Thread: yesterday ........

Post yesterday ........

I was at the game yesterday and heard after half time that there had been some trouble in the bar at half time when two Cork heads came in and started singing "Milltown is a car park" in the middle of a bunch of Rovers fans. Not surprisingly a fracas ensued! I heard that the Gaurds arrested the two of them.

I been following Rovers home and away for over 10 years and have never been involved in any trouble. I know that there are a few nutters following Rovers who do go looking to get involved in / start trouble, but I know that the majority of fans only go to the games for the same reason as everyone else, cheer the team, have a few pints etc. If Rovers can identify the people causing trouble outside afterwards, then great, bar them, I've no problem with that.

I also know that there are nutters who come out of the woodwork every time we play in Turners Cross looking to "take on those Dublin *******s" etc. I've seen this myself several times at the Cross over the years and I am sure that the two in the pub yesterday were just this. How come there is only trouble between Rovers and Cork down in Turners Cross and never in Dublin!

Why aren't fans searched properly and stopped from bringing drink into games?
    Why are people allowed out of the ground to get more drink into them at half time?
    Why aren't fans away fans kept inside the ground while home fans cleared out of the ground and away from outside?

Sorting these things out would go a long way towards nipping all this in the bud.

koh

Kempes
    www.srfcultras.net

Re: yesterday ........

Originally posted by kempes
    Cork heads came in and started singing "Milltown is a car park" in the middle of a bunch of Rovers fans. Not surprisingly a fracas ensued!
    "Not surprisingly a fracas ensued! "
    What a load of ****** and typical of that arrogant West Brit attitude. Ye're trying to copy the Brits by being hooligans, but don't try and condone it on here.

Don't start blaming people who have a pint at half time for the trouble. Most civilised people can have a pint without stating a fight. Most civilised people don't react to a simple wind-up chant by flinging ashtrays.

Ye are a disgrace.

what about the rovers knackers that were burning a city scarf walking down towards frankie sulls. they were on the other side of the road to us and we ignored them. then the flame seem to really light up and the scarf was 3/4 on fire when they ran across the road and threw it at my face. now i was reading the program or something like that at only at the last second did i see the ball of fire coming towards me and i ducked out of the way

ROVERS SCUM?
    explain that kempes?
    life is random

Originally posted by James

explain that kempes
    kempes the Ultra!!!

(does he even know what Ultras are about - unless I'm mistaken it's the continental term used for hooligans/extremists)

Exclamation Now hold on a minute...........

Now hold on a minute! Yes the likes of burning scarves, looking to cause trouble are unacceptable and these people should be identified and barred / charged. Yes there are some thugs following Rovers. I was not trying to defend that crap!

But If I walked into the middle of the shed at half time and started signing something like "you're only sheep shagin' bartards" I don't think it would be seen a bit of friendly banter, I sure there'd be a que of spacers looking to attack / clatter me.

I admit that there are thugs following Rovers yet ye are too blind to admit that there are nutters that come out to cause trouble against us and that the stewarding arrangements are lacking in areas.

My original mail asked how come there is only trouble between Rovers and Cork down in Turners Cross and never in Dublin! No-one has yet to answer that!
    www.srfcultras.net

Exclamation SRFCULtras

>does he even know what Ultras are about - unless I'm mistaken it's the continental term used for hooligans/extremists

yes you are mistaken in a way

in some cases Ultras / Tifos are nutters who cause trouble, but in other cases its about doing as much as you can to get behind the team, create a colourfull atmosphere which is why we set up the SRFCUltras.

Read the frontpage of our website!

www.srfcultras.net

koh

Kempes
    www.srfcultras.net

Re: Now hold on a minute...........

My original mail asked how come there is only trouble between Rovers and Cork down in Turners Cross and never in Dublin! No-one has yet to answer that!
    What's your point?

Probably because City fans aren't out to cause trouble. Possibly because (as was pointed out earlier) Rovers scum who are barred from home games go to away games. Possibly because City fans don't have illusions of trying to be like the English.

I don't really know kampes?

Kempes

I was at the bar ordering a pint for me, my mate and his eight year old brother, there was a bit of banter, by this i mean a joke and a laugh, and then it turned sour after the "Milltown is a carpark", i met the guy who sang it next door (the other bar) about ten minutes laster and he said he never expected that, that he was in shock and said he would have said it if he know it would have turned out like that. It was a joke and a laugh with a few people who like to give it but cant take it, then decided to give their own, there stoll got thrown and there was a girl circa 9-10 right behind that guy in hysterics, scared out of her wits, it is a Sunday afternoon for people who were not at the game and should be able to game to the pub in their own locality, with out the hooligans going mental, there was also a beer splashed at a street seller just outside the main gate, Kempes .... your a fairly clued in bloke, we can see that from your posts and your informed opinion, but dont defend any of these guys actions, it was totally out of order, the Gardas could also have done more as soon as the came on the scene. Bohz in Dundalk should have changed all our opinions to the point of zero tolerence. 14 that young lad was, 14 .... think about it.

The guy in the bar

said "he wouldn't have said it if he know it would have turned out like that" i mean to say

You know what i mean !!

