Thread: Transfers

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hoop4life View Post
    is there any players that played for your u20 and a league side being promoted to the first team this season?
    I would say quite a few.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

122 Posts

Question Alfredo Neto

Is this lad still at United. I remember there being a profile on him in the local papers. Young Brazillian striker if I remember right. Was he with United last season?

Is Shane Treacy still at Galway United? Ive heard rumours he is on his way to Limerick.
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

Shane got injured when on loan with ye last season and he still hasnt recovered yet. His contract expired at the end of last season, so hes free to go wherever as I dont think united will be interested.

Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    Shane got injured when on loan with ye last season and he still hasnt recovered yet.
    Oh ya, I forgot. Sorry about that

Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    His contract expired at the end of last season, so hes free to go wherever as I dont think united will be interested.
    I never knew that. Cheers. Ive heard he is signing with us anyway. I thought he was still under contract though.
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

he would be a great signing for limerick lets hope the injury clears up soon and he gets back playing,,,not at left full though

John Russell signed a one year deal for us today. It was on Galway Bay a while ago.

75 Posts
    Great news which will be a huge boost to Fozzy.On the downside weve lost John Lester tp pats a huge loss as he was central to our survival last year and never gave less than 100% in the Maroon.

John will always be welcome in Terryland not like his boss.
    Last edited by gufct; 22/01/2009 at 6:28 PM.

147 Posts
    Well, Galway Bay did best to have both of them signed - they said "Moycullen native John Lester"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

your not fecking serious - a moycullen native!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!111111
    more water!

122 Posts

John Lester

Fair play to John Lester for 2 years of great committment to GUFC. Never pulled out of a tackle and came up with an odd cracker every now and then. This guy does not deserved to be booed next season

Good luck to Lester he rose above a bit of critisism to do well for us last year. Cant be ignored though that, for whatever reasons, he was fairly brutal in his first season and also for the first part of last season.

Thanks, Ceirtlis.

A lot of revsionism here and the other forum about pre-autumn 2008 performances by some of the squad.

75 Posts
    What Revisionism Pa John Lester was runner up to DO'B for Player of the year in 2007 and was central in our remarkable run in last season. Just because he is an outsider or dare I say "A Dub" should he be judged more harshly than our own.

lester was good sometimes and sh!te other times - he deserves credit for the end of last season - but he also had his falling out with the fans - which he should have dealt with much better

he was well over weight at times - in some matches he was walked by - how many of his honest tackles were about 2 seconds too late - or got him sent off

he has great heart and some ability - but its very irregular - bar the end of last season
    more water!

Super news regarding John Russell. Pity about John Lester - Gave great service to Utd. Sad to see hime go

Lester was terribly underrated, he was a great passer, did a great job of protecting the centre backs (God knows we needed that job to be done!) and he was cagey enough to deal with players who had more pace than him (quite of lot of players actually) I was a big fan of "Batman" and I wish him all the best....

The incident in Sligo was a disgrace, alot of GUFC fans went a bit nuts that night and Lester and Leech can't be blamed for reacting... Billy went nuts at us afterwards and I don't blame him either....
    innit though??

Is this a "transfer thread" or a "John Lester services" thread?

I dont think lester missed a header towards the end of last season. he was immense and in john russel we have the new fabregas!

lesters performances in his first season were some of the worst i've ever seen at any level and one game sticks out more than any other. the first away game in waterford that year. that was the single worst performance i have ever seen by any footballer at any level. absolutely shocking. couldn't tackle, couldn't pass and honestly barely bothered his arse moving. don't want to seem like i'm knocking him completely because he really improved towards the end of his time here and was one of the key players in our survival mission last season. his fitness greatly improved and so did his performances but until mid summer 2008 i don't think he would ever have been in my first 11 galway united team barring injuries
    Homer: I'm gonna make sure these deliveries are made on time.
    Bart: Let me come with you
    Homer: Dont you have school!
    Bart: Dont you have work!
    Homer: Ah Touche!