haha ya ET brilliant.
'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch
Lads, any non block booker who ordered SS tickets, they are now ready for collection in the LFA offices, Parnell Square
Kingdom found this version here .. thought I would imbed it in a post.
I think it might sound better if "cos we support the irish, the irish, the irish" was "that's because we're Irish, we're Irish, we're Irish" .... we're irish so we don't have a choice in who we choose to support :-)
We love you, we love you, we love you,
and everywhere we'll follow, we'll follow, we'll follow
that's because we're Irish, we're Irish, we're Irish
and thats the way we like it, we like it, we like it.
I think it stands the 10 beer test ... four lines .. key words ... "love" .. "follow"... "we're irish" .. "we like it" ..
would be great to see the davin rocking to that
We can all post all we want but by the time the game comes around it will be up to the 6 lads with a drum and a bit of balls to get the rest of the herd going.
Great to see though some new material being at least discussed..always find it funny when we score in a big game ... the spontaneous OLE OLE OLE comes to the surface again .. the ultimate beer friendly song .. .can't forget that one word.
I would love to see the horslips "an dearg doom" being played when the teams come onto the pitch ... its more of a battle song .. bit more intimidating ... one road is great for during the match .. and would 10000% agree with jbyrne's plea for no music after a goal.... I'm still getting slagged by ex-colleagues from spain and italy who I brought to richmond park and witnessed the "who let the dogs out" song after a pats goal
We have to go with this..it's absolutely brilliant....There seemed to be about 30 Derry supporters there and the noise they were making...Class.I think it might sound better if "cos we support the irish, the irish, the irish" was "that's because we're Irish, we're Irish, we're Irish" .... we're irish so we don't have a choice in who we choose to support :-)
We love you, we love you, we love you,
and everywhere we'll follow, we'll follow, we'll follow
that's because we're Irish, we're Irish, we're Irish
and thats the way we like it, we like it, we like it.
As you said yourself....The guys with the Drums and balls will get everyone going...AND it simple to learn..so EVERYONE can join in....
It has all the elements of a classic terrace chant, might even fit on the back of a t-shirt for those behind to catch on to the lyrics. On another topic Cul and the Gang could be the name for the SS judging we are behind the goal in the canal end.
North,south,east and west
we love ireland d'ar the best
Your daddy works in porno
Now that mommy's not around
She used to love her heroin
But now she's underground
ye that derry chant is brilliant we ll have to do it
would anyone support 'hold me now' being sang?
absolutely. or failing that would like glen mederas -
"nothings gonna change my love for you,
you oughta know by now... how much i love you,
one thing you can be sure of,
i'll never ask for more than your love,
nothings gonna change my love....."
repeated ad nausim
he's not irish and the song has nothing to do with football and is 100% total cheese.... but it would be hilarious if the whole section took it on for five or six minutes constant!!!!
Last edited by galwayhoop; 06/02/2009 at 10:15 AM.
Could be something starting here with this craic, Babysis had her Joe Dolan tape playing on the bus in San Marino and a near riot nearly broke out at the front of the bus, it was nearly like it was the Sex Pistols being boomed out, if that was what the guy could do to a bus full of half steamed fella's, then its no wonder Women used to throw certain items of lets say clothing at him.
Another great Irish classic sung at football, was when Shels played us at Il Stadio Via Stazione the night of the Eurovision song contest, a mass rendition of ''My lovely Horse'' by the Devine Comedy and Father Ted broke out by a group of Shels fans which was joined in by everyone else in a europop love vibe.
I have often thought that maybe we should copy the Rugby team, after the national anthem we should do what they do, and play another tune, one that maybe does not sound too nationalistic and can unite all the people of this island, I think that ''My lovely Horse'' is that tune.
Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.
I think stuff like that is great. Total random stuff that everybody knows the words for and totally unite the fans. The Scots sing Do a dear for some reason and sounds great, not saying we should sing that but Bohs singing Hold me now was and is fantastic. Putting my Finatan O Toole hat on there is something very postmodern about it all![]()
In Trap we trust