Page 5 of 10 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Squad for Georgia named

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    A major catastrophe such as..... Dunne and McShanes performance this weekend?? They're off form. Trapp clearly reckons Bruce is the next best in line. I can't cite lazyness this time as he's seen St Ledger in the flesh. So I'll have to sit and wait. I think we should be doing all we can to best insulate ourselves from any changes, catastrophe or otherwise.

Trapp's old school and his problem is that he's never had to contend with fans with such an in depth knowledge of fringe player availibilty. And I'm not talking about Irish fans specifically. I'm talking about the internet and dedicated sports channels facilitating an International fans' awareness of players that managers wouldn't have had to contend with in the past. Imagine Charlton getting this kind of lackery for selecting Morris over Irwin 20 years ago. He'd dig his heels in on principal. (Maybe he did I can't recall, just searchig for an example)
    He commented on how football is played in the Championship and how this differs from international football. He also commented on the importance of consistency and not choping and changing team selections to suit the current mood. He also commented that he gets different suggestions for squad selections thrown at him at a regular basis (Willo Flood's name was used as an example) but the importance of balance, consistency and structure remain the overriding factors for team success based on his experience.

Trapattoni knows what he is doing.

IMO Andy Reid Lee Carsley and St. Ledger should be in the squad ahead of Liam Miller Darron Gibson and Alex Bruce.

Stephen Ireland is a seperate issue and it is not Traps fault that Ireland is not back in the sqaud. However if we beat Georgia and Bulgaria at home which we should do, I will be a happy man getting on the flight to Bologna and Bari.
    In Trap we trust

This is the first squad were Darron Gibson's inclusion is justified in my opinion as he has been very good for Man Utd over the Xmas period.

There are a number of things that baffle me about that squad:

• No Andy Reid!
    • No Sean St Ledger!
    • The selection of Caleb Folan!
    • The selection of Alex Bruce.......again!
    • The selection of at least 6 players if not more who warm the bench every week in both the Premiership and the Championship!
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

214 Posts
    The policy of selecting Liam Miller for every Ireland game is starting to get on my nerves now. He has had enough chances to prove his worth and has failed every single time. Andy Reid with a blindfold on is still a better option.

St Ledger's omission is a puzzling one.

The Trap's starting 11 for Georgia (assuming everybody stays injury free)

Given

Finnan (if fit) - Dunne - O'Shea - Kilbane

McGeady - Whelan - Gibson - Duff

Doyle - Keane

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rambler14 View Post
    This is the first squad were Darron Gibson's inclusion is justified in my opinion as he has been very good for Man Utd over the Xmas period.
    What? he came on as a sub against Southampton in the Cup with the match already won and played against Derby in the Worthless Cup. Hardly what I would consider a telling contribution over the xmas period!!

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibs4Ever View Post
    Why wouldn't they be? They've lost to these players already, and now the game is in Dublin
    Only Whelan out of that list played in Mainz. I presume he'll be the only one this time too though and possibly McShane depending on the fitness of Finnan.

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    The policy of selecting Liam Miller for every Ireland game is starting to get on my nerves now. He has had enough chances to prove his worth and has failed every single time. Andy Reid with a blindfold on is still a better option.

Given

Doyle - Keane
    looks bout right, should have enough to beat georgia at home.

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    He commented on how football is played in the Championship and how this differs from international football. He also commented on the importance of consistency and not choping and changing team selections to suit the current mood. He also commented that he gets different suggestions for squad selections thrown at him at a regular basis (Willo Flood's name was used as an example) but the importance of balance, consistency and structure remain the overriding factors for team success based on his experience.

Trapattoni knows what he is doing.
    I've no doubt he knows his football. But balance consistency and structure can be counter productive in all walks of life. It should be "A" factor not "THE" factor.

Putting aside opinions on the merits of players such as Andy Reid. I've said it before. In my opinion Trapp is not exhausting enough avenues to ensure we have the best plan B available to us.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

20 Posts
    Another dull squad from Trap. Yes, he's a great manager, yes we are 2nd in the table & sitting pretty. I wouldn't take that away from him for a second. But forgive me if I don't get giddy with excitement at seeing that midfield in action.

36 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibs4Ever View Post
    Why wouldn't they be? They've lost to these players already, and now the game is in Dublin

Their country was invaded at the time of the game ,they had a new management team at the time, they were forced to play in Germany.

We scrapped a lucky Whelan freak of a goal and really could have drawn that match easily.

