Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: 2009 Squad

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hulsey View Post
    Robson re-signed and ex Ucd striker Paul Byrne also signed.
    Great to sign Robson v good young player, havn't really seen enough of Byrne to comment. Anyone know more about him?
    Byrne is a very good player, slight concerns about fitness and workrate though. Nevertheless, if he put the groundwork in you have made an astute signing. Type of player who won't do much in a game but always worth a goal when he is on song. Great in the air too. If he plays his best for Bray this season he will get into double figures.

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    Byrne is a very good player, slight concerns about fitness and workrate though. Nevertheless, if he put the groundwork in you have made an astute signing. Type of player who won't do much in a game but always worth a goal when he is on song. Great in the air too. If he plays his best for Bray this season he will get into double figures.
    Cheers for that mate. Sounds good
    I'd love to invent a time machine then go back in time and win the lottery, buy new players and a stadium. Time machines are brilliant aren't they- Ian Holloway

Quote Originally Posted by Hulsey View Post
    Deansy's back from Fingal . Excellent signing he was every bit as good as Delaney for us 2 years ago
    Great to get deansy back from fingal, rock solid defender gives his all..

great news about deansy

also stephen brennan (from pats) is a great signing.

i've sign paul byrne a few times and was impressed so hopefully he'l perform for us unlike rowe.....

daire doyle, i dont know anything about...

and dave mulcahy - defender, played with waterford last season, will also be an excellent signing too

defence now doesnt look too bad, another one wouldnt hurt, but midfield, we are short big time and up front too.

oh and as far as i know, dunphy is gone to Dublin Bus in the leinster senior league, well according to lslforum.com
    Last edited by dublinwanderer; 05/02/2009 at 9:19 PM.

from rte

Seagulls recruit three new signings

Bray Wanderers have made three additions to their squad for the 2009 season.

Eddie Gormley has secured the signature of Daire Doyle from Longford Town. Paul Byrne and Chris Deans have also put pen to paper, they move from Sporting Fingal to the Seagulls.

From last year's squad Gormley has succeeded in re-signing Australian goalkeeper Chris O'Connor, defenders Derek Pender and Dane Massey, midfielder Daryl Robson and striker Jake Kelly.

Manager Eddie Gormley told the press he now had a very high standard of player in his squad and was very happy with the recent additions to the squad.

We have signed Darren Dunne from Sheriff YC in the AUL League.... Anyone know anything about him??? Position? Any good?

220 Posts
    Why did ye release Gough a couple of weeks after signing him?

Quote Originally Posted by CelticTiger View Post
    So we are looking at a defence of Brennan,Deans,Foran,Pender?

Not too bad tbh.

as for midfield? McCabe,Robson,Kavanagh,Coughlan.

Pretty weak in my opinion,i would love a Keith Fahey type player in our side tbh.

And a Holding midfielder to go with it,together with mccabe and paddy on the wings.

Up front i think were alright
    That is some strong defensive line up imo.. centre mid does look a bit weak, correct we do need a holding type player but who is out there, i'm a franco fan but i still think we are also weak up front, i would love eddie to try and get emeka back he has not signed for anybody yet.???

im sure brennan and mulcahy are to sign on monday if not before.

i heard they are looking at a attaching midfielder, plays on the wing or up front for mount merrion in the Lsl, not sure of the name but kind of lacking in midfield so could be a good thing!!!!

38 Posts

Signing's confirmed

Dave Mulcahy & Stephen Brennan signed today, lost out to Drogheda for Alan McNally,also Stephen Gough, Stephen Quigley, Robbie Clarke & Ian Ryan will not be signed after doing pre-season.

really happy with the signings. defense is looking ok for the new season. would love to sign john fitzgerald released from galway, centre back, tall strong and i was very impressed every time i seen him...

midfield is really weak, and so is upfront.

my starting 11 would be:

Skippy

Brennan, Mulcahy, Deans, Pender

Coughlan, Tresson, Robson, Kavanagh

Byrne, Franco

SUBS:
    Kane (GK)
    Massey
    Foran
    Doyle
    Mulroy

left out:
    mccabe
    jake kelly
    shane o'neill
    darren dunne

Really need more midfield options as well as forwards, but looking better than a few weeks ago!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Blackcastle View Post
    Dave Mulcahy & Stephen Brennan signed today, lost out to Drogheda for Alan McNally,also Stephen Gough, Stephen Quigley, Robbie Clarke & Ian Ryan will not be signed after doing pre-season.

