Page 16 of 41 FirstFirst ... 6141516171826 ... LastLast

Thread: Rugby Union 2009

3,501 Posts
    Jaysus, that last penalty wasn't easy on the heart, I nearly chucked up inside the house!
    Still can't really believe what has just happened, absolute legends, one and all

As a taff - congratulations and well done - about time !!
    What a finnish - believe Wallace was set to apply for political asylum !!
    Re the mind games in the week - you lot know theres only one team we hate - england.
    Enjoy the night and let the black stuff flow !!!!!!!!1

2,771 Posts
    great watchin the games with you SI and SS. thanks for all the links and stuff over the last 2months.!
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    great watchin the games with you SI and SS. thanks for all the links and stuff over the last 2months.!
    Cheers to you too and thanks for providing links also. I think we'll crown you the Tiger Woods of the links...

Now, off to the local for some more of the black stuff!
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

What a game. What a team. What a finish. BOD magnificent as ever. O'Gara was ropey but more than made up for it with the drop goal.

Great result, Great game. Delight for the team in general.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Jaysus, that last penalty wasn't easy on the heart, I nearly chucked up inside the house!
    Still can't really believe what has just happened, absolute legends, one and all
    I was exactly the same, I don't think those players would have ever recovered had they lost that game. Now they're absolute legends and will be remembered forever, the way they started that second half was nothing short of phenomenal.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

82 Posts
    Sport doesn't half turn your emotions upside down (and back again!) sometimes.

O'Connell and BOD were superhuman. O'Driscoll's body position for the try was other worldly, as were some of O'Connells lineout takes.

So happy for them, the expectation must have been like a noose around their necks.

214 Posts
    Fantastic achievement and a brilliant moment for the whole of Ireland. The whole team, staff and Kidney deserve all the plaudits that come their way. 6-0 at half time I was still confident we would prevail but 1 moment of lunacy from Paddy Walace and the whole world came crashing down......thankfully Jones missed the kick. Unreal tension and I cannot imagine how the players felt in the 80th minute as they made the slow walk to the posts to await the penalty. Paddy Wallace I'd buy a lotto ticket tonight because your one lucky man!!!

O'Connell was a monster today in the lineout. David Wallace was everywhere. Tommy Bowe has to be a cert for the lions and BOD was BOD. I've stayed in tonight and watched it sober because I have a big expensive week ahead (Bulgaria game for 4 nights) so I'll have to celebrate properly next week but tonight I'm one happy Irish supporter.

Chokers? They handled the pressure with style and turned up for every minute.

If it was ever in doubt O'Drisoll joined the Rugby Legends club today.

Great day, great result, but what was worrying was the lack of Irish discipline.

I think O'Callaghan's stupidity today (not once but twice) has cost him a place on the Lions tour, while Tommy Bowe played himself in. Tomas O'Leary is probably the weakest of all the 6 nations scrum halves, his style certainly does not suit this Irish team's game.

We are 3 or 4 players in the first 15 short of being ready to challenge the Southern Hemisphere and when you see Mick O'Driscoll and Denis Leamy on the bench it shows we have very limited strength in depth.

Great heart, great belief and a great team ethic have seen us through this year but fair play, you can only beat what is put in front of you and the scroreboard says we certainly did that.

I have no idea of the odds but I reckon we will be 3rd favourites behind England and France to win the 6 nations next year.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

82 Posts
    Not that it's worth dwelling on, but O'Callaghan would also have deserved a kick in the hole along with Wallace.

214 Posts
    yeah O'Callaghan was a silly boy on two occasions but I thought Barnes should have awarded us a penalty when the Welsh prop taunted Horan. Where was the consistency? O'Callaghan acts the clown a few moments before and it's a penalty. Looking at the match stats we conceded 15 penalties in total. Shocking. Wales? 5.

Superhoops I think your being a tad harsh on Leamy. Quality player. Losing Ferris was a blow but at least we had someone of Leamy's calibre to step into the fold.

Unbelievably tense game but a great win in the end. Paddy Wallace looking suitably sheepish after the game.
    O'Driscoll and O'Connell are legends. Fair dues to ROG for getting the winning kick after a fierce hammering in the first half.
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

Fair play to them they were all fantastic throughout the whole tournament and to beat Wales in their own back-yard is an outstanding achievment.

O'Connell, Heaslip, O'Driscoll were outstanding through the whole tournament and will surely form a key part of the Lions team.
    In the game today I feel John Hayes deserves special mention as in my opinion he was absolutely fantastic.

And isn't Donncha O'Callaghan a lucky boy??? Would have rounded off a very poor campaign for him. O'Connell's back must be fecked from carrying him!
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Buladh bus
    well in
    you;ll never beat the irish

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Cheers lads - pleasure - it's the first 6 nations championship that I've been able to watch (from beginning to end) in a couple of years but it was so worth it in the end ... huh?

Now as the song says "C'mon Barbie, Let's go party"
    Last edited by SunnySweeney; 22/03/2009 at 12:06 AM.
    Beauty is in the eye of the beer holder

Great win Delighted for BOD after being written off by so many. Pity I was bloody working Tbf, quality wise it wasn't the best 6 nations ever but give a feck, we won it O ya and the amount of overnight rugby fans is ridiculous(not on here,just in general). Great win though, fair play to kidney as well,genius!

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    If he had kicked that last ball a bit harder we would have lost!!

2,771 Posts
    if my auntie had bolloks she'd be my uncle!
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Two words only .

GRAND SLAM ..............................

Page 16 of 41 FirstFirst ... 6141516171826 ... LastLast