Page 17 of 41 FirstFirst ... 7151617181927 ... LastLast

Thread: Rugby Union 2009

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    typically my compter started acting up with 10 mins to go - was watching in via BBc i player

Just so happy to see the smug smile wiped off Gatlands face - i mean its wales FFS

pity there isnt a world cup this summer, ireland would def be contenders

Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour View Post
    If he had kicked that last ball a bit harder we would have lost!!
    I wonder if Dan Marino has been on the phone to him yet.

It was funny that on the immediatley previous penalty he was praised by the beebs commentator for his "economy of effort".

Delighted for the Irish lads.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by strangeirish View Post
    Great show of character by the Irish. Great stuff. Went through about five Guinness in the second half.

For the start of the second half, yes. The rest was Kamikhasi stuff. The "show of character" could have lost us the game. 17 stupid penalties to 3 or 4. Madness utter madness giving away that penalty in the last minute and the fact that Jones was kicking in to the wind saved us. Must be a record for a team to win without actually scoring from a penalty. Amazing that Ireland just about beat Scotland, France, England and Wales but are grand slam champions.

It was the epitome of Irish sport. Everything was about to be thrown away in the last minute but for once the sporting Gods looked favourably upon us instead of breaking our hearts. Incredible stuff.

3 or 4 feet the difference between heroes to zeroes. That's why we love sport. The RTE panel didn't show that last miniute penalty. The 2 Irish tries, the 2 drop goals yes, but for me it is that missed penalty (the dagger ready to be plunged in to our green hearts) which will live long in the memory.

Ni feicimid a leiteid aris.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

230 Posts
    A few highlights from yesterday for all to relive once again...Not sure how long it'll remain up on the site.

Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    For the start of the second half, yes. The rest was Kamikhasi stuff. The "show of character" could have lost us the game. 17 stupid penalties to 3 or 4. Madness utter madness giving away that penalty in the last minute and the fact that Jones was kicking in to the wind saved us. Must be a record for a team to win without actually scoring from a penalty. Amazing that Ireland just about beat Scotland, France, England and Wales but are grand slam champions.

It was the epitome of Irish sport. Everything was about to be thrown away in the last minute but for once the sporting Gods looked favourably upon us instead of breaking our hearts. Incredible stuff.

3 or 4 feet the difference between heroes to zeroes. That's why we love sport. The RTE panel didn't show that last miniute penalty. The 2 Irish tries, the 2 drop goals yes, but for me it is that missed penalty (the dagger ready to be plunged in to our green hearts) which will live long in the memory.

Ni feicimid a leiteid aris.
    You watched a different match from me.

We scored two tries to none.

The Welsh penalty was hardly a gimmie, 48 metres with a tired leg.

If that's what your memory is you are doing a huge disservice to a great team performance. I'll remember BO'D wriggling over like a worm, Paulie taking that one handed lineout and Tommy Bowe leaving Shane Williams in his wake.

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post

If that's what your memory is you are doing a huge disservice to a great team performance. I'll remember BO'D wriggling over like a worm, Paulie taking that one handed lineout and Tommy Bowe leaving Shane Williams in his wake.
    All true but I still could have strangled Paddy Wallace when he gave away that penalty.

214 Posts
    I rewatched the game again today and I still expect Jones to make that kick right at the end. One game that will be staying on the hard drive for years to come. O'Gara deserves a lot of credit for his second half performance. The kick that put Bowe in was perfection.

How many Irish lads do you expect to make the Lions first team?

Flannery, POC, Wallace, Ferris, BOD and Bowe must be nailed on don't you think? I'd say Heaslip and Kearney would also be close.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    Flannery, POC, Wallace, Ferris, BOD and Bowe must be nailed on don't you think? I'd say Heaslip and Kearney would also be close.
    Despite winning the grand slam I can't see Ireland dominating selection with the backroom panel that has been chosen.

BOD and POC are the only ones that are guaranteed.

Kearney has certainly played himself into contention but I would not have him ahead of Lee Byrne. Armitage also in with a good shout at for full back. Bowe has a great shot. He's had a great tournament and I would have him the starting XV.

