote Originally Posted by Donegalcelt View Post
    All spot on bar it was the minor panel. He was only 17 when he signed for Sligo and would've played centre-back for the minors that year. He was though playing senior club gaelic football with Killybegs.

Donegal, who were very strong with the likes of Michael Murphy on the side, went on to win the Ulster Minor League and Ulster Championship in 06, before losing to a Kerry team with Tommy Walsh in the All-Ireland semi-final. Fair play to the lad, he's going really well and everyone is delighted for him.

Im aware of that michael murphy fella as well, a lad who went to college with him told me he was the best gaelic player he ever played with or against.

Ive been told from a lad whose father used to be secretary for killybegs that he was going to brought into the senior panel winter 06 i.e. after the all ireland final of that year which the rossies one, and handled tommy walsh quite easy

CALM DOWN!!
    we'll start listening when you start spelling words and names right.

Quote Originally Posted by HammerNThongs View Post
    He was right back. Stephen Pienaar was Evertons right winger.
    I realise that. I'm just pointing out that the best facets of his game on Sunday was his attacking play, not his defensive side.

Quote Originally Posted by The Legend View Post
    i havent seen this level of excitement since high flying eddie mcgoldrick!

Last Irish man to play in a League match for Arsenal too I think.

we'll start listening when you start spelling words and names right.
    Pedant Alert

(and who is we Paul.....are you the elected spokesman for the group?)

No, but when you call him Shamie, you could at least get that right.

Sorry for not knowing what way culchies up your way spell Seamie/shamie/sheamy..........

Page 8 of 120 FirstFirst ... 6789101858108 ... LastLast