Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Is Cook coming back?

Quote Originally Posted by londonred View Post
    No brainer , I would go with the people who appointed Paul Cook over the muppets who appointed a world class manager called em Steve Staunton.....

Alright lad. Trust the lads who had ye raising 130k just to stay in business last year....

Maybe if the FAI had done this last year ye'd have avoided that completely.

But if you wanna believe theres no way these same fella could possibly get this years budget wrong then work away....

1,025 Posts
    No brainer , I would go with the people who appointed Paul Cook over the muppets who appointed a world class manager called em Steve Staunton.....
    You mean you would rather go with the people who brought your club to financial ruin last year over the people who appointed Trappatoni.....

only in Sligo...eh?...phhft

2,770 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    only in Sligo...eh?...phhft
    is that supposed to be a silent fart??
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

33 Posts
    Can I suggest you show me posts backing that up, or shut up with the trolling?
    The world of Irish Football Comment doesn't revolve around this= or any other message board. You are unlucky.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    is that supposed to be a silent fart??
    no, i let the air out of my balloon.

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HarpoJoyce View Post
    The world of Irish Football Comment doesn't revolve around this= or any other message board. You are unlucky.
    Back up your post, or shut up. Plain and simple. Not the first time you've posted stuff like this and failed to provide a single link when asked.
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 02/02/2009 at 4:07 PM.

147 Posts
    The FAI do not have the ability to spot a discrepancy this is the same organsiation that reckon they will have no problem flogging premium tickets for Lansdowne road , called Galway United a model club and didn't see the Shels , Cork or Drogheda situations coming.
    They weren't running the league when Shels went ar.se over ti.t, you can't blame them for 'missing' the Cork thing, but - and heaven forgive me for saying this - give them credit for possibly preventing another 'Shels' by rejecting Sligo's budget.
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    They weren't running the league when Shels went ar.se over ti.t, you can't blame them for 'missing' the Cork thing, but - and heaven forgive me for saying this - give them credit for possibly preventing another 'Shels' by rejecting Sligo's budget.
    "Drama Queens" we are nowhere near Shels proportions I am hearing the FAI have given us a budget of 8k a week whereas we had already cut it back to 10k a week which we were comfortable with for the second part of last season i think it was in the region of 20k at the beginning of last season and there was a tax liability carried over which subsequently has been cleared.

the FAI have given us a budget of 8k a week whereas we had already cut it back to 10k a week which we were comfortable with for the second part of last season.
    I'd have thought you were unlikely to get the same level of sponsorship this season as you did last year with the economy the way it is. A reduction in budget from what you could raise last year doesn't seem unreasonable.

2,770 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    no, i let the air out of my balloon.
    ahh, my mistake!
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    I'd have thought you were unlikely to get the same level of sponsorship this season as you did last year with the economy the way it is. A reduction in budget from what you could raise last year doesn't seem unreasonable.
    Also Id imagine most clubs will see attendances hit aswell. People wont have the money to bring the family every second Friday.

Any club/fan who thinks their clubs income will be as high as last year is delusional. A recession will affect LOI clubs just like any other business.

Everyone should be cutting budgets to predict this

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    Also Id imagine most clubs will see attendances hit aswell. People wont have the money to bring the family every second Friday.

Any club/fan who thinks their clubs income will be as high as last year is delusional. A recession will affect LOI clubs just like any other business.

Everyone should be cutting budgets to predict this
    This will be really interesting Micls but people still have to live a little, i would have thought you may see the trips to the premier league games hit harder !

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post
    This will be really interesting Micls but people still have to live a little, i would have thought you may see the trips to the premier league games hit harder !
    How many people go to PL games regularly though? For most its once or twice a yea.r Theyl just head to the pub instead.

You'll still get your regulars but if Im stuck for money I wont be bringing along my little brother and Id imagine a lot of other families will be in the same position.

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    How many people go to PL games regularly though? For most its once or twice a yea.r Theyl just head to the pub instead.

You'll still get your regulars but if Im stuck for money I wont be bringing along my little brother and Id imagine a lot of other families will be in the same position.
    Jeez go out to Dublin airport on a Saturday morning, its kaos with all the people heading away. I think the once or twice a year will have to cut down to once or not at all. Sponsorship will be a bigger issue in the league.

I think the once or twice a year will have to cut down to once or not at all.
    But will those people come to LOI games instead? I doubt it.
    Sponsorship will be a bigger issue in the league.
    Either way I think its obvious income will drop and therefore expenditure must too

291 Posts
    Paul Cook:

Personally, at the end of the season, I think it would be more important to have a trophy in the cabinet than money in the bank.
    Now there's an attitude the Eircom League's been lacking these last few years...

Tell Cook to catch himself on- he's been given a budget, it's up to him to deal with it.

Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    Paul Cook:

Now there's an attitude the Eircom League's been lacking these last few years...

Tell Cook to catch himself on- he's been given a budget, it's up to him to deal with it.
    I agree.That was an awfull comment by cook.

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    You mean you would rather go with the people who brought your club to financial ruin last year over the people who appointed Trappatoni.....
    What has Trappatoni acheived with Ireland?
    Till d End!

Lads

Quote Originally Posted by brianw82 View Post
    I don't understand this comment. If our budget, as it stands, has been accepted by the FAI then we're not spending money we don't have.
    Lads Im on the outside looking in,Im not having a go but every year there seems to be some problem with managers and promises made to managers.If im wrong tell me,but could it not be anything to do with the chairman??? or board?

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast