Mervue did win the A League and beat Kildare in a play-off to gain 1st Division status!
Until you've seen MSL football please don't right it off as IMO at least 3 MSL teams would blitz the 1st Division. Avondale, Rockmount and Douglas Hall. It's at the same standard if not higher than 1st Division football.
LESS OF THE BULL NOW!
Ramblers have a massive history in the MSL and there are teams like Avondale,Douglas Hall,Rockmount who would easily dispose of 1st division teams on their day.Theres no spice to the "A" league,no attendences,no coverage and nothing worth winning-I dont even know who won it last year,the MSL on the other hand has a local pedigree with some good players.Its just my opinion on things and I know for sure there will be a lot more like me who wont pay into that s#ite,Im alse fed up with the way the club is been run so another factor there...
if you go to MSL youll have to come back up through the A league, and anyway wanderers are the local MSL team, MSL is 25 years ago, and it can stay there, i dont want to drop a divison but it has to be it has to be, we should easily win that, last year there was only merview and salthill, thi year theres is it 3 new teams plus kildare and us, and most likely kildare will stay up if we go down,
and anyway, id prefer to wait to see what the story is before i jump to conclusions,
and BTW lads how many MSL games have ye seen, not all the teams are ****e, and like us years ago, should really be playing at a higher level,
Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.
If we go back to M.S.L we can kiss goodbye to the club.
If we're in that league we don't stand a chance in getting out of the sh!te we're in.
At least in the in the A league, we will have a good chance of getting back to the 1st division in a couple of seasons, we can get our house in order and start aiming to get back to premier league football.
Blitz is a bit of an overstatement isn't it? Have you heard what Fingal's team is gonna be? Do you really think Rockmount would comfortably finish ahead of Shelbourne? We played Douglas Hall in the cup two years ago, and whilst they gave us a good game we were still clearly the better side.
As for yout current woes guys, I've made this suggestion on the Limerick forum and I think it could serve Cobh well too. Create a Junior Supporter's Clubs, and get 1 or 2 players to do the rounds of the local Primary schools and hand out membership cards after a short training session. We started the idea last year cause I was taken by surprise one day when the ex's little brother came running up to me to show me his Limerick 37 supporters card that himself and his classmates had been given for free by one of the players. He then started to bug his dad into bringing him to a game, such was his pride at being apart of a football team's supporters. Start targetting the new generation of fans, because the vast majority of the current crop are lost to watching Sky down the pub forever
As mentioned Mervue did not win the A league, they came forth and were winners of the play off but will they enter the first divison is another question. Douglas hall got wallopped by a mid prem Limerick league team in the FAI the other day. Couple of years ago Pike Rovers, to prove they were good went into the MSL. After winning it seven times running they withdrew as the Limerick Premier league is seen as a higher standard.
That was Douglas Hall's second team who played in the FAI junior Cup
[QUOTE=gael353;1102385 but will they(Mervue) enter the first divison is another question.[/QUOTE]
There is no question. They will be playing in the First Division this year. Are playing in Terryland until they hope to get stand erected in Fahy's Field.
Are heading off on 4-day training camp to Spain in mid-February. Whether they will be competitive or not is another question.
That is one of the best ways to get people in.
Get the players to make themselves more popular with kids, kids want to go
to games to see the lads who trained them in school, parents have to pay in to
bring the kids, kids buy stuff in the shop, Dads get to head out and meet their mates
for 2 hours under the guise of looking after the kids, everyones a winner!![]()
Larry Be Wyse
www.acsportsimages.com
You registered just to say that?The MSL is Senior in name only. It's hardly representative of the whole province either. The top teams in Limerick's junior set up would be of comparable standard to the MSL's best. I'm not going to dismiss the MSL en masse but there are 'junior' sides in Limerick (and Tipperary, Kerry and Waterford for that matter) who are just as good as the likes of Douglas Hall.
Of course there are good sides in other leagues, that's not in dispute. But saying that Pike had to leave the MSL to get a better standard of football was plain nonsense. It's a pity that the top sides in Munster are not keen in joining the A league or in competing in some form of regional league. Wouldn't it be great to see Rockmount v Fairview, Douglas Hall v Pike or Avondale V Carrick.![]()
it was a big decision by rams also to join the league, not every club can just join the league, we were dominateing MSL, so our only challenge was LOI football, and overall the goods outweighted the bads,
and of course thats my opinion, there has been more good than bad
Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.
If the Limerick league is so hot how come they were beaten this year by the Cork AUL in the Oscar Traynor Cup and we all know that the AUL wouldn't ever beat the MSL. However, Pike, Carrick, Clonmel and Lisselton (Kerry) should all lobby to form a Munster League with the best of the MSL. That would be a great league to play in.