Thread: Limerick 5 Galway United 0

Limerick 5 Galway United 0

after 85 minutes on aertel, if it stays like this it will definetly be the result of the season, especially after Kildare's draw with Cobh last night.

with you playing Dundalk and County playing Monaghan next week, it looks like it will come down to the last day of the season, where a draw will be enough for yourselves.

Congrats on making the most of this season, especially with the huge problems the club have had. Huge credit is due to Mike Kerley and the coaching staff, as well as the players in rescuing what could have been a disastrous season.

You only need look at Monaghan and Kilkenny to see that. Both sides have been in the Premier Division in recent years. Sligos victory puts us in pole position to win the league, but Bray still control their own destiny. here's hoping that Cobh produce the same present for us as they gave you yesterday, and share the spoils. Victory over Athlone on the same evening, would guarantee us the league.

WOO HOO!!!!!!!

What a game! Not even the crap ketboards without delete buttons in Eurosurf can bring me down!!!!

Galway were absolutely wretched - Kilkenny had more spirit in them than this lot. Once they realised they were outclassed and didn't have a hope of recovering anything they tried to cripple some of our players.

Roll on Dundalk!!!!!!

Foot.ie!

its unbelievable 5-0 . this is crazy . derek mc carty what a striker.

Its hard to see Kildare mounting a serious challenge for fourth place, not on current form anyway, Keely really didn't help their cause, but I suppose none of ye really care about that.

you are all just delighted to have managed to pull it back.

I hope you go all the way to promotion, it would be great to get some more regional sides back into the premier division.

Smile Limerick 5 Galway United 0

Fantastic result! Derek McCarthy - what a player! His committment is absolute - the look on his face as he chased down very ball said it all. Colm Heffernan's skills on the ball were a joy to watch. And not a bad crowd either (compared to the last game I was at a few weeks ago against Bray). I thought the ref was a bit over the top - Galway must have created a record for yellow and red cards in a single game today. It wasn't a dirty game. Roll on Dundalk and Kildare. By the way, what's the story with the playoffs ? I was told today that the only automatic promotion is for first , that second and third play off against each other and 4th plays 3rd last in the premier division. Is that true?

4th in first plays 2nd from bottom in prem

hope u get promoted

isnt today lim fc's big meetin, good luck
    Followin Our Own Teams In Eire

theres no cure for the League of Ireland bug. spread it :)

57 Posts
    2 draws will do now - important not to lose in Dundalk as Kildare will probably beat Monaghan - would be nice to only need a point on the final day but we are the form team now.

Its a very interesting scenario in the first division, with almost identical situations occuring for top spot, and fourth spot, and with the top two sides, and the fourth and fifth placed sides playing each other on the final day, it should be a great chance for the eircom league first division to really put itself on the map.

Being a Viking supporter, and knowing that its really limerick fans visiting this, i think we would both like to avoid that scenario, and finish off our competitors next weekend, but we are both in the scenario, where if we avoid defeat next weekend, draws will be enough to see us through on the final day of the season.

but victory next weekend and defeat on the final day of the season, could possibly see us miss out on our dreams.

Superb win yesterday. It was great to see Limerick stay at it full steam ahead well into the second half compared to a couple of weeks ago with Athlone when they sat back a little.
    I was just wondering why the first Galway guy got sent off, just after the Limerick penalty. It was a straight red, wasn't it?

Great result and the perfect way lay down the standard required for the games ahead. It was great to watch, and as usual the supporters behind the dugouts provided great entertainment aswell - Alan Murphy got an awful doing as did the captain when he got his marching orders!

There was a great crowd too and i'd say there'll be alot more for the Kildare game. It was great to see the players being clapped off near the dressing rooms at the end. I brought the father along, he's definately going to the Kildare game and i'll have 3 or 4 other recruitments aswell!

I thought Shane O'Donoghue did a great job in O'Flynns absence and shared man of the match with McCarthy in my view.

Foot.ie!

i hate to say it but i think were due a bad game. more than likely against kildare in front of a huge crowd at the pike and everyone slates limerick again as usual just as we gain our credibility back............................

Originally posted by balls
    i hate to say it but i think were due a bad game. more than likely against kildare in front of a huge crowd at the pike and everyone slates limerick again as usual just as we gain our credibility back............................
    Jaysus, it's hard to beat football supporters for pessimism.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Missed the game which serves me right as I've missed far too many this season. Here's hoping for good numbers at the kildare match now.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

well done blues, premier divison football next season.

Dundalk put to the sword last night. If Monaghan can do us a favour later on this weekend it's all over.

"whoa-oh what a feelin ...when we're dancin' on the ceilin"
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Lionel :

HELLO heard the match was EASY last night. STILL the lads kept going ALL NIGHT LONG. They really deserve our ENDLESS LOVE they way they SAIL ON.

Limerick FC I'm STUCK ON YOU

GOODBYE

JohnD