midfield was changed drastically friday night and we actaully got a home win
our midfield this season has been ver weak at times and needs improving if we r to challenge for honours in the future
Well with just 2 games left I think everyone with any knowledge of the game knows that our midfield has to change dramatically for next season.
Looking at the way Dan goes on those surging runs and his obvious skill on the ball plus the fact that nothing seems to phase him when under pressure I think he would be a good addition in midfield in the "Osam" mould. He is good at holding up the ball and it would allow him get up for more goal opportunities also.
I would put Beanno back in the center of defence where he did really well earlier in the year.
What do people think?
Might be worth trying in the last game if we had already qualified at that stage.
Irish by birth,
Cork by the grace of God.
midfield was changed drastically friday night and we actaully got a home win
our midfield this season has been ver weak at times and needs improving if we r to challenge for honours in the future
u wouldnt have said that after his performance tues nite he was pathetic and didnt looked interested but in fairness steadied himself fri nite
I think Dan is a fantastic centre back but i disagree with you counting crow,I think he should stay where he is.I would bring Benno back into the defence with him though and drop Derek.I'm sorry to say it but Derek has been really poor since comin back,he seems to be going through the paces in a lot of games and seems to be a shadow of the great player he was pre leavin for the pale a few years back.
You are right though our midfield needs a vast improvement but i dont think weakining our defence to do it is the answer.Nwanko has looked a fine player since hes come in.Colin has been our best midfield man by far this year imo, and Doyler seems to be doing a good job on the right when hes been put there.The only problem we still have and always seem to have since ollie went is the left.How many left sided players have we tried there in the last couple of years,Billy looked the business there last season but is now a left back,weve tried Warren,Casey,Doyler,George and god nows how many others there and now little Kearney who seems a little too lightweight,stick with someone Dolan or get Ollie back,all is forgiven.
if given the chance which loi players would ye go for?
Kevin Hunt of Bohs...........no question but he is the best in the League at the moment.
Or we could get Osam so ye girls could admire his "beautiful knees"...............1![]()
Irish by birth,
Cork by the grace of God.
Bring back Tony Tynan we need a winger who can get past people,plus i know the fella he was treated unfairly by Gunther who said he was a 'Jack the lad'.He now only goes out drinking 4 times a week and hes cut out the vodkas and red bullsseriously though a fine player
He is good with Cobh ..... Wouldn't fit in with City now though.Originally posted by DolansWaistcoat
Bring back Tony Tynan we need a winger who can get past people,plus i know the fella he was treated unfairly by Gunther who said he was a 'Jack the lad'.He now only goes out drinking 4 times a week and hes cut out the vodkas and red bullsseriously though a fine player
Surely it would worth stickin him in on the left wing,we've tried so many players there the last couple of seasons and none have looked great.Tynan did look the business a few years back before he shipped out and hes only 22,Pat Dolan might be able to get the best out of him again.
who have rovers got in midfield, or enev Pats'
anyone there worth stealing.
oh by the way, King Rat we dont want'cha!
where are ya now, punk?????eh!!
why the hell would you bring Tynan in when Kearney is a far better player, the lad has two off days and everyone forgets the promise he showed up to that. Kearney is the lad for our left wing, no question about it.
I have to agree Kearney is the best prospect we have in that position. Tynan went as far as he could. There are countless players who impress at underage but never develop into quality senior players. Liam Murphy spotted that early on and soon other interested Premier Division clubs saw it too.
I wish the lad all the best but unless he's improved dramatically he's not up to the job at Cork City FC.
Doyler Greg Nwankwo Kearney
We need someone like hunt in there if we're gonna sign anyone- no point unless they better than what we have
Last edited by Éanna; 18/11/2003 at 4:37 PM.
I really hope Kearney can do a job for us but he looks very very lightweight and is just brushed aside like hes not there most of the time.
so what if he is lightweight he has to learn to use that to his advantage someone mentioned bout duff knowing how to fall i noticed that last nite at d match. kearney is tricky and if he gets touched he should b going down winning us free kicks. my midfield for next season would b doyler cawley nwanko kearney. i no its a young midfield but their is a lot of quality their and i think this midfield would play some lovely football
George O Callaghan=Legend
still not convinced about Kearney though.Hes much too small hope he can change my mind when we see more of him next year.
I foresee a fairly decent striker from the el signing for ye in the off season, thus enabling Georgie to play as an attacking midfielder, along with Kearney, Doyle and the little african lad....watch this space...![]()
that would be good, but would that tactic work or is it only one for fans of Championship Manager??Originally posted by joeSoap
I foresee a fairly decent striker from the el signing for ye in the off season, thus enabling Georgie to play as an attacking midfielder,
Kearney is good, and will improve-its that simple. He just needs to adapt and this tournament in the UAE will help him to do that.
Lads I can see a big change in the Cork City team next season so as Joesoap said watch this space.
Let's get it going for this year the away support.
hopefully ianOriginally posted by ian
Lads I can see a big change in the Cork City team next season so as Joesoap said watch this space.
midfield has been ran over by a few mediocore/bad teams this season