UPGRADE!!
The only way to upgrade United Park is to knock it down and rebuild it.
With the FAI unlikely to receive any sports grant from the government this year & every cent spent needed to be carefully accounted for it would be a disgrace for them to spend any money on a club who ran themselves into the ground with ridiculous spending & then refuse to hold said club directors accountable
The only help Dundalk got from the FAI was to lengthen their stay in the first division.
By the way I was stunned to read this quote from Vincent Hoey:
"We were not here [examinership] due to faults of our own, certain things happened outside our control...."
This man is deluded and should not be in charge of a football club.
while im glad the drogs have survived im annoyed that clubs who didnt overspend or go mad on wages are being dealt differantly then clubs like drogs. Yesterday Limerick came within two hours of going out of existance due to a tax bill half the size of what the drogs have to eventually pay up. Clubs like limerick and many others have no finance at this time of the year due to no gates and now with the economic climate no or reduced advertising or sponsorship revenue. so limerick for sticking to the rules pay 100% of their tax bill while drogs pay only 2/3% of theirs.
shameful
Its always been the same. The FAI don't seem to care about the lesser clubs or clubs outrside of the Pale for that matter.
Yes the FAI own United Park, lock stock and barrel.
Like the MFA they have to upgrade a premier division ground. Fair play to them - they might make it as good as Turners Cross
When we move ground in a few years we get to keep the money from the sale as well. God bless John Dleaney.
Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week
reason is its unfair here's an example
Club A owes revenue 60k the demand it now!!!! clubs pays up ,cant sign decent players because the need liceance----
Club Drogheda Utd/cork owe revenue 120k cant pay sur, we will give ye 4% about 5k, revenue says ok so thanks heres your cert lads
Whats Fair with this? thats what im saying A face
I'd have to question the Revenue's attitude towards the Drogheda and Shamrock Rovers cases. At least with Cork they objected to the proposed arrangement. It's all well and good to say that that's all the clubs could afford to pay, but why should they get a clean slate from there on in, why not pay over five years or however long it takes to clear it at an achievable rate?. So what if that affects their on field performance. There's lots of other clubs suffering on the field from past mistakes. We've managed to pay over 700k to the Revenue in the last four years or so I believe. They're being rewarded in effect for having no assets.
#DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).
sorry i was spouting the same stuff, i agreee fully with you its ****e and when i hear the spin of these clubs who get off with little or no punishment, going on about "its onwards and upwards", new manager to be appointed, signing players all over the place.....
Leo the lion is available for parties....€150 for a full hour. all proceeeds to Limerick Football Club. Mid west only. pm me contact details
I agree that Hoey seems to be so out of touch and its unbelievable and a concern that he's still claiming that Drogheda were not at fault for what happened. According to him it was Meath County Council's fault and if they had rezoned the land, then it would have been the NRA's fault. Its a bit like somebody claiming to have been unlucky to have been knocked down by a bus, TWICE.
Neale Fenn on retiring: 'I think once you finish you might as well finish rather than making all sorts of comebacks.'
This is really a shocking statement to make. Put simply, this man should not be left in charge of Drogheda United."We were not here [examinership] due to faults of our own, certain things happened outside our control...."
fcuk sake lads its done and dusted .Get over it and move on .For the record i agree that the statement was chringeworthy but tbh did you expect hime to say " yeah sorry folks we fcuked up and were sorry , can we move on know "![]()
NO![]()
Im sure you are well aware that the MFA put none/very little of their own money into the cross. All done by sports grants or by City(seats tarmaccing etc was paid by us).
If thats the road the FAI are going down, grants and Drogs money then fair enough.
And lets be clear, the FAi are under no obligation to upgrade United Park. It's your problem if you want to play in the premier, not theirs. They are not obliged to help you play in a higher division, ffs they were helping ye out by buying it.