Our home support is pathetic ..i was modified at how bad its got the last 3 times in have been up at matches...

Expect a draw im warning ye!

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bwagner View Post
    Their country was invaded at the time of the game ,they had a new management team at the time, they were forced to play in Germany.

We scrapped a lucky Whelan freak of a goal and really could have drawn that match easily.

Our home support is pathetic ..i was modified at how bad its got the last 3 times in have been up at matches...

Expect a draw im warning ye!
    ya we got lucky with whelans goal but we controlled that game for the most part. even with a poor midfield we will win the game.

Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post

Given

Doyle - Keane

Out of the squad named I think he should (and will) play Andrews ahead of Gibson. He looks a better passer of the ball, carries more of an attacking threat and is starting in the premier league week in, week out.

2,081 Posts
    I don't care how great a manager he's been in the past. Deciding on one system and sticking to it regardless of the players available to him is ridiculous. It was ok when we had the substance of Stephen Reid in midfield but now there just a big gaping hole through the middle of the pitch.

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    I'm gutted that Lee Carsley can't find his way into the squad, never mind the starting XI.

Andy Reid should be there on merit alone, much better player than Miller, Andrews, etc.

A central midfield pairing of Gibson-Whelan is going to get us killed against real opposition. John O'Shea is a much better option in Trap's system. Put McShane in at centre half instead.

im of the thinking that even though trap went to the preston game he wasn't going to include anyone on show, but has them in mind for again.

However if st ledger was really that good he is of the age where he should be getting a move to the premiership. No one has come in for him and that says a lot. Trap knows what a player needs id say at this stage in his life, he mustn't have seen anything from any player outside the squad(bar andy reid) who he thinks is going to make a more significant contribution.

At the end of the day(as i say ), i think gibsons inclusion is merited, ferguson and trap have given him time and im not better judge than them. It seems trap giving him a chance also worked with ferguson giving him a chance. I'm just a little upset not to see andy reid there.

52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    im of the thinking that even though trap went to the preston game he wasn't going to include anyone on show, but has them in mind for again.

However if st ledger was really that good he is of the age where he should be getting a move to the premiership. No one has come in for him and that says a lot. Trap knows what a player needs id say at this stage in his life, he mustn't have seen anything from any player outside the squad(bar andy reid) who he thinks is going to make a more significant contribution.

At the end of the day(as i say ), i think gibsons inclusion is merited, ferguson and trap have given him time and im not better judge than them. It seems trap giving him a chance also worked with ferguson giving him a chance. I'm just a little upset not to see andy reid there.
    http://www.lep.co.uk/pnenews/Republi...air.4890261.jp

there are problems with the squad yes but they are all minor imho when compared to the constant selection of Liam fecking Miller Absolutely baffles me how this guy manages to pull the wool over the eyes of Trap and the management team...can't pass, doesn't run, can't tackle, has nothing to contribute to the team AT ALL!!

there are so many players that could do a better job than this bloody loser...
    Reid
    Garvan
    McCann
    Hoolahan
    Rowlands
    even Darren Potter ffs!

I'm sure there are more but I can't think straight with the rage...

I need to lie down...
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

215 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    However if st ledger was really that good he is of the age where he should be getting a move to the premiership. No one has come in for him and that says a lot. Trap knows what a player needs id say at this stage in his life,
    All St Ledger needs do to justify his selection is be better than Alex Bruce. I would respectfully suggest that you and Trapp are in a very small minority if you think Bruce is a better player. He was off-loaded by his own father and has struggled to hold down a centre-back position in a mid-table team.

215 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Ogba View Post
    there are problems with the squad yes but they are all minor imho when compared to the constant selection of Liam fecking Miller Absolutely baffles me how this guy manages to pull the wool over the eyes of Trap and the management team...can't pass, doesn't run, can't tackle, has nothing to contribute to the team AT ALL!!

there are so many players that could do a better job than this bloody loser...
    Reid
    Garvan
    McCann
    Hoolahan
    Rowlands
    even Darren Potter ffs!

I'm sure there are more but I can't think straight with the rage...

I need to lie down...
    O'Toole
    S.Quinn
    Tabb
    Norris
    McPhail
    Carsley
    Douglas (just about)

49 Posts

im willing to trust trap even if the squad as we can all see is way off. if i was ireland manager in the morn id be straight on the phone tho to andy reid to apologize to him the way hes been treated. dying to play but cant. hang in there andy pleaseee

Page 5 of 10 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast