Thread: Bohs on Lifeline. Missing Money

60 Posts

Bohs on Lifeline. Missing Money

Joe Duffy has a caller on about someone from Schoolboy section absconding with money for trip away. Bohs won't take responsibility.
    Always look on the bright side of life

Surprise surprise!!....o..yet they sign lads like Joseph Ndo!!

Quote Originally Posted by drummerboy View Post
    Joe Duffy has a caller on about someone from Schoolboy section absconding with money for trip away. Bohs won't take responsibility.
    Just to clarify, someone has absconded with Money raised for a trip away for the Bohs Schoolboys? A Bohs employee is it?

By Bohs won't take responsibility, I assume you mean that they won't stump up to replace the money that was raised? I'll leave the question of whether they should have had theft insurance in place to one side, but why exactly should Bohs be stumping up here? Isn't it a matter for the guards to find the money and get it returned at this stage?

[QUOTE=tiktok;1106999]Just to clarify, someone has absconded with Money raised for a trip away for the Bohs Schoolboys? A.
    Quote Originally Posted by tiktok View Post
    By Bohs won't take responsibility, I assume you mean that they won't stump up to replace the money that was raised? I'll leave the question of whether they should have had theft insurance in place to one side, but why exactly should Bohs be stumping up here? Isn't it a matter for the guards to find the money and get it returned at this stage?
    The Bohs representative that was on said they were told by the Gardai that if they paid the money back the case might collapse so they're not paying it, yet anyway.
    Last edited by pete; 17/02/2009 at 1:54 PM. Reason: While no name mentioned it think is too specific without proof

1,104 Posts
    Didn't someone allegedly do a runner with their bar takings a while back?. It's so hard to get good staff these days..

The Bohs representative that was on said they were told by the Gardai that if they paid the money back the case might collapse so they're not paying it, yet anyway.
    That's what I thought, I don't see the why they should hand over anything.
    Also, the theft was outside of their control to a degree, you have to trust your staff not to do leggers like this.
    How much money was it?
    Last edited by pete; 17/02/2009 at 1:55 PM. Reason: While no name mentioned it think is too specific without proof

How much money was it?
    10k iirc.

Moderator: Don't mention names or roles of people as it is not fair.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    In fairness Pete, if it's been on the Joe Duffy show what role the person held, we're only discussing something that's already well in the public domain.

220 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post

Whats not fair is this 'coach' running off with money donated to fund a trip away for the underage squad. Should be named and shamed IMO.

60 Posts
    In fairness, the club rep said that he intended recommending to the board the money will be paid back in full.

Christ the guy who took the money must be in a dire financial state to take the money from a bunch of kids.
    Always look on the bright side of life

The Bohs director responsible for the schoolboy set up walked out of their AGM (or a similar thing) because of their lack of action over the section. I understand the head coach resigned (or perhaps didn't have his contract renewed)

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    The Bohs director responsible for the schoolboy set up walked out of their AGM (or a similar thing) because of their lack of action over the section. I understand the head coach resigned (or perhaps didn't have his contract renewed)
    Wasn't that walkout more to do with the board consistently ignoring the schoolboys section rather than this individual incident though?

Sounds like sean connor stumbled across some cash when coming back to pick up a few things

2,770 Posts
    Wasn't that walkout more to do with the board consistently ignoring the schoolboys section rather than this individual incident though?
    from what i have heard, yes.

I think Dodge just threw that in for the laugh...
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    from what i have heard, yes.

I think Dodge just threw that in for the laugh...
    Isn't that what he said?

"because of their lack of action over the section"

3,488 Posts
    Were Bohs drinking last night and working this morning?

(I know I was...)

Have to agree with tiktok if the facts are as outlined. But then getting your information second hand from the Joe Duffy show isn't exactly the most reliable of sources.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    I understand the head coach resigned (or perhaps didn't have his contract renewed)

The latter if I'm thinking of the same fella.

Yeah, I meant about how things were generally, and thanks for clarifying the head coach thing. I know the director was very upset about it though

BTW I wasn't trying to point score and hope evrything works out for the kids

Quote Originally Posted by drummerboy View Post
    I assume this is a poor attempt at a wind up and/or you are journo looking for another crappy story about a LOI club.

Bohs U-8's had paid deposits of approximately 2,500. for a trip to Spain & when said trip was cancelled bohs gave the money to the team manager to repay. This manager kept the money. Matter reported to gardai. Bohs told to hold off on repayment as this could affect future prosecution. Gardai since said a one off payment should be ok & this is likely to be approved this week.

Further payments depending on what the gardai investigation uncovers my be made at a later date