lets rock the gaff tomo night lads, stand up and be counted, no more excuses on or off the field...
re- my post above, I just saw the "Dearg Dubh" reference on last page. I haven't been following this thread while away.
Gets my vote...
lets rock the gaff tomo night lads, stand up and be counted, no more excuses on or off the field...
'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch
In fairness the atmosphere for rugby at Lansdowne was far better too. We haven't had a decent atmosphere at a football match in CP either. It is down to the fans being too far from the pitch I think. Even the upper stands are behind the lower stands as opposed to on top of them in the old Lansdowne. I hope they get the new one right and have the fans on top of the pitch.
There are still tickets available for the Singing Section in Croke Park for the Georgia match.
Anyone who has not yet got a ticket and would like to stand, sing and give it socks for the Boys In Green can buy a Singing Section ticket on ticketmaster or from the LFA offices on Parnell Square.
All fans with tickets for the Singing Section are asked to get to the ground early and give the team as much vocal support as possible.
Last edited by Colie; 10/02/2009 at 7:58 PM.
"I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
Townsend on McGrath
Everything sounds brilliant lads and I wish I was back at home for it, but is the art of a terrace chant dead? Now dont get me wrong, Im as patriotic as anybody and a massive Irish music fan but isnt there a difference between 'atmosphere' and 'craic'? I mean theres nothing better than a group belting out Irish songs but Im just not sure if a large repetoire of songs is plausible for a football match.
Personally I love the short, repetative chants a la Derry City, something catchy which is easy to grasp. Id love to see a bit more of a hostile or intimidating environment. Im not saying we turn into hooligans or anything but just something to make it a bit more difficult coming to Croker or Lansdowne. Youtube has great videos of Panathanikos in Greece which have really good, prolonged chants. Maybe something to work off. Just my tuppence worth!:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u0rMe2Vyb9E
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tUS2cg5Xa10
4th official"Dermot, relax with the swearing" .Keely"Ah its grand, he's me son"
Blue Man, whatever makes a differnce, whatever makes a difference.
Tickets for the Singing Section are available from the vans around Croker tonight
am stuck in leeds bradford airport, flight has been delayed for 3 hours and could be cancelled. i've three tickets in my arse pocket too....
here's hoping!!!!
ah scheiser good luck magnumpi make even more noise if thats the case.
Im more than a little upset, that there isn't 1600 in there, however i would be a hypocrit to say anything given where I currently am, but can safely say if money wasn't a fair bit of a problem id be there.
Last I heard about 700
We crawl before we walk and all that
Hopefully 1600 for Bulgaria and Italy
This one could possibly work for Robbie Keane?
Its originally a Man U chant - so may not be to everyones liking..........
(To the tune of Lilly the Pink)
We drink, a drink, a drink
to Robbie the king, the king, the king
He's the Leader of our football team.
He's the greatest,
Centre Forward,
That the world,
Has ever seen.
Quoting years at random since 1975
what exactly are the lyrics to the st pauli/celtic/derry(?) song? its class and would be deadly if it really caught on.
also i think there should be about 5 songs tops exluding of 'ireland ireland ireland'(this chant is good when your standing up with the clapping)
oró sé do bheatha abhaile is a must.
We Love You ¦ We Love You ¦ We Love You
Ireland’s Who We Follow ¦ We Follow ¦ We Follow ¦
Cause We Support our Country ¦ Our Country ¦ Our Country
And That's the Way we Like it ¦ We Like It ¦ We Like It
Wooo oh ooh ohh ohh oohhhhhhhh ¦ ¦
Weeeeeeeeeeee Love You, We Love You, We love You....
I downloaded St Pauli fans singing it and tried to mix it together to the best of my very limited ability:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V7UfSbASyrQ
nice job on the video, Eirebhoy! that's great that you have uploaded it to youtube (embedded it in this post) .. hopefully more people will hear it and it will catch on even more. The only quibble I would have is
"Cause We Support our Country" ... would be nice to work in Irish there somewhere to "that's because we're Irish". But its only a minor thing .... great song to add to the repertoire.
why was the proclaimers playing before the match? terrible imo