Page 22 of 23 FirstFirst ... 1220212223 LastLast

Thread: Mayo Premier Division 2009

Quote Originally Posted by hardcore View Post
    Amazing result for ye v manulla Fish-Head! Ye dont seem to be missing RM! Who got the goals? Did ye play the entire SL team or something?! Whos running things now that the Northern Gale is gone? Can ye stay up?

Ya, it was a good result. Gives us a chance of staying if we can add a couple more wins. Goals came from all over as far as I can remember. We had two lads who've been floating between the squads all season. We now have a player/manager in Joe McD.
    I think we can stay up but it won't be easy as our remaining fixtures include Swinford & Claremorris away.

Quote Originally Posted by Fish-Head View Post
    Ya, it was a good result. Gives us a chance of staying if we can add a couple more wins. Goals came from all over as far as I can remember. We had two lads who've been floating between the squads all season. We now have a player/manager in Joe McD.
    I think we can stay up but it won't be easy as our remaining fixtures include Swinford & Claremorris away.
    Joe took over a tough job by the looks of the table a few games ago! fair play to ye and him.
    BTW, Thought you couldnt "float" between teams? Is this legal? Whos doing that for ye? 2 strikers by the look of 6-2 scoreline!

Well it was two players that are both signed B but have played A on occassion. I'm not exactly aware of the regulations regarding players "floating" so I won't say too much more on the matter. But as far as I'm aware no rules were broken.
    Ya fair play to Joe. Things have been going a lot more smoothly since he took charge. We're also playing some football now.

Quote Originally Posted by rava View Post
    In fairness I think Swinford & Partry look capable of doing ok in the super league. The other teams would be slaughtered.
    Haven't seen Swinford, but saw Partry twice this year.....Not Super league qualaity when I saw them...

The forum has gone very quite. As the league is slowly reaching the end, who can one see wining the league and has it been outlined yet who can/cannot get promoted??

Quote Originally Posted by juan pablo View Post
    The forum has gone very quite. As the league is slowly reaching the end, who can one see wining the league and has it been outlined yet who can/cannot get promoted??
    Looks like only Swinford going up. I would have liked to see the second placed team get a playoff at least, would havekept a bit of interest in it for the closing games.

51 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Don View Post
    Looks like only Swinford going up. I would have liked to see the second placed team get a playoff at least, would havekept a bit of interest in it for the closing games.
    Not up yet - 3 games to go - never say never .....

Quote Originally Posted by swinfordfc View Post
    Not up yet - 3 games to go - never say never .....
    4 Games to go for our boys.3 behind Westport but i game in hand..Going to be a tight one

some big games at the bottom of the table as well lads. claremorris v ballinrobe, manulla v celtic b, claremorris v celtic b. who will go down what do ye think?

51 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bandit View Post
    4 Games to go for our boys.3 behind Westport but i game in hand..Going to be a tight one
    sorry bandit - miss one

51 Posts
    This is a big weekend in the premier division .........

Quote Originally Posted by swinfordfc View Post
    This is a big weekend in the premier division .........
    It sure is, how does everyone see the top of the table shaping up?? One has to wonder IF Westport & Swinford slip up and Bangor can get three points, it could well end up being a 3 horse race. Speaking for ourselves if we can get 3 points on Sunday against Celtic 'B', it may guarantee us safety but anything can happen in the remainder of the season.

Castlebar Celtic ‘B’ v Ballinrobe Town DRAW
    Bangor Hibs. v Claremorris HOME
    Crossmolina v Westport Utd. ‘B’ AWAY
    Iorras Aontaithe ‘B’ v Swinford DRAW
    Partry Athletic v Manulla ‘B’ HOME

Castlebar Celtic ‘B’ v Ballinrobe Town Home
    Bangor Hibs. v Claremorris Away
    Iorras Aontaithe ‘B’ v Swinford Away
    Partry Athletic v Manulla ‘B’ Home

51 Posts
    Congrats to the Swinford lads in reaching the Super League .... now go chase Westport down for the title ....

if westport b and swinford win their remaining games does prem div go to a play off ?

How can ye see the division ending up,westport now 6 points clear of the boys but swinford have 2 games in hand and westport have omly manulla b to play who according to the paper are already gone.....Could be a grandstand finish

Does anyone think the season should start a few weeks earlier next year to avoid the league dragging out. For us it seems that we will never finish the season and with the current weather conditions, can oly worsen.

Are clubs in the division still getting the numbers at training?

Westport's League i think, cant see them losing to Manulla 'B'. So who goes up and who goes down now??

i think it will be a play off.just checked snugboro web site today(excellent site lads)swinford will beat celtic b easy and they hammered ballinrobe in cup two weeks ago.couldnt see partry causing them any problems in the last game.westport should win against manulla.

51 Posts
    Swinford 3 Ballinrobe Town 2 ..... roll on next weekend

Well done to Westport United 'B' on winning the Premier Division, Comprehensive victory against Manulla 'B'.

Page 22 of 23 FirstFirst ... 1220212223 LastLast