Our back row has been superb but I think that Williams and Jones will be in contention too.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    A little bit of me wants Wales to win. Just to stop this hype...
    For the record I cheered when jones missed and I'm delighed for the team. Sod the bandwagon

Quote Originally Posted by Scram View Post
    SHANE BYRNE BLOG - INTERESTING

Prediction; If we can stay within 5-7 points of Wales at half-time, we will win.
    Well, 6 points was right in there!

Well done Ireland....................and thank you Paddy Power

Simply unbelievable, what a game. Have only just begun to come down off the ceiling. Please God that will be a boost to the footballers now, can only provide a bit of inspiration.

Also - if anyone has a copy of that game which could be sent, could they send me a PM? Would be over the moon if I could rewatch it. Thanks.

Quote Originally Posted by shanekerins View Post
    Simply unbelievable, what a game. Have only just begun to come down off the ceiling. Please God that will be a boost to the footballers now, can only provide a bit of inspiration.

Also - if anyone has a copy of that game which could be sent, could they send me a PM? Would be over the moon if I could rewatch it. Thanks.
    Can you view any of the content on RTE website? THe highlights are good, you may be able to view in Stand Alone Real Player, You Tube also!

The Premiership footballers could certainly learn a lot from these lads, they seem like a bunch of lads playing for any local club with no egos, modest and appreciative of their positions and the support of the fans, whilst the team leaders are recognised and are real leaders.

The scum in Dail Eireann could also certainly learn from them!

794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    You watched a different match from me.

My memory is of a fantastic win but one that was almost thrown away in typical Irish fashion in the last minute. The Irish were the better team but it all came down to that penalty kick. There would be no talk of heroes, grand slams, character etc etc if that kick went over. Such is the thin dividing line between success and utter dejection (albeit Ireland would still have won the Championship).

Sport - it's why we love it.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    I'll take the draw or a loss by less than 13 points...
    Any chance someone could add a go f$&@ yourself button instead of the thanks one??

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pike B View Post
    Any chance someone could add a go f$&@ yourself button instead of the thanks one??
    I thought you'd be in agreement considering the previous posts you have made but subsequently deleted in this thread.

Anyways some great pictures and videos of Saturday's match on the rte website. The pictures of Paul O'Connell's sheer joy after the final whistle are priceless.

Quote Originally Posted by shanekerins View Post

Deleted. Uploaded 60mb Real Player file to a site, but looks like the scum then charge anyone to dowload it!
    Last edited by Scram; 23/03/2009 at 10:58 AM.

I think people are being a bit harsh on O'Callaghan and Paddy Wallace. Barnes was very inconsistent in how he treated the two sides, and was definitely on a hometown buzz. Thankfully it didn't matter in the end.

Great start to the second half, but we weren't allowed close out the game as much by the ref as by the welsh. I was convinced Jones would score. Some Championship by O'Driscoll, I really don't see how some commentators think he'll be overlooked for Lions captain. (Mind you, I think the tour will be a disaster after Gatlands comments and a welsh management team on the slide...)

794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    I think people are being a bit harsh on O'Callaghan and Paddy Wallace.
    O'Callaghan, on a warning, pushes and sneers at a Welshman after they knock on at a lineout and a peno is given to Wales rather than a scrum to Ireland: result 3 points to Wales who are then back in the game having looked out of it.

Wallace gives away the penalty that almost costs Ireland the Grand Slam.

Harsh? I don't think so.

The welsh did that a number of times, without penalty, which goes back to Barnes' inconsistency.

It was a harsh call on Wallace - at best it was a marginal call by Barnes. A turnover at that stage would've effectively been game over.

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    My memory is of a fantastic win but one that was almost thrown away in typical Irish fashion in the last minute. The Irish were the better team but it all came down to that penalty kick. There would be no talk of heroes, grand slams, character etc etc if that kick went over. Such is the thin dividing line between success and utter dejection (albeit Ireland would still have won the Championship).

Sport - it's why we love it.
    I'd agree with that. As Ferguson said after beating Bayern Munich "Football, bloody hell".

What else can provide such drama and excitement?

But I agree with OF in that the "character" being cited in the press would have been "chokers" just because a kick Jones made with ease in the first half dropped short in the second.

If that had been the first game of the campaign all the Irish professional miserabalists would have been spouting their usual nonsense that the win contained flaws and all that. The fact is that a win is a win is a win. Always.

Page 17 of 41 FirstFirst ... 7151617181927 ... LastLast