Dave mulcahy sounds like the perfect midfielder we are looking for,, really hope tuesday's match is still on..

220 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Town Legend View Post
    Why did ye release Gough a couple of weeks after signing him?
    OK no answers to that question so I guess your website man fecked up by relasing it on the web saying he had signed when he hadn't!!!!

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Town Legend View Post
    OK no answers to that question so I guess your website man fecked up by relasing it on the web saying he had signed when he hadn't!!!!
    Stephen did a full pre-season with Bray along with 8 other new players, I believe financial reasons was the reason he and others departed, budget is just not there to sign all players unfortunately.
    Seems to be a lot of players still looking for clubs.

Quote Originally Posted by naoise kennedy View Post
    Dave mulcahy sounds like the perfect midfielder we are looking for,, really hope tuesday's match is still on..
    i thought mulcahy was more of a defender...

but... then my starting 11 would be:

--------------Chris O'Connor-----------------

S Brennan---C Deans---C Tresson---D Pender

Kavanagh---D Mulcahy---D Robson--G McCabe

----------P Byrne----A Gorgescu-------------

Substitutes:
    Kane
    Foran
    Massey
    Coughlan
    Mulroy / Kelly

Not bad team, but, a few injuries and we're screwed!!! Forwards will not score many goals. need someone else there. And also another central midfielder.

What position does Darren Dunne play does anyone know?
    Blackcastle? You seem to know alot before its put on website? Do you have info on him? Also Daire Doyle? Whats he like? Position? Any other signings coming????
    DEVO: 'we want to challenge for the league next season' - speaking at the player of the year awards nite 2005. boy was he so far wrong!!

Quote Originally Posted by braysnumber1 View Post
    i thought mulcahy was more of a defender...

but... then my starting 11 would be:

--------------Chris O'Connor-----------------

S Brennan---C Deans---C Tresson---D Pender

Kavanagh---D Mulcahy---D Robson--G McCabe

----------P Byrne----A Gorgescu-------------

Substitutes:
    Kane
    Foran
    Massey
    Coughlan
    Mulroy / Kelly

Not bad team, but, a few injuries and we're screwed!!! Forwards will not score many goals. need someone else there. And also another central midfielder.

What position does Darren Dunne play does anyone know?
    Blackcastle? You seem to know alot before its put on website? Do you have info on him? Also Daire Doyle? Whats he like? Position? Any other signings coming????

Agree with most of your team but what about foran taking centre defense and tresson taking centre midfield.. would tresson last the full match, i would still put foran in before tresson in centre defense..

According to the rte web site dave mulcahy is a central midfielder.. so my starting eleven
    skippy

brennan deans foran pender

kavanagh mulcahy robson mccabe

franco byrne.

Quote Originally Posted by naoise kennedy View Post
    Agree with most of your team but what about foran taking centre defense and tresson taking centre midfield.. would tresson last the full match, i would still put foran in before tresson in centre defense..
    I'd have tresson in there for his experience and leadership. You need a leader on the pitch, someone who can encourage and organise the team, his experience would be good for the younger lads too.
    DEVO: 'we want to challenge for the league next season' - speaking at the player of the year awards nite 2005. boy was he so far wrong!!

Things are looking a bit better after the 2 signings over the weekend, much needed experience and quality added to the squad, but from what i've heard Kavanagh is pretty much a Derry player and Dunphy has left the club as well so still work to be done by Eddie to bring players in in certain positions. I reckon Joxer Kelly would be a great replacement for Kavanagh, we need a striker big time as well.

220 Posts
    Ok what are ye at down there??? On the main page forum under Team Squads ye have re-signed Stephen Gough??? SO ye sign him, release him and re-sign him in one week???? Its all very confusing!!!

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast