Thread: Chants From The Shed

Chants From The Shed

nearly forgot to mention this, but thought it was bad form last week with the "dirty british b@st@rds" chant against derry

does anyone know their history in the shed

i can understand" whats it like to have a queen" as that is in good fun

while i was not one of the people that was slaggin g o'dowd coz of his brother people were very fast to criticise this

this is up there with that chant

bwing from derry myself i find the chant to be a bit distasteful, but it's not exactly better (or worse) than singing "you are a jackeen" at dubs. it's meant to wind the opposition up that's it. No-one worries when we sing anti dub songs, so why start with anti Derry songs?
    Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?

Originally posted by Ruairi
    bwing from derry myself i find the chant to be a bit distasteful,
    Not as distasteful as Walkers crisps id hazard there, eh Ruar. You do know thatevry bag of walkers u buy, u are paying the queen.

Walkers are disgusting anyway. I heard the salt in the salt and vinegar is extracted from Prince Charles himself!
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

Walkers are the JOB!!!! If they're good enough for Roy Keane, they're certainly good enough for me.
    Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?

Originally posted by Ruairi
    bwing from derry myself i find the chant to be a bit distasteful, but it's not exactly better (or worse) than singing "you are a jackeen" at dubs. it's meant to wind the opposition up that's it. No-one worries when we sing anti dub songs, so why start with anti Derry songs?
    there is a very big difference

They will be in division 1 next season so we wont be able to sing anything about the Queen anymore,damn.

Walkers are manky,Taytos are the job.

Originally posted by DolansWaistcoat
    They will be in division 1 next season so we wont be able to sing anything about the Queen anymore,damn.
    How funny will it be when, in Division 1, they have to visit Queenstown. Will they object?

144 Posts
    Chant of the night last Friday night from the back of the Shed straight after a rendition of "Whats it like to have a queen ?"

Was "Whats it like to have a prince who's a queen ?"

Top Class

Got a round of applause and everything.

Never heard it,must have been fairly low cause I was in the middle of the shed,great chant though

Got to say, being an English city fan, and i even do join in with the odd 'IRA' and i usually have absolutely no objection to the songs as they are just for a laugh-this is possibly one step too far. I mean, i can't help being English or British(and i'd much rather be Irish) and it is a bit scant on any Brits in the crowd like. It makes you a bit uncomfortable, which is not good. Dublin songs are different, as they are not insulting your nationality or your heritage- i dunno, its just something about that song, if you get me. By all means, dont never sing offensive songs again, but surely a chant of 'CITY' would be more beneficial to the team?

its kind of the same with 1 of my friends whos from dublin and he'd sing along with MOST dublin songs but its usually just a bit of fun.

there is nothing wrong with "whats it like to have a queen"thats just a laugh but that other one is sad

the queen chants and the constant queenstown jibes are both sad imo. im sure whatever monarch who 'gave' cobh its temporary name wud be proud of ye

shud leave politics out of sport and tink a bit harder to come up with better chants/jibes
    Followin Our Own Teams In Eire

theres no cure for the League of Ireland bug. spread it :)

Is it just me are most or all of City's chants and songs just copied from the english league especially the lower divisions.The tunes are the same with the words changed for whatever team is playing(canvey island till i die...etc.) Every time I watch an english game on tv,especially the lower leagues i feel like i'm in the shed,like.

Maybe they copy us,I Don't think so though.I doubt many english people tune into chorus or even the two or three games a year on RTE.Who knows though

89 Posts
    Thought the Shed was very quiet for the Derry game

The u-8 brigade didn't take too kindly to the songs
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Thumbs down

Its been quieter this year all right.Theres way too many young 'Wans' and 'Fellas' running around in there anyway,get um out and up to play with the big dog/bear yoke in the family stand

rebelhead
    jofy there is a differnce between you and the the derry people.while you want to be irish many derry people have fought and died to be recognised as irishmen and not british

It was only a chant that lasted a couple of seconds i'm sure the derry fans didnt take it to heart,lets not get too worked up about it.

Calm down,calm down as the scousers say

The worst chant from the shed is this "Sinn Fein" and "IRA" bit that quite a few morons insist on adding into "The Fields Of Bishopstown". Having been with English fans at the Cross on a few occasions when this is heard I have been embarrassed. I wonder what the various English players we had over the years think of it.
    And if those who sing it stopped to think for a minute, they would realise that your average member of Sinn Fein would probably not want to be mentioned in the same breath as the IRA either these days, now that they are parliamentarians.
    I have to say, I always think the chants at Derry games are a good wind-up, I dont see any malicious intent. The fun is in knowing the last thing a Derry fan would like to be called is British, and that they know we dont really regard them as British.
    "Whats it like to have a Queen" is my alltime favourite chant, how do they answer that without lending credibility to the question?
    ...indeed Mr. Chairman makes exceptionally good cheese and onion pies.....