It was in The Evening Herald a while ago. Full signing.
where's this now? Loan or for full signing?
I know Gough has contacts in Scotland alright so maybe a few handy players might surface up over there!!
It was in The Evening Herald a while ago. Full signing.
I can't see us bringing anybody in from a club abroad, on loan or otherwise. They would be too expensive. Even if you didn't have to pay big wages you'd probably have to find them accomodation etc to make it worth their while coming over.
I think frawley and hardy are losses..frawley was a solid performer and proved himself a better captain than others
Tbh i can see murphy do well in the premier if he ups the workrate..he is a great passer of the ball and has technical ability that isnt always easy to see in the hatchet type first division drivel..in the games against footballing teams such as shels and fingal he did ok..
yeah but cabs,when he was trying to get into the towm team in the premier he was shown up time and time again to not be good enough!
Shane Weir from Mullingar Athletic is supposedly training with us as well. Handy keeper to have as cover for Murphy.
Was just on Longford's page on the Hoganstand and some lad saying Paul Kelly and Martin Tarmey are close to signing for the Town.
Where does Tarmey play?
http://www.hoganstand.com/Longford/M...?TopicID=18159
i was down at the training session today in ballymahon at ballymahon fcs all weather pitch.. I spoke to alan gough down there and he confirmed to me that bray wandererers and ex finn harps player ray kenny was signing for the club.. brian mccarthy has also signed as well.. didnt recognise too many players two players were on trial.. one player had a lucan utd top on him..the only player from last year was andy bermingham.. im very impressed with goughs attention to detail philip coffey was coaching down there as well.. havent a clue who the goalkeeping coach is.. but gough took part in the full training session and is still as sharp as ever.. michael lee also played.. i also think robbie hamm took part in todays session.. the lads will be trainin in ballymahon for the next few weeks as flansiro pitch is bein dug up thanks to a very good town fan.. there is no changin rooms in ballymahon but they change up in forgneys gaa pitch...
Glad to see Robbie has been keeping himself fit while waiting for us to sort our manager out.
Philip Coffey is a goalkeeping coach.![]()
Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887
no there was someelse there besides philip coffey that was coaching brendan murphy.i heard last night that Emeka Onwubiko ( ex bray and current under 17 international) is training with us. We also have got in a lad from plymouth ( have completely forgotten his name) and t he also trained .emeka didnt train at all today..
also heard today from a reliable source that our proposed friendlies against dundalk and derry city will be away.. anyone care to keep me company for the long and lonely trip up??
Well I'd offer Martinho but am out of the country til September!!
Is Ray Kenny coming as a coach or playing?? He's about 35 or thereabouts isn't he???
Last edited by Town Legend; 24/01/2009 at 8:48 PM.
damon karney was hardly the goal keeping coach was he??he is doin his badges with gough so he might be...
Craig Tone was also training with ye yesterday.
Is Brian McCarthy confirmed? I heard a very different story yesterday?
Larry Be Wyse
www.acsportsimages.com
Larry Be Wyse
www.acsportsimages.com