Thread: Oinking Zimbru

Oinking Zimbru

So, yeah, after starting a new CM career with U.C.D. yesterday (and promptly winning the league) I brought us in the the first phase of the CL against the Moldovan Midgets Zimbru.

We lost 0-2 in the first leg at their gaff following shocking performances from Pat Jennnings (who was promptly sold on to Valladolid, god knows why they wanted him), Tony Mac and Harry Donnelly (some bum who I got on a free). Back to "the home of football" for the second leg and after getting one back through Stephen Lynch (what on earth ever happened to him?) we went down to two more goals with the newly resigned Bazza having a nightmare. In to the second half and we manage to get one back through Portuguese not-so-wonderkid (though he scores a pantful of goals) Ricardo Silva. Ten minutes to go and the situation looks hopeless so I decide it's time for a tactical switch and wheel out my trusty "2-0-0-3-5" tactic and employ the long ball. It's knocked and and evil-full-back-come-centre forward Daz Ryan heads home, almost directly from the kick-off Mark Leech got another one and in a dramatic finish we...............went out on away goals.

Bragh.
    And stay out of Bumtown, ya no talent bum.

Now us and Bray are involved in a battle for the title (they hammered us at Belfield 4-1 after Daz Ryan, Bazza and Robbie Griffin got sent off)...Bloody Eddie Barr.

What is this...bizarro world?

I presume this is CM4 - I have so far refrained from investing (if 'investing' is the right word) in it, as I've heard its pretty bug ridden and needs lots of patches..... am I wrong?

'Tis CM 01/02.

I gave up on CM4 a long, long time ago - it's terrible, feels about 50% complete.

20 Posts
    CM 01/02? Where did you get Mark Leech from?
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

Originally posted by Aberdonian Stu
    CM 01/02? Where did you get Mark Leech from?
    I stuck him in with the editor, same with Rooney, Gallagher etc.

20 Posts
    Ah it's all becoming clear to me now...I'm only one league title away from breaking Rovers record of 15 but Schumi's already won his 16th.

There is actually a Marc Leach in the game! He's with Wycome at the start I think.

Originally posted by Schumi
    There is actually a Marc Leach in the game! He's with Wycome at the start I think.
    Yeah, I saw him. Looks a bit pants though.

After winning the title from Pat's on the last day of the season (following our first ever win at The Tallaght Stadium) we were all off for another European tour, apparently.

After easily relieving Macedonian side Vardar of their CL status for the next year 7-2 on aggregate we got the worst possible draw in the shape of the bloody (relatively) brilliant FC Kobenhavn. FCK complete with fancy Brazilians and the disgracefully over-rated Sibusiso Zuma tore us a new one at Belfield and ran out 3-0 victors. In the return leg we managed at 1-1 draw.

Still, things are bucking up - we signed the talented-ish John Convery from Cellik on a bozzer, the fake Tó Madeira for a mere £28k and a Scottish DMC by the name of Scally (wag) who averages about 13 successful tackles per game for £475k (and another £200k after ten international apps, but he probably won't get them).

We brought in some real class in the shape of Warren "Pelé" Barton but he buggered off before the season even started.

Luckily, Andy Myler was snapped up on a free! If he doesn't bring us the Group Stages in Europe then I'll be forced to go for Ken Kilmurray...

It seems to me that CM 01/02 is a lot easier than CM4. Im finding it hard to keep UCD up any time I play whereas you lads are swanning around the Champions League and buying in players. I cant afford to buy any players only frees after spending € 45,000 on Andy Myler.

Just shows which game is more realistic.

Originally posted by lefty
    It seems to me that CM 01/02 is a lot easier than CM4. Im finding it hard to keep UCD up any time I play whereas you lads are swanning around the Champions League and buying in players. I cant afford to buy any players only frees after spending € 45,000 on Andy Myler.

I won every available trophy within seven years on CM4...

I only struggled in my first season.

812 Posts
    Originally posted by lefty

That's sounds like a pretty average CMer playing with UCD in CM01/02. Winning Champions Leagues takes skill, a huge committment, but no life.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Originally posted by John83
    That's sounds like a pretty average CMer playing with UCD in CM01/02. Winning Champions Leagues takes skill
    Check.

committment
    Check.

...no life.
    ...And check.

or should that be ?

Originally posted by John83
    Winning Champions Leagues takes skill, a huge committment, but no life.
    I only got to the final so it must be just two out of three for me!

Originally posted by Schumi
    I only got to the final so it must be just two out of three for me!
    I can teach you some skills, if you like.

20 Posts
    Ah so you shall teach him the old ways

Talking Fréderic Kanoute in playing for U.C.D. shocker!!

I can go one better, I had David Treseguet playing for me!

20 Posts
    Not at age 26

3,491 Posts
    Yayyy!!! Found my disc again!

Am now manager of Nigeria for the craic - have broken a great Nigerian tradition by not randomly dropping players I don't like! (When I took over, Babayaro, Udeze, Kanu and Oliseh were just some of the players not in the senior squad!) Managed to win the league by 11 points despite not training for the first 12 or so games, but now Bazza is leaving in December and, though I've signed 10-times capped Irish international Dan Connor, we're still shipping two goals a game! Jayo and Al Mahon upped and retired, while Simon Webb left on a Bosman but resigned after no-one wanted him!