My vote goes to "On the One Road" for after the Anthem

229 Posts
    maybe we could just go for soemthing like this half an hour before kickoff - certainly get everyone in to the mood and relatively cheap I reckon.............

http://tv3.ie/sport.php?request=&tv3...ew=&video=5147
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

i'd play U2's "where the streets have no name" as the teams walks out...

Yeah we could have a "whip around" to pay for it

Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post
    maybe we could just go for soemthing like this half an hour before kickoff - certainly get everyone in to the mood and relatively cheap I reckon.............

Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post

Fcuk that , spend the money on the underage teams, I can see spinning coloured lights and listen to Thin Lizzy jailbreak on full volume every saturday night after I come back from the pub

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mento View Post
    Lads, meeting with the FAI Thursday
    They want ideas on a tune to be played after the National Anthem and before kick off
    Plenty for the play list but this is the vital one

On The One Road seems a popular choice or a U2 number, or maybe Dropkick Murphys

So can yis post your own choice please
    surely it has to be something that the fans might join in with? assuming that my suggestions would be "on the one road" or "put em under pressure" (with the words put up on the big screen)

could you also suggest the following to them?
    - no music after a goal as it actually reduces atmosphere
    - if they insist on having the carlsberg band can they be restricted to chants, songs etc that the fans know? too often recently they just play some kind of samba beat that no one recognises or joins in with

thanks

Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    surely it has to be something that the fans might join in with? assuming that my suggestions would be "on the one road" or "put em under pressure" (with the words put up on the big screen)

could you also suggest the following to them?
    - no music after a goal as it actually reduces atmosphere
    - if they insist on having the carlsberg band can they be restricted to chants, songs etc that the fans know? too often recently they just play some kind of samba beat that no one recognises or joins in with

thanks
    agree with ya on this jbyrne, except the bold bit...we dont want this turning into karaoke

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by aidz1 View Post
    agree with ya on this jbyrne, except the bold bit...we dont want this turning into karaoke
    agree, but probably no choice though. realistically those who go on away trips will know on the one road but i doubt too many others will. would apply to most of the songs not sung regularly at our home matches

Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    agree, but probably no choice though. realistically those who go on away trips will know on the one road but i doubt too many others will. would apply to most of the songs not sung regularly at our home matches
    A supporter will find the song lyrics for himself. The singing section will be full of supporters.

Quote Originally Posted by aidz1 View Post
    I would have thought that's exactly what you want, otherwise how would everybody else in the ground know what was going on and/or know the words to the song. To get as many people singing as possible is the point after all.

For what its worth & as much as I hate the song why not go with the fields of Athenry with the team appearing as the chorus starts. Its one song that virtually everybody knows

On the One Road defo for me.
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

dropkick murphys or on the one road - because both are rocky and u2 are crap.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    dropkick murphys or on the one road - because both are rocky and u2 are crap.
    This from a man who likes bands like Rainbow.
    In Trap we trust

I like a few rainbow songs, im sure you like one or two of them as well neil. I never said i liked the band.

Check out "since you've been gone", great tune.

634 Posts

Derry city wooo oooooo oh song

Just seen the clip of the derry fans in the league cup final 08, and was well impressed. Thats the type of chant I'd be expecting in the section.

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=a9ImCgiTV6I
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

I like a few rainbow songs, im sure you like one or two of them as well neil. I never said i liked the band.

I know what they sing, and its rubbish **** rock in my view but sure each to their own.
    In Trap we trust

I bet Zippy was your favourite paul!

Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

i used to love zippy and george

I am sure you did love george.

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=Ps0XcxrWc7M
    In Trap we trust

192 Posts
    We could dedicate this tune to our friend from Cobh. ..... Stephen something??
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

Page 8 of 12 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast