Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9101112 LastLast

Thread: Songs/Chants for the Singing Section

2,796 Posts
    re- my post above, I just saw the "Dearg Dubh" reference on last page. I haven't been following this thread while away.

Gets my vote...

lets rock the gaff tomo night lads, stand up and be counted, no more excuses on or off the field...
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    Was at an Ireland rugby game for the first time on sat, interesting comparison. The atmosphere was decent but nothing fantastic and certainly not close to some of the best football nights in LR and this is considering that sats game was deemed by the experts to be one of the best 6 nations games ever.

Irelands call is a little cringe at this stage and takes the good out of ANaF but has to be done i suppose. They really dont have any chants at all, not that we are much better. The one song they did sing near the end was the Fields of Athenry and it did song very good, easy song to sing everyone knows it etc.......no reason why it shouldnt work for football???

Word of advice for wed, jaysus it was freezing in croker and ive been at some really cold days in Dalymount, turners cross, LR, the rds etc but this was up there with the best. Good few people around me had small flasks of whiskey, wouldve been the business!!!
    In fairness the atmosphere for rugby at Lansdowne was far better too. We haven't had a decent atmosphere at a football match in CP either. It is down to the fans being too far from the pitch I think. Even the upper stands are behind the lower stands as opposed to on top of them in the old Lansdowne. I hope they get the new one right and have the fans on top of the pitch.

Still SS tickets available

There are still tickets available for the Singing Section in Croke Park for the Georgia match.
    Anyone who has not yet got a ticket and would like to stand, sing and give it socks for the Boys In Green can buy a Singing Section ticket on ticketmaster or from the LFA offices on Parnell Square.
    All fans with tickets for the Singing Section are asked to get to the ground early and give the team as much vocal support as possible.

Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    Anyone heard the anthemic finish to Glasgow band "Glasvegas" song "Go Square Go" ?

It basically builds and builds to the refrain - "Here we fu**ckin Go!!!!!!"
    I'm on board for this one big time, it'd be class. You start it Wolfie & I'll back ye up.

Also on for My Lovely Horse too (but we'll have to lose the sax solo).
    Last edited by Colie; 10/02/2009 at 7:58 PM.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

Everything sounds brilliant lads and I wish I was back at home for it, but is the art of a terrace chant dead? Now dont get me wrong, Im as patriotic as anybody and a massive Irish music fan but isnt there a difference between 'atmosphere' and 'craic'? I mean theres nothing better than a group belting out Irish songs but Im just not sure if a large repetoire of songs is plausible for a football match.

Personally I love the short, repetative chants a la Derry City, something catchy which is easy to grasp. Id love to see a bit more of a hostile or intimidating environment. Im not saying we turn into hooligans or anything but just something to make it a bit more difficult coming to Croker or Lansdowne. Youtube has great videos of Panathanikos in Greece which have really good, prolonged chants. Maybe something to work off. Just my tuppence worth!:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u0rMe2Vyb9E

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tUS2cg5Xa10
    4th official"Dermot, relax with the swearing" .Keely"Ah its grand, he's me son"

Blue Man, whatever makes a differnce, whatever makes a difference.

Tickets for the Singing Section are available from the vans around Croker tonight

stuck

am stuck in leeds bradford airport, flight has been delayed for 3 hours and could be cancelled. i've three tickets in my arse pocket too....

here's hoping!!!!

ah scheiser good luck magnumpi make even more noise if thats the case.

Im more than a little upset, that there isn't 1600 in there, however i would be a hypocrit to say anything given where I currently am, but can safely say if money wasn't a fair bit of a problem id be there.

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mento View Post
    Tickets for the Singing Section are available from the vans around Croker tonight
    any idea on how many have been sold to date? id say the uptake will be greater for future matches once it catches on.

any update on how the meeting with fai went last week?

Last I heard about 700
    We crawl before we walk and all that
    Hopefully 1600 for Bulgaria and Italy

This one could possibly work for Robbie Keane?

Its originally a Man U chant - so may not be to everyones liking..........

(To the tune of Lilly the Pink)

We drink, a drink, a drink
    to Robbie the king, the king, the king
    He's the Leader of our football team.
    He's the greatest,
    Centre Forward,
    That the world,
    Has ever seen.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    any idea on how many have been sold to date? id say the uptake will be greater for future matches once it catches on.

any update on how the meeting with fai went last week?
    we will be in the lower davin but not in the singing section but rest assured I will be in full belt tonight for this game..

comon Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    This one could possibly work for Robbie Keane?

Its originally a Man U chant - so may not be to everyones liking..........

(To the tune of Lilly the Pink)

We drink, a drink, a drink
    to Robbie the king, the king, the king
    He's the Leader of our football team.
    He's the greatest,
    Centre Forward,
    That the world,
    Has ever seen.
    I like that one..its orginally sung by Utd fans about Eric Cantona but think it could be a good song to get us end mood beside the usual Keano Keano chant

TRAP-A-TOE-KNEES

GREEN N WHITE ARMY

repeat ad nauseum (with two different groups singing the two parts / one dude with a loudspeaker chanting the Trapp bit)
    Superdave to the resc....

Can you wait til I finish my pint? Or else...

what exactly are the lyrics to the st pauli/celtic/derry(?) song? its class and would be deadly if it really caught on.

also i think there should be about 5 songs tops exluding of 'ireland ireland ireland'(this chant is good when your standing up with the clapping)

oró sé do bheatha abhaile is a must.

Quote Originally Posted by irishultra View Post
    what exactly are the lyrics to the st pauli/celtic/derry(?) song? its class and would be deadly if it really caught on.
    We Love You ¦ We Love You ¦ We Love You
    Ireland’s Who We Follow ¦ We Follow ¦ We Follow ¦
    Cause We Support our Country ¦ Our Country ¦ Our Country
    And That's the Way we Like it ¦ We Like It ¦ We Like It
    Wooo oh ooh ohh ohh oohhhhhhhh ¦ ¦
    Weeeeeeeeeeee Love You, We Love You, We love You....

I downloaded St Pauli fans singing it and tried to mix it together to the best of my very limited ability:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V7UfSbASyrQ

nice job on the video, Eirebhoy! that's great that you have uploaded it to youtube (embedded it in this post) .. hopefully more people will hear it and it will catch on even more. The only quibble I would have is

"Cause We Support our Country" ... would be nice to work in Irish there somewhere to "that's because we're Irish". But its only a minor thing .... great song to add to the repertoire.

why was the proclaimers playing before the match? terrible imo

Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9101112 LastLast