Thread: Bohs, Pat's and Cork agree wage cap

1,552 Posts
    In a seperate development, Finn Harps have confirmed that they will also not be paying any player more than €1000 per week this season.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    In a seperate development, Finn Harps have confirmed that they will also not be paying any player more than €1000 per week this season.
    So has Gethins agreed to a pay cut?

So essentially Cork are not in this pact having given Gamble a contract outside this maximum budget?

1,552 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BulmersKid View Post
    So has Gethins agreed to a pay cut?
    Are you suggesting he's on a grand a week? Because he isn't as far as I know and in any case I do not expect him to be with the club come the start of the season.

Gamble was already under contract. He just re-negotiated

What the above applies to is out of contract players

I assume he's being sarcastic?

Gethins on a grand a week, that's hilarious

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Are you suggesting he's on a grand a week? Because he isn't as far as I know and in any case I do not expect him to be with the club come the start of the season.
    Wasn't suggesting that. Just that he seems to be the only contracted player on your books at the moment, and rumours around that he is on a sizable contract (unsure what that is myself) i was only curious .

Quote Originally Posted by Saint_Charlie View Post
    It was definitely the €20 bet, which Gary Dempsey lost, which has led us to this situation.
    I'd say you know exactly what i am talking about when i said Dempsey was made out to be the scape goat , Anybody who thinks this 'storm in a tea cup' was over a €20 Euro double is very naive. Obviously funds are a hell of a lot tighter now but to go from a tax write off to a major burden on the Kelleher empire is what i find difficult to understand. Lads this ain't Tom Coughlan we are speaking about, Kelleher could well afford to keep Pats going if he really wanted too. Business men don't like to made a fool out of esp in their home city.

Enjoy the Nintendo.

22 Posts
    is kelleher's money not from property development? which is an industry currently undergoing a global meltdown?
    i believe in one man, one vote. i should be that one man with that one vote.

ALWAYS ON TOUR!

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post
    I can't help but Pat's cost cutting measures is directly linked to the fall out from the betting scandal. Ever since that Part time fotball has been brought in and as well as further cost cutting measures.
    Biggest load of doodoo
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

All clubs following Shelbournes lead again!!
    We stopped paying them €1000 a week some years ago
    John Delaney!! GET OUT!!!
    www.ssdg.ie

48 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by higgins View Post
    All clubs following Shelbournes lead again!!
    We stopped paying them €1000 a week some years ago
    Did you's not just stop paying them anything at all?
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

Quote Originally Posted by Candystripe View Post
    Did you's not just stop paying them anything at all?

For a short time yes - but they were later payed 100% of all they were owed. Unlike a number of other clubs have treated their players in the past few months.

Not all clubs have the luxury of being able to keep drawing down money from the value of their ground to pay off debts... unfortunately we do too...

Quote Originally Posted by Fintan Cassidy View Post
    For a short time yes - but they were later payed 100% of all they were owed. Unlike a number of other clubs have treated their players in the past few months.
    You sure about that?????
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

Later? How much time elapsed before the last player was fully paid up?
    As you're the benchmark club.

Quote Originally Posted by Heliodorus View Post
    An agreed wage cap by certain clubs. Surely thats illegal? I know its hard to prove. Some city players are on over €1000 a week at present anyway.
    I don't know if it would be illegal, as they don't have a monopoly posiiton.

Also - they're not fixing the prices for specific players between themselves, just agreeing that they can't afford to pay above a certain level. So any individual player who didn't get more than €1k would struggle to say they've been shafted here.

It is a strange one though. Will be interesting to see if it's honoured - particularly when a really good player becomes available. Also interesting to see how long it lasts before it's broken - sooner or later, the memories will fade and 'the dream' will take centre stage again.

AFAIK - they were all paid up within a few months - early 2007?

82 Posts
    AFAIK - they were all paid up within a few months - early 2007?
    ........in coins?

Number? Other than Drogheda what other club took longer than the time ye took to pay 100%?