Page 10 of 13 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast

Thread: Drogs' Court Case

Quote Originally Posted by WindmillWarrior View Post
    Technically the FAI own UP. And they want to upgrade it.
    They dont own St Colmans Park.
    Adds up to me!
    UPGRADE!!

The only way to upgrade United Park is to knock it down and rebuild it.
    With the FAI unlikely to receive any sports grant from the government this year & every cent spent needed to be carefully accounted for it would be a disgrace for them to spend any money on a club who ran themselves into the ground with ridiculous spending & then refuse to hold said club directors accountable

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ndrog View Post
    The fai are helping dundalk financialy to upgrade the plastic pitch are they not ? they dont NEED to do that ?
    The FAI help Dundalk?!? I think your still pished from last night...
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

555 Posts
    The fai are helping dundalk financialy to upgrade the plastic pitch are they not ? they dont NEED to do that ?
    The only help Dundalk got from the FAI was to lengthen their stay in the first division.

By the way I was stunned to read this quote from Vincent Hoey:

"We were not here [examinership] due to faults of our own, certain things happened outside our control...."

This man is deluded and should not be in charge of a football club.

Arent they giving derry a few bob for their new ground too? Again, dont NEED to it!!

A the warrior said, a good aul relegation battle to look forward to (hopefully!!)
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

while im glad the drogs have survived im annoyed that clubs who didnt overspend or go mad on wages are being dealt differantly then clubs like drogs. Yesterday Limerick came within two hours of going out of existance due to a tax bill half the size of what the drogs have to eventually pay up. Clubs like limerick and many others have no finance at this time of the year due to no gates and now with the economic climate no or reduced advertising or sponsorship revenue. so limerick for sticking to the rules pay 100% of their tax bill while drogs pay only 2/3% of theirs.

shameful

220 Posts
    Its always been the same. The FAI don't seem to care about the lesser clubs or clubs outrside of the Pale for that matter.

Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    while im glad the drogs have survived im annoyed that clubs who didnt overspend or go mad on wages are being dealt differantly then clubs like drogs.
    Why single us out? Ye can throw at least cork and rovers in there too!! And more im sure!!
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Yes the FAI own United Park, lock stock and barrel.
    Like the MFA they have to upgrade a premier division ground. Fair play to them - they might make it as good as Turners Cross

When we move ground in a few years we get to keep the money from the sale as well. God bless John Dleaney.
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post

I think the Revenue didn't object in court yesterday and Cork City sorted them out as well so there is no issue with either clubs tax affairs. If the Revenue are saying its ok then whats your problem with it.
    reason is its unfair here's an example
    Club A owes revenue 60k the demand it now!!!! clubs pays up ,cant sign decent players because the need liceance----
    Club Drogheda Utd/cork owe revenue 120k cant pay sur, we will give ye 4% about 5k, revenue says ok so thanks heres your cert lads

Whats Fair with this? thats what im saying A face

1,104 Posts
    I'd have to question the Revenue's attitude towards the Drogheda and Shamrock Rovers cases. At least with Cork they objected to the proposed arrangement. It's all well and good to say that that's all the clubs could afford to pay, but why should they get a clean slate from there on in, why not pay over five years or however long it takes to clear it at an achievable rate?. So what if that affects their on field performance. There's lots of other clubs suffering on the field from past mistakes. We've managed to pay over 700k to the Revenue in the last four years or so I believe. They're being rewarded in effect for having no assets.

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    I'd have to question the Revenue's attitude towards the Drogheda and Shamrock Rovers cases. At least with Cork they objected to the proposed arrangement. It's all well and good to say that that's all the clubs could afford to pay, but why should they get a clean slate from there on in, why not pay over five years or however long it takes to clear it at an achievable rate?. So what if that affects their on field performance. There's lots of other clubs suffering on the field from past mistakes. We've managed to pay over 700k to the Revenue in the last four years or so I believe. They're being rewarded in effect for having no assets.
    Fully agree - I'm amazed they didn't even object.
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

399 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WindmillWarrior View Post
    No it hasnt! There was top flight derbies in the mid to late 90s.

Yeah i got my info wrong, def top flight derbys in the early 90`s ok, but its still around 15 years i would say since the last one
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

Quote Originally Posted by Guitd View Post
    Club A owes revenue 60k the demand it now!!!! clubs pays up ,cant sign decent players because the need liceance----
    Club Drogheda Utd/cork owe revenue 120k cant pay sur, we will give ye 4% about 5k, revenue says ok so thanks heres your cert lads

Guitd, Its not fair. I agree with you ..... but its the Revenue that managed their own side of the bargain in all those cases. If they are good with it then thats that. And again, i know its not fair.

Quote Originally Posted by Guitd View Post

sorry i was spouting the same stuff, i agreee fully with you its ****e and when i hear the spin of these clubs who get off with little or no punishment, going on about "its onwards and upwards", new manager to be appointed, signing players all over the place.....

Leo the lion is available for parties....€150 for a full hour. all proceeeds to Limerick Football Club. Mid west only. pm me contact details

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    The only help Dundalk got from the FAI was to lengthen their stay in the first division.

By the way I was stunned to read this quote from Vincent Hoey:

"We were not here [examinership] due to faults of our own, certain things happened outside our control...."

This man is deluded and should not be in charge of a football club.
    I agree that Hoey seems to be so out of touch and its unbelievable and a concern that he's still claiming that Drogheda were not at fault for what happened. According to him it was Meath County Council's fault and if they had rezoned the land, then it would have been the NRA's fault. Its a bit like somebody claiming to have been unlucky to have been knocked down by a bus, TWICE.
    Neale Fenn on retiring: 'I think once you finish you might as well finish rather than making all sorts of comebacks.'

This is really a shocking statement to make. Put simply, this man should not be left in charge of Drogheda United.

fcuk sake lads its done and dusted .Get over it and move on .For the record i agree that the statement was chringeworthy but tbh did you expect hime to say " yeah sorry folks we fcuked up and were sorry , can we move on know "

220 Posts
    NO

fcuk sake lads its done and dusted .Get over it and move on .For the record i agree that the statement was chringeworthy but tbh did you expect hime to say " yeah sorry folks we fcuked up and were sorry , can we move on know "

bit rich considering we had to listen to the "save the drogs" band for about 10 weeks on this site. wont be shutting up till Drogs are in their rightful place...first or A division this season.

Quote Originally Posted by Celdrog View Post
    Yes the FAI own United Park, lock stock and barrel.
    Like the MFA they have to upgrade a premier division ground. Fair play to them - they might make it as good as Turners Cross
    Im sure you are well aware that the MFA put none/very little of their own money into the cross. All done by sports grants or by City(seats tarmaccing etc was paid by us).

If thats the road the FAI are going down, grants and Drogs money then fair enough.

And lets be clear, the FAi are under no obligation to upgrade United Park. It's your problem if you want to play in the premier, not theirs. They are not obliged to help you play in a higher division, ffs they were helping ye out by buying it.

Page 10 of 13 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast