Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Songs/Chants for the Singing Section

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    i think our own chants with our own air would be better rather than taking from english terrace chants.

Do ye think the FAI might print songs on a seat or something or lyrics for those who wouldn't know them all?
    Agreed, could the ybig lads persuade the FAI to post the lyrics of a few chosen songs on the big tv screens like National Anthem is????
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

47 Posts
    oh ya and watch it get faster and faster. Like the cruachan version
    The cruachan version is great as are cruachan!
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

green one that would be a good idea, but how do they know what we are singing our when we sing which?!

ya it is, so is ride on ronnie, didnt realise ye like them. I mentioned them before on here.

wont we need someone with a bit of guts to orchestrate things. i berlin they had a guy on the track with one of those speaker thingys,

One I feel could work is the one the Scots sing

We’ll be coming, we’ll be coming
    we’ll be coming Lansdowne Road
    When you hear the noise of the mighty Irish boys
    We’ll be coming Lansdowne Road

There will be pages decocated to the SS in YBIG which will be av available on all the seats in the SS against Georgia so keep the ideas coming

57 Posts
    Molly Malone was an old favourite of mine but clap your hands and chant Ireland instead of the chorus.

In Dublin's fair city where the girls are so pretty
    I first set my eyes on sweet Molly Malone
    As she wheeled her wheelbarrow
    through streets broad and narrow crying

clap clap clap
    Ireland
    clap clap clap
    Ireland

Back in th e70's and 80's the football fans used to sing as above and the rugby crowd sang the chorus. then the rugby crowd got all the tickets in the early 90's and it changed.

We really should bring that one back.

47 Posts
    green one that would be a good idea, but how do they know what we are singing our when we sing which?!

ya it is, so is ride on ronnie, didnt realise ye like them. I mentioned them before on here.
    First saw them in England at Bloodstock in Derby back in 03 and twice since in Dublin.

Quote Originally Posted by Mento View Post
    One I feel could work is the one the Scots sing

We’ll be coming, we’ll be coming
    we’ll be coming Lansdowne Road
    When you hear the noise of the mighty Irish boys
    We’ll be coming Lansdowne Road

There will be pages decocated to the SS in YBIG which will be av available on all the seats in the SS against Georgia so keep the ideas coming

Dont agree. Leave that one to the scots...we have enough irish songs to works with...
    If we are to take other songs in, then get good ones like this
    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=a9ImCgiTV6I

Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    Molly Malone was an old favourite of mine but clap your hands and chant Ireland instead of the chorus.

In Dublin's fair city where the girls are so pretty
    I first set my eyes on sweet Molly Malone
    As she wheeled her wheelbarrow
    through streets broad and narrow crying

clap clap clap
    Ireland
    clap clap clap
    Ireland

Back in th e70's and 80's the football fans used to sing as above and the rugby crowd sang the chorus. then the rugby crowd got all the tickets in the early 90's and it changed.

We really should bring that one back.
    Now we're talking ..in fairness i recall old molly sang the way it should up to '96ish.

think it deserves an airing

shipping out to boston by dropkick murphys MUST be the song when the players come out.

well on the one road will do i guess
    Last edited by irishultra; 22/01/2009 at 5:50 PM.

Also for a start i think whoever said keep it simple is best ,with a list of 4 tunes and get them going, next tme 6 etc. Probably better to focus less on player tunes as oppossed to actual songs for starting with(just a suggestion). Do ye think the FAI might print songs on a seat or something or lyrics for those who wouldn't know them all? Personally Id be grand with on the one road, fields, but only the chorus of Oro sé do bheatha abhaile.
    Are you thinking people in the entire stadium or just us in the singing section? I'm sure most of us in the singing section would be on the internet forums anyway so should know the words to the songs. I really can't see the rest of the stadium joining in with any new songs anyway so I just say the more songs we have the better.

I can't remember who it was that put the Robbie Keane song together but I absolutely love it. It would be some craic hearing thousands sing that one. All the words fit perfectly with that tune. It's more of a pre-match tune though so would be good to sing that while the players are warming up. Not gonna happen though.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 22/01/2009 at 5:52 PM.

I like the idea of 'bounce, for the boys in green'

looks really ****ing intimidating when you see stands of people bouncing up and down, way more so than if they are all just standing there

now, lets hope they didn't get the micks to build the stadium, or the whole thing will come crumbling done if we have 70,000 bouncing up and down
    Superdave to the resc....

Can you wait til I finish my pint? Or else...

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    I can't remember who it was that put the Robbie Keane song together but I absolutely love it.

what were the words to the old robbie keane song to the tune of 'let it be'. I only remember the line...

he scored against the germans, robbie keane, robbie keane

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SuperDave View Post
    I like the idea of 'bounce, for the boys in green'

looks really ****ing intimidating when you see stands of people bouncing up and down, way more so than if they are all just standing there

now, lets hope they didn't get the micks to build the stadium, or the whole thing will come crumbling done if we have 70,000 bouncing up and down
    Yeshe Montenegrans were class when they did it. Italian fans do it well too.

Instead of "stand up for the boys in green"

"Bounce bounce for the boys in green"

It would be great if it worked and im sure everyone would know the words of that one.

539 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kingdomkerry View Post
    Instead of "stand up for the boys in green"

"Bounce bounce for the boys in green"

It would be great if it worked and im sure everyone would know the words of that one.
    would work with our away fans with a few scoops in them but not the home fans i'm afraid

Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    would work with our away fans with a few scoops in them but not the home fans i'm afraid
    if you got the singing section going, it might work, if everyone arounf them started to join in. possibly. hopefully.
    Superdave to the resc....

Can you wait til I finish my pint? Or else...

Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    Don't worry about the rest of the stadium for the first game. If they don't want to join in so be it. I'm just focussing on creating an atmosphere amongst our 2,000 or so and showing the rest up.

FORMERLY: Youwerethereray Traps Cat's Avatar
    To the Tune of Joy Division's "Love will tear us apart"

"Duff , Duff will tear you apart , again"

Repeat x 90 minutes!!
    "The cat is in it, but it's open - and it's a wild cat"

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    I can't remember who it was that put the Robbie Keane song together but I absolutely love it. It would be some craic hearing thousands sing that one. All the words fit perfectly with that tune. It's more of a pre-match tune though so would be good to sing that while the players are warming up. Not gonna happen though.
    Villa fans and Dwight Yorke..........
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Youwerethereray View Post
    To the Tune of Joy Division's "Love will tear us apart"

"Duff , Duff will tear you apart , again"

Repeat x 90 minutes!!

.Kirbs, Kirbs will tear you apart, again. Alan Kirby goes past one man ALAN Kirby GOES PAST TWO...

gah excuse my ramblings , thinking of fonder times gone by for the town.

Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast