It's not well known enough to work - but it would be a cracking chant...
Anyone heard the anthemic finish to Glasgow band "Glasvegas" song "Go Square Go" ?
It basically builds and builds to the refrain - "Here we fu**ckin Go!!!!!!"![]()
Quoting years at random since 1975
Or even as us Style concious casuals would put it ''Retro chic''.
I would love to see all that St Pauli style dancing from side to side from row to row in unison with everybody singing ''my lovely horse'' or even the theme tune to Father Ted, and it will happen next wednesday and thats because dance practise starts around 4.30ish wednesday in Kates cottage pub.
If your knee is still not mended and your not able to take part, then you will have to be the dance commander.
Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.
Here are the words to I want to dance with you.
I wanna dance with you
Twirl you all around the floor
That's what they intended dancing for
I just wanna dance with you.
I wanna dance with you
Hold you in my arms once more
That's what they invented dancing for
I just wanna dance with you.
Totally naff but we were all belting it out after a few minutes.
If we are going to do naff and twee then it has to be Daniel.
Dunmore's most famous football fan was also dressed like a badly dressed farmer and dancing with a plant (roots, earth and all presumably borrowed from somewhere close to the game). We lost 3-2 but Mark Kinsella scored a cracker.
No Prob I will be there with my baton.
In Trap we trust
I like this one from the YBIG Fanzine:
"What’s that coming over the hill
Is it a monster? The Honey Monster"
Very short and simple but would be great if he scored so we could belt that out.![]()
Lads, i wish ye the best of luck with this but dont lose the run of yourselves. The truth is that it's nearly imossible to even get an 'Ireland ireland' chant going at Croker never mind some of the stuff thats being suggested here. keep it simple with songs and chants that everyone else know and there is some hope. Start small and the repertoire can grow for the next game. The songs themselves dont matter for the first game, the importsnt thing is to get the stadium rocking and everyone involved.
"Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy which sustained him through temporary periods of joy."
Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.
anyone know if singing section tickets can still be got for the georgia game. we're looking for 2 or are the 1600 sold out?
"A farting horse will never tire and a farting man's the man to hire!"
I think the general point is that we need some new material. Boys in Green, ole ole and stand up for the boys in green .. the songs need a bit of a rest. Some great suggestions on this thread and in the YBIG fanzine. It would be an achievement if we get a couple of new songs going for the rest of the campaign.
Was at an Ireland rugby game for the first time on sat, interesting comparison. The atmosphere was decent but nothing fantastic and certainly not close to some of the best football nights in LR and this is considering that sats game was deemed by the experts to be one of the best 6 nations games ever.
Irelands call is a little cringe at this stage and takes the good out of ANaF but has to be done i suppose. They really dont have any chants at all, not that we are much better. The one song they did sing near the end was the Fields of Athenry and it did song very good, easy song to sing everyone knows it etc.......no reason why it shouldnt work for football???
Word of advice for wed, jaysus it was freezing in croker and ive been at some really cold days in Dalymount, turners cross, LR, the rds etc but this was up there with the best. Good few people around me had small flasks of whiskey, wouldve been the business!!!
"Put em under Pressure"
(what was the original Horslips track that the riff was taken from?)
I've long felt that someone should make a mix extending the intro to Where the Streets Have No Name for the players' walk out theme. I'm not much od a U2 fan but this and Pride are very anthemic tracks that make me want to stand up and pogo like a teenager.
I like Tets' thinking re-Muse. Map of the Problematique is also a real adrenaline raiser.
If Boys in Green is ever dropped as one of our main fans' songs I'll be very disappointed. Ole Ole is naff but at least it's evocative of a bygone feelgood factor.
Nothing would make me happier than the whole ground singing Alive Alive-o as we're 3-0 up in the second half. To paraphrase Bono "this song was stolen by D4 rugger buggers, we're stealing it back"
Tickets for the Singing Section are stil available from the LFA offices on Parnell Square and ticketmaster
Make sure you specify that you want tickets for the Singing Section
And give it fookin loads on Wednesday
Sorry lads if this has been asked already but what are the exact blocks designated as the singing section in the Lower Canal?