Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Pats / Galway

Quote Originally Posted by gufc4life View Post
    the difference is dodge jeff is looking for a managers job in england ...and applys for any job that come up in england. ian is not and is quite happy to stay with us at united..!
    LOL, man thats the height of naivity.

147 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Funny how you think Kenna is a cert to go back to England while not mentioning the fact that his English assistant is at least as likely to go home to England
    It seems his assistant from last season at least has a bit of decency, dignity and morals about him in so far as he honoured an agreement he made with United by turning up for work as agreed this week. Kenna is the one with a fire under his backside to go back to England, a move tp the Pale is just the first step
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Well I'm sure if Foster does well he would eventually like to go home but right now he has next to no chance of getting any manager's job in England as he's completely unproven. He doesn't even have much experience as an assistant let alone a manager.

Kenna wasn't long in Galway when he made it clear he was looking preferably for a job in England so I don't think that has changed in the interim. I fancy come the end of next season if not before someone in the lower leagues in England will eventually take a punt on him and he'll be gone quick smart.
    Last edited by Maroon 7; 14/01/2009 at 3:41 PM.

...and you can be guaranteed he'll try and bring Foster over as his assistant.

Lads, I understand what your saying but its not like this is news. Kenna has been applying for jobs in ireland all winter (Dundalk, Rovers, Cork). If he gets a job in England he'll go. Nothing different from the vast majority of managers and players here

147 Posts
    He had been applying for jobs, either didn;t get them or turned them down. He then agreed to stay on at United - which is the point United fans are makling, not the fact he left, but the fact he left after committing to the club for 2009
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

and the main thing (for me anyway) is that he wont get a job in england unless he's doing well for pats

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    LOL, man thats the height of naivity.
    Not really Dodge kenna has no principles he didnt even bother ringing United or Ian yesterday to say he was walking out the backdoor again. I think we have got the best man while ye have an arrogant sod who lies through his teeth.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

This tread is going to turn into pure squabble. We are both satified with are managers end of story!!!

Good move by GUFC. Kenna gone off the wagebill, hopefully some combo in for losing Kenna and Foster moves up to fill the gap.

bhs

Quote Originally Posted by BrayUnknowns View Post
    It makes me laugh everytime a club gets promoted back into the Premier that their fans think they will do quite well. There is such a huge gulf between what you have been used to for the past number of years and what your about to play in.
    we came up and finished in top half comfortably

21 Posts
    I kinda see this as a good move for both teams - Pats are getting what seems to be a decent manager.
    Galway are keeping a man who knows how they avoided relegation last year, while their managerial costs will be down

Kenna handled this very badly.... and the fact that the goons running our club allowed it to come to this is shocking... who's responsible for this farce? very few contracted players (no proven goalscorer on the horizon either, JK & VF to be fair are workers rather than out and out finishers) relatively unproven manager.....
    Still, I thought we had a great squad at the start of last season and we were dire for ages so you never know I suppose.....

No idea what Foster brings, hopefully he'll tighten up our set pieces (defending and attacking!) and start using the bench, 2 things Kenna didn't seem to be able to deal with.

It's a shame what's happened.. we've lost Derek Glynn because Kenna didn't rate hime and then Kenna bolts out the door the same week Longford sign Glynn.
    innit though??

Quote Originally Posted by monutdfc View Post
    AFAIK (Dundalk fans, correct me if I'm wrong) they'll have only two players from their 1st division squad next season (2 players who were under contract and so weren't released. I wouldn't expect Connor to give either much of a look-in, maybe Mulvenna). So while the fans might see a huge gulf the players won't, since none of them were around last season
    4 actually, Bennion looks to be number 1 keeper although Connor wants a decent keeper in to challenge as he doesnt want one player to have a cemented place...he wants every player to work for their place. Then theres Simon Kelly, Shane Grimes and Tiarnan Mulvenna, Beno and Mulvenna the only realistic ones to get a run in the team!

Jeff Kenna is looking for a career as a manager & knew he needed to get out of Galway to continue his promising start, the only reason he said he'd stay with Galway as there were no better options to improve himself.

Galway fans have to be realistic about this, he did a great job while there & don't begrudge him a chance to progress as a manager, it will be easier to get a job in England by doing well at Pat's as opposed to Galway

Quote Originally Posted by mytown View Post
    that said & unpopular as connor appears to be, he has a proven track record. I'm tipping dundalk for honours.
    what?
    Till d End!

Quote Originally Posted by Bunny Kelly View Post
    Jeff Kenna is looking for a career as a manager & knew he needed to get out of Galway to continue his promising start, the only reason he said he'd stay with Galway as there were no better options to improve himself.

Galway fans have to be realistic about this, he did a great job while there & don't begrudge him a chance to progress as a manager, it will be easier to get a job in England by doing well at Pat's as opposed to Galway
    True 'dat.
    JK Just handled himself appallingly, just don't expect us to thank him for the style of his exit.
    I think he'll get found out at Pats though....the man seems to think that we're still using 1950s rules though, no idea about using subs, it's like he doesn't know they're there.
    innit though??

67 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SalvadorSanchez View Post
    I think he'll get found out at Pats though....the man seems to think that we're still using 1950s rules though, no idea about using subs, it's like he doesn't know they're there.

Pathetic.

The guy saved your club last year for the wilderness of division one (and possibly more) despite what he had to work against, plus a cup semi final. He deserve's some respect from you ungrateful shower

Is Ian Foster registered as a player again this year or is he he just manager?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs4Ever View Post
    Pathetic.

The guy saved your club last year for the wilderness of division one (and possibly more) despite what he had to work against, plus a cup semi final. He deserve's some respect from you ungrateful shower
    I think the fans are grateful for what Jeff did during his stay at the club but he's left on not very good terms that are of his own creation to be honest.

I expect this may well be repeated at Pat's sooner or later unfortunately but hopefully it doesn't get as messy when a League 1 or League 2 club decide to take a chance on him.

Quote Originally Posted by Shiba View Post
    what?
    What he said

Did you really say honours? Did you mean to say hours? donors? goners?

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast