cheers for that.do all the other leagues kick off the same date as the premier division?
Premier League Kick offs in Sun April 5th
Super League is the weekend of the 23rd/24th May
Last edited by Northern Gale; 06/03/2009 at 9:24 AM.
cheers for that.do all the other leagues kick off the same date as the premier division?
I assume so as at the Mayo League workshop held last year, they only stated that the Super League could start at a different date because their cup continues into the following year
Lads,
Any results of friendlies over the weekend?
[quote=FahyForever;1119426]Agree with that. Was very impressed with the Swinford number 12, classy looking midfielder. Has he been with ye for long? Donīt remember him from previous encounters with ye..[/quote
Was not at game but i would say it was prob Gordie Carter,class player celtic were after him but he stayed with us instead..I heard our boys played well against a good strong fahy,we were missing 6 first teamers to a stag so should be good comp for places for next game. Did ye have all yer lads or were ye missing a few as well.
celtic super league squad beat ballyvary 8-3 yesterday in celtic astroturf. good work out for celtic, first time out together. russell gibbons back and amongst the goals. barry mcloughlin back aswell and also a new centre half playing from donegal. looked the part. celtic missing a few, new keeper coming for sl squad was missing and a few of the youths that played saturday were not playing because of knocks.
Claremorris 1 - 3 Celtic B[/quote]
Great run out for Celtic B having already beaten Claremorris in the home fixture. Celtic were missing a few starters but overall it was a great squad performance. Thanks to Claremorris for their hospitality
Finn Harps FC, Liverpool FC, Castlebar Celtic FC
very strong wind in claremorris. the 3rd goal was a master strick. but the goal keeper told me he never seen a ball to move in the air so much![]()
Well I think he's having you on there because it was a clean strike and straight as an arrow with a lot of power!!
I would prob agree with Fish-head on this one as the keeper in the 2nd half seemed very incompetent. I think there may have been a case for a dope test on him
lads from the position i was in he had a pair of rugby boots and hit it with the top of his toe. would agree with the dope test. but at least he filled the goal![]()
Are you saying the ref did not do his job? I think you need to send John a wee mail about that.
Nah the keeper was just as bad as 50% of the managment team i am afraid, and i dont mean the Finn Harps Fan
Them new balls are a killer, from my aerial view I think the keeper full lenght dive was very close to the ball, but due to the wonderful swerve put on it and the power by the Celtic star then I think no keeper would save it.
Good game though, fair play to Claremorris for hosting it, cat weather.![]()
Castlebar Celtic
http://www.castlebarceltic.com
League Results
http://www.rte.ie/aertel/440-01.html
Mayo League Tables
http://inform.test.fai.ie/Clubs/port.../default.aspx#
Hello all, my name is Trevor Harris and I used to play for Claremorris between 2000-2002.
I just wanted to get abit of info off you all as to how they are getting on,This is a great website as previously all the info I have found was from the online western people.
I loved playing for claremorris and my time in the mayo league.Many a happy memory of going to places like ballavary and achill. Incidently I scored 2 absolute blinders against castlebar celtic B in a 2-2 draw at our place one yr.
Anyway any help will be greatly appreiciated and best of luck for the forthcoming season
Cheers
Trevor, Claremorris were relegated from the Super League (the top division) last season and so will be playing in the Premier Division this one. I suggest you check out soccerbot.com, go to mayo league section and take a look. Even though they stopped updating it a couple of seasons ago, it shows all the results, scorers and league positions for 3 seasons or so. You will probably recognise a few names! All the best..
Good man Trevor, you dont fancy been sub goalie for Claremorris? I hear that they shipped the sub keeper from last Sunday to Cheltenham in the hope of a free tranqulizer
***only kidding sub keeper***
Castlebar Celtic
http://www.castlebarceltic.com
League Results
http://www.rte.ie/aertel/440-01.html
Mayo League Tables
http://inform.test.fai.ie/Clubs/port.../default.aspx#
Haha nothing would please me more than to put on the green and white again(maybe not goalie tho)
Unfortuneatly I am based in hereford now and it would be a hell of a commute 3times a week.haha
By the looks of things Claremorris have had a successful time since I left them playing in the 1st division. I think the goals of derek glynn have had alot to do with that tho.He was just starting out in claremorris when I was leaving.
So whats your hopes for the forthcoming season lads, apologies fathyforever I dont even know what league u play in and how do you think claremorris will get on?
I remember Claremorris always having very good goalies in Johnie and brendan English so hopefully its neither of them on the way to chelthenham!