Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Anyone thinking of leaving the country in the current climate?

101 Posts
    I finish my MA in the summer and unfortunately it's something I'm having to increasingly think about.. If I can get a job here though I'll definitely be staying.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

57 Posts
    Well - thanks to my work contract not being renewed past March 1st - I will be fecking off to Oslo in Norway on March 25th.

Got somewhere to stay initially rent free (with a couple of friends) - and a few grand in cash to take care of any expenses.

I'll be there until it runs out
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    I'll be there until it runs out
    Isn't Oslo very expensive though? There was a programme on TG4 last night (part of a series) where they went to Oslo to meet a few Irish who'd moved there and a few locals who speak Irish (rather amusingly, one old Norwegian fella had beautiful hot-potato-in-mouth Connamara Irish). Anyway, context and source provided, apparently it's €9 for a pint there! Excellent health care and social services they said alright, but still, €9 a pint! I mean, they'd really have to get their priorities right over there before I'd consider moving.

I've no plans to move at the moment, but if I was I'd be looking at joining MagicMe in the south of France (maybe open a vineyard together to sustain our writing exploits?) or I'd maybe head to Brazil or Argentina, or just about anywhere I could scrape by really. Key factors would be local culture, Romance language or English, scenic beauty, and friendliness of locals. If they were satisfactory, then within reason economic conditions would come after. Actually scrap that, just give me somewhere fairly warm and sunny lying in a hammock, sipping, toking, listening to music and reading, with a tiny bit of work interspersed, and I'd be happy for the rest of my days. Hey, I have to have a dream, right.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kingdom hoop View Post
    Isn't Oslo very expensive though? There was a programme on TG4 last night (part of a series) where they went to Oslo to meet a few Irish who'd moved there and a few locals who speak Irish (rather amusingly, one old Norwegian fella had beautiful hot-potato-in-mouth Connamara Irish). Anyway, context and source provided, apparently it's €9 for a pint there! Excellent health care and social services they said alright, but still, €9 a pint! I mean, they'd really have to get their priorities right over there before I'd consider moving.
    The €9 figure is a bit like quoting Temple Bar prices in Dublin as the amount across the whole country. A pint in Oslo is more around the €5 / €6 mark

I've been over there regularly over the last decade - the standard of living is high - as is the cost - but then people there earn a helluva lot more - which offsets costs a lot.
    Kom Igen, FCK...

The €9 figure is a bit like quoting Temple Bar prices in Dublin as the amount across the whole country. A pint in Oslo is more around the €5 / €6 mark

I've been over there regularly over the last decade - the standard of living is high - as is the cost - but then people there earn a helluva lot more - which offsets costs a lot.
    Been over a few times for work & their state richest probably keeping me employed. Infrastructure is impressive but prices seemed maybe 1/3 more expensive like for like with Ireland.

112 Posts
    I'm still temping but getting sick of starting over in new sites... If I dont get a full-time job offer where i am, im half considering working on a cruise ship where my mate is managing. Wages paid in bank, everything subsidised, get to travel the world, you work hard but you play hard too.....
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Pauro I know a couple of people who've done the cruise ship thing, a good way to save money but you need STAMINA

3,491 Posts
    Where?

E9 was what I paid almost every time over there. Including the time I got drunk and bought a round of seven drinks for my new best Norwegian mates. The price stuck in my head after that!

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by endabob1 View Post
    Pauro I know a couple of people who've done the cruise ship thing, a good way to save money but you need STAMINA
    Nothing wrong with my stamina I'll have ya know! It'll be quite exhausting but a great way to get away from all the negativity around here. And there'll be tales to tell and money in the bank. Just an option though.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pauro 76 View Post
    I'm still temping but getting sick of starting over in new sites... If I dont get a full-time job offer where i am, im half considering working on a cruise ship where my mate is managing. Wages paid in bank, everything subsidised, get to travel the world, you work hard but you play hard too.....
    Jesus Pauro - that sounds like a cool gig - how/where does one apply for these kind of jobs?

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    Jesus Pauro - that sounds like a cool gig - how/where does one apply for these kind of jobs?
    i'll have to ask my mate but although it's not all good times on board, the idea of not spending a penny for a few months sounds ideal, as well as escape from bills, contracts, commuting etc.

I was offered a "one off", no questions asked job in sunny Colombia - cash in hand.

Apparently all I have to do is travel to Colombia (all expenses covered), pick up a job load of cuddly toys and carry them back through customs.

I'll let you know how I get on..................
    Quoting years at random since 1975

3,491 Posts
    Be sure and say hello to Ruben Sosa for us.

Unless he wasn't all he made himself out to be...

Be sure and say hello to Ruben Sosa for us.

Unless he wasn't all he made himself out to be...
    What a coincidence!! Do you carry out export work for Senior Sosa too!!!
    Quoting years at random since 1975

812 Posts
    I hope to be finished with college inside of a year. I'll be going wherever there's work then, in the short term anyway.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pauro 76 View Post
    i'll have to ask my mate but although it's not all good times on board, the idea of not spending a penny for a few months sounds ideal, as well as escape from bills, contracts, commuting etc.
    cheers Pauro, Im waiting

the problem now.

Lads the problem now is that its not the 1950's anymore.Back then you left Ireland and went to a country with a much better jobs climate,U.S,Oz etc.But these days the "go to" countries are also screwed and dont have great jobs climate's.Still though,Ireland(and Iceland) and the countries furthest up the creek with no paddle's.As was said at the start of the Thread,if i do leave Rays Patterson's words in the Simpsons will be my last words at Shannon airport- "its so gratifying to leave you wallowing in the mess you've made,your screwed,thank you,bye".

latvia is a bit like us actually, they had growth rates never seen before but then BANG, financial crisis.

Quote Originally Posted by Newryrep View Post
    It may be blindingly obvious but if you are heading anywhere make sure you can speak the lingo, it will greatly affect you chances of success - obviously not an issue for US, UK, Etc .

Might try and learn a language myself
    Not a problem. The utterly fantastic language teaching in Ireland will remove all lignuistic barriers.

"Voulez-vous coucher avec moi?" - eh, ya whaa?

Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    cheers Pauro, Im waiting
    So am I Pauro, it's something I've always been interested in trying out so any info appreciated.

Alternatively, I'm tempted to go to Canada for 3 months. Travelling, not working. Then in September do a 1 year bar work course and go travelling(with work hopefully) to Canada or Oz for a year.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast