It's used by people who call each other by their internet handles in real life - as in "Howya WAR, how's it going?" Isn't that right WWS?Originally posted by wws
i find that the word "avatar" rarely comes up in real life discussion
Is this the land of make believe or something?Originally posted by wws
real life discussion
Actually you were ranting on about Pats "carving" up 2/3 of the national silverware like as though it was a big thing so you're probably in dreamland 99% of the time.
Remember that scene on Fr. Ted when he's trying to explain, with diagrams, the difference between dreams and reality to Dougal?
Think we need something like that for you.
It's used by people who call each other by their internet handles in real life - as in "Howya WAR, how's it going?" Isn't that right WWS?Originally posted by wws
i find that the word "avatar" rarely comes up in real life discussion
No One Likes Us, We Don't Care
Well when your mates introduce you as WaR, what do you expect?Originally posted by WeAreRovers
It's used by people who call each other by their internet handles in real life - as in "Howya WAR, how's it going?" Isn't that right WWS?
KOH![]()
Last edited by Dodge; 20/11/2003 at 3:43 PM.
Originally posted by Peadar
Is this the land of make believe or something?
Actually you were ranting on about Pats "carving" up 2/3 of the national silverware like as though it was a big thing so you're probably in dreamland 99% of the time.
Remember that scene on Fr. Ted when he's trying to explain, with diagrams, the difference between dreams and reality to Dougal?
Think we need something like that for you.
ok here we go for the slow learners - who's lips move whilst reading
there are three cups available as she stands dougal
Fai Cup - Longford First, Pats second
League Cup - Pats First, Longford Second
League Championship - 'to be decided'
a cursory look at the above will lend credance to my assertion that pats and longford have carved up 2/3's of the domestic honours list between them this season
happy to clear that up
They have to have some way of telling each other apart since they're all called Anto. Internet handles give them an indentity their parents couldn'tOriginally posted by Dodge
Well when your mates introduce as WaR, what do you expect?![]()
Perhaps in a pub quiz in 10 years time there'll be a question about the winners of the League Cup in 2003 but no one will remember you for being hammered by Longford in the FAI Cup and no one will remember you for finishing 6th in the League.Originally posted by wws
a cursory look at the above will lend credance to my assertion that pats and longford have carved up 2/3's of the domestic honours list between them this season
It's reality wws, face it!
if you offered me a league cup, a cup final appearance and league safety assured before our last home game (unlike last season) than yes - THAT I WOULD HAVE TAKEN at the start of the season
obviously knocking cork out with our reserves along the way was just a brucie bonus
i'm not sure we are destined for 6th but we'll wait and see
Last edited by wws; 20/11/2003 at 3:54 PM.
Just goes to show the ambitions of your club where knocking the mighty Cork City FC out of the League Cup is considered an achievement worthy enough to constitute a successful season.Originally posted by wws
obviously knocking cork out with our reserves along the way was just a brucie bonus
Looks like this thread is heading for another split - incidentally WWS was the man who introduced two different topics - ban him (and his sectarian avatar) now!
On the internet names thing, I did have to laugh when a chorus of "WAR what is he good for? absolutely nothing!" was heard in the Horse and Jockey one drunken evening. BTW Dodge, WAR is my real name.![]()
LOL. Lads would ye take one look at how long this has gone on?? You'll never agree, so leave it??
Jesus we're pack of ****ing geeks
And WaR don't forget as admin of the Pats board I know exactly who you are...
[SIZE=1]but unlike other cetrain board(s) we won't tell anyone...[/SIZE]
on the "avatars":
I was looking for a Lims one on the options for reasons which are now well lost or split between so many threads as to render them not worth going into (suprise, suprise) and found to my suprise (,suprise?) that there was a Linfield one.
Not only that but a CHOICE of two - I could have opted for last years jersey if I wanted to be all cool with the retro look but I (think) I have this seasons.
as my choice of "avatar" on this forum is strictly for throwaway laughs, well spotted Conor (you Genius?) I thought little of it, and to my suprise I logged back in here a while later - thinking that was long over to see a big hoo-ha about a mere blue jersey.
So in summary yes I would want a vibrant and thriving Limerick City in the Premier Division. Why does that suprise people? If it turns out to be at the expense of Cork well than so be it, as Waterford and Cobh have shown they don't exactly dominate down there as it is. Linfield can keep on keepin on as far as I'm concerned as I have no interest in the Northern League whatsover.
Last edited by wws; 20/11/2003 at 4:19 PM.
Originally posted by Dodge
[SIZE=1]but unlike other cetrain board(s) we won't tell anyone...[/SIZE]![]()
It's a good thing I'm a nice guy and don't hold grudges.
As for being an admin on the Pat's board - I'm a super moderator on the Ultra's board, which I think makes me a bigger geek than you!
No, admins **** on super modsOriginally posted by WeAreRovers
It's a good thing I'm a nice guy and don't hold grudges.
As for being an admin on the Pat's board - I'm a super moderator on the Ultra's board, which I think makes me a bigger geek than you!
The only problem is I don't know what the difference between a mod and a super mod is - more Paul Weller records maybe?
Paul Weller is a sham Mod, small faces maybe I dunno, Calling Doctor Nitedub - u were (probably) around for the mods v rockers heyday*, sort this out
*60's incarnation?![]()
Is your managers name Avatar???Originally posted by wws
incidently i hate the word avatar - anyone else with me on that?
Champions!
Best thread on ANY LofI message board, on ANY subject, for weeks! WWS throws in a blatant wind-up (blatant even by his outrageous standards) and how do Cork fans react? Not so much Reservoir Dogs as Pavlov's Dogs.![]()
Just to settle a couple of things:
1. Can't help on the mods v rockers thing as I wasn't around in the 60s. Well, I was, but not as a discerning music fan. As regards Paul Weller, a couple of good songs with the Style Council can't disguise the fact that his best work was with The Jam.
2. If WWS is a Linfield fan, then I'm Topper Headon.
3. Dodge, stop try to inject sense into the proceedings, you'll ruin everything!
Last edited by Dr.Nightdub; 20/11/2003 at 10:41 PM.
Revenge for 2002
Story Nightdub?Originally posted by Dr.Nightdub
2. If WWS is a Linfield fan, then I'm Topper Headon.
Haven't heard from you in yonks.
Did you hear that Pats are going to sign Kevin Hunt?
There's a meeting about it on Tuesday.
Apparently certain people are going to put there money where their mouth is.
Knowing Pats fans, that's the seat of their pants![]()
You're the one injecting sense into proceedings! I was fully prepared to believe that WWS was a Linfield fan.....if it meant getting a laugh out of the Corkies. Now you've ruined it 'cos we all know you're not Topper Headon but are actually Terry Chimes.Originally posted by Dr.Nightdub
3. Dodge, stop try to inject sense into the proceedings, you'll ruin everything!