Firstly as far as I know there's roughly about 5 people currently barred from the home games (this could be a bit higher I am not 100% sure). Yes, some of these do travel to away games.

But there is nothing to stop these people turning up outside the Hoops home games and looking to attack ye lot or whoever coming out.

My point is that one of the reasons (alongside some thugs who follow Rovers, people ****ed at games from heavy drinking down on the train, bad stewarding arangements etc) is that there has been trouble at Cork Rovers down in Cork is that there are some Cork heads who come out of the woodwork looking for trouble when we arrive.

No-one seems prepared to admit or deny or even consider this.

koh

Kempes
    www.srfcultras.net

to reply to a face in the crowd

fair enough, yer man didn't mean to start any trouble and some drunk Rovers fans over re-acted. I know that Milltown is a touchy subject for some Hoops, especaily when ****ed and it looks like that got the wrong end of the stick.

But I have honestly seen other cases over the years where nutters came over to us deliberately looking to cause trouble at the games / outside.

And just to clear all this up, I condemn all trouble at matches, but I think that alot of this could be nipped in the bud by better stewarding etc.. which was what my original post was all about.

this is my last reply all this, too busy in work ......

see you all in 11 games time ;-)

koh

Kempes
    www.srfcultras.net

there are some Cork heads who come out of the woodwork looking for trouble when we arrive.
    No-one seems prepared to admit or deny or even consider this.
    I think you are wrong there. Fair enough a lot of people only come out for the Rovers games (and big cup games), but mostly these are older guys who remember the tradition of these games.

There is only ever trouble at Turners Cross when Rovers or Bohs are in town. It's a disgrace ye are trying to bring hooliganism in to Ireland, leave it with ye're brothers across the water.

do you Kempes not agree that is was a bit OTT for rovers scumbags to start throwing glasses at city fans and upturning tables etc over 3 cork fans singing miltown in a carpark in a cork city pub.

surely be to jesus thats fcuking OTT surely

I mean we were getting much worse from the pats fans when we were up in richmond a couple of weeks ago but suprisingly enough for you scum if you ignore it generally goes away, except for rovers scum where if you ignore them they still throw flamingtscarves in your face.

I mean isnt Miltown a fcuking carpark anyway so its not like they are lying.
    BTW we get **** everywhere we go about Bishopstown so what the difference

ROVERS ARE SCUM
    life is random

Originally posted by James
    ROVERS ARE SCUM
    Not all, but most...

It's in their Jackeen blood.

The last time I was in that bar (League Cup Final, I think), my mates and I also got the `Milltown is a car park' chants. The blokes doing the chanting didn't look too bright and even less friendly (no hair, green bombers, grumpy faces, 20-yard stares - very early 1980s), but we responded with: `Milltown is an upmarket residential area' or something like that, and it confused them no end. Which was nice.

Originally posted by John Byrne
    but we responded with: `Milltown is an upmarket residential area' or something like that, and it confused them no end. Which was nice.
    Which is the best way to do it. Can you explain to your less intelligent friends how to behave like this? Kempes has been condoning the alternative response of throwing ashtrays.

ALL =

what part of "I condemn all trouble at matches" don't you understand?

note that ALL INCLUDES throwing punches, throwing ashtrays, etc..

b.t.w.

still waiting for someone to admit OR deny OR even consider that there's Cork "fans" who come out of the woodwork looking for trouble whenever we are in town!

koh

Kempes
    www.srfcultras.net

AFAIK and and far as isaw there wasnt any, or course i may have missed something
    the problem here was a rediculous over-reaction from rovers scum who had had too much too drink

the lads and i know who they are, were not intent on causing anything more then a bit of a slagging, which is part or should be part of the fun of going to games, between the 2 sets of fans.

so far in cork we have had no trouble with shels,dundalk or bohs fans. we all got on ok in the hshoe and both seemed ok with slagging each other off.

At our away matches; in longford we had great craic and there was no trouble at all, boith fans mixed freely and went for pints after.
    in bray there was no trouble
    as was the case in richmond, despite some prvocation from a few 12 year olds, but on the whole both fans got on ok, except for poor rebel who had his bike nicked while we were in McDowells
    after the game
    in galway there was no trouble also

except for you scum, we havent seen any problems all season

message to rovers fans, dont drink it you cant handle it
    dont go to away games if you cant take a slagging
    And miltown is a fcuking carpark so deal with it

grow up Junkie scum

>grow up Junkie scum

James. tut tut very mature way to sign off a post

Yes Milltown is now a housing estate but at least its not a swamp or a even worse .......... a GAA pitch like Flower (ahemmm cough) Lodge.

;-)

keep on hoopin'

Kempes
    www.srfcultras.net

at least its not a swamp or a even worse .......... a GAA pitch like Flower (ahemmm cough) Lodge.
    ok thats it [COLOR=red]james throws glass at Kempes and upturns all the tables in the office[/COLOR]

now come on admit at least it was a rediculous over reaction

did u honestly think they were looking for a fight by slagging ye with that

hell if i was looking to fight one of ye (and i never would of course as I'm categorically against that sort of thing), then i could surely come up with some more insulting or derogatory retort then the "miltown is a carpark" one!

I think some rovers fans were looking for any little excuse to start something