Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: NTL/UPC Broadband Help

  1. #1
    Formerly: londonred dublinred's Avatar
    Joined
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Fingal
    Posts
    1,014
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    20
    Thanked in
    9 Posts

    NTL/UPC Broadband Help

    Got the broadband from NTL installed(in theory) at the weekend the lights came on the modem and the engineer ran off saying everything was working when I tried to logon later that evening I cant get onto the internet either via the wireless or ethernet wired , all the lights are on the modem and the network is showing up as connected with either limited or local access ,UPC insist that there is a signal going to the modem and have another engineer coming again in a few days time , would like to try and resolve before then , did anyone else have similar problems , I think it may be something to do with my previous connection to Bt broadband and windows vista , have tryed the option of resetting the network adaptor and changing the Ip4 and IP6 address's to automatic. Any suggestions appreciated I seem to jinxed wiht broadband installations as they never work first time.
    63.00

  2. #2
    Capped Player
    Joined
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Maígh Eó
    Posts
    16,198
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2,481
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1,012
    Thanked in
    820 Posts
    what colours are the lights, particularly on LAN?! sometimes the signal isn';t strong enough from the exchange or ISP provider and therefore the modem appears to have a connection when it doesnt really as it keeps reconnecting to try to acquire an IP address. That could be your problem.
    I'm a bloke,I'm an ocker
    And I really love your knockers,I'm a labourer by day,
    I **** up all me pay,Watching footy on TV,
    Just feed me more VB,Just pour my beer,And get my smokes, And go away

  3. #3
    Formerly: londonred dublinred's Avatar
    Joined
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Fingal
    Posts
    1,014
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    20
    Thanked in
    9 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    what colours are the lights, particularly on LAN?! sometimes the signal isn';t strong enough from the exchange or ISP provider and therefore the modem appears to have a connection when it doesnt really as it keeps reconnecting to try to acquire an IP address. That could be your problem.
    All the lights were green and stable, the phone is working from the same modem, whne I hooked up the netgear wireless box it had a green internet light on it aswell.
    63.00

  4. #4
    Formerly: londonred dublinred's Avatar
    Joined
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Fingal
    Posts
    1,014
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    20
    Thanked in
    9 Posts
    Sorted now, some dope in the NTL office assigned a wrong modem code to my connection thus blocking my internet access. First impressions are very good of the broadband speed on the 3mb package , massive improvement compared to the eircom/bt bogbrand , €24 is a great price(in ireland) for phone and 3m bb.
    63.00

Similar Threads

  1. eircom broadband
    By DmanDmythDledge in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01/10/2008, 6:03 PM
  2. Broadband
    By Macy in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05/08/2008, 2:00 PM
  3. NTL Broadband
    By Dodge in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29/03/2006, 12:24 PM
  4. NTL Broadband
    By drummerboy in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15/03/2006, 4:03 PM
  5. Who here has broadband?
    By eoinh in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 15/04/2003, 4:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •