Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Possible new signings

220 Posts
    Has any players been re-signed yet from last years panel? Who would ye have back? Not too many I'd say!! Is Wexler coming back to us? There's a bench seat there with his name on it!! We might loan him out to Athlone if he does!!

36 Posts
    I think it's important to re-sign some of the more "local" players such as Murphy, Brennan, O'Riordan, Garry and Rushe. Some of these mightn't have set the world on fire last year but we need some sort of foundation to start the new season on (and not completely be a brand new squad and Bermingham). Other than Gallagher, I wouldn't be too pushed on making big efforts in bringing certain other players back. The levels of apathy that existed during the second half of the season is not something I'd like to see again. Wouldn't mind Luke Hardy coming back as he appeared more committed than most but he mightn't be bothered with the trips up and down from Portlaoise. However the likes of McKenna, Doyle, Frawley, Douglas and Oladele didn't seem to have the heart for it the more the season went on.

1,103 Posts
    I think Daire Doyle might be staying on, not 100% sure but that's what I heard. He wouldnt be inundated with offers anyhow. Haven't heard anything on the rest but I suppose Gough will be in contact with them at some point. As hollocaine says Gallagher and Luke Hardy would be two of the better ones to hold on to.

interesting to see that eamon zayed and gary o'neil have dropped down a division and signed for sporting fingal..im sure that money had a lot to do with this with fingals large budget but is this a sign that some of the released,un-contracted so called "premier division" players are looking at first division clubs as an option to reestablish themselves due to many of the cash-strapped premier division clubs not looking like their going to be challenging for anything this season except survival? bring back ALAN KIRBY!
    we are going up

1,103 Posts
    I think it's more of a sign that there might not be as huge a gap as there used to be between the wages on offer in the Premier and the First. That's all anybody's thinking about right now. Guaranteeing themselves a steady wage, that they know they'll get every week.

heard on the grapevine at the weekend that stephen brennan defintitely has not received the call to stay. the person that i was speaking to his father used to be involved with the club big time.. so i trust his judgement

1,103 Posts
    I'm not sure Stephen would be good enough week in week out anyhow but we need to be getting a squad together and he wouldn't be too expensive I'm sure. I wonder how much Gough knows about the players we had last year, is there anyone to advise him as to who'd be worth having or not as he wouldn't have seen much of them himself?.

apparently we are trying to sign a goalkeeper called Brendan Murphy...

http://www.eleven-a-side.com/eircoml...ws.asp?n=35485
    we are going up

Meath’s Murphy confirms soccer return

Brendan Murphy
    13 January 2009

Meath goalkeeper Brendan Murphy has effectively ended his intercounty career by hooking up with soccer outfit Longford Town.

The former Wimbledon, Bradford and Republic of Ireland underage goalie has long been linked with a return to the rival code, and he told Meath boss Eamonn O’Brien that he’s made his decision due to time restrictions:

"I was finding it tremendously difficult to motivate myself for the amount of training you have to do as an intercounty footballer. People don’t realise what lads have to go through training-wise.

"Your whole life has to be dedicated to gaelic football and there’s a lot more to it than playing at Croke Park. Of course it will be difficult to watch the Meath lads playing Dublin, but it’s more a time issue for me at this stage.

"Also, you have to be hungry and fresh to keep going in the GAA and that’s probably a bit easier for the younger lads.

"I gave it 110% while I was with Meath and, don’t get me wrong, it was not an easy decision. At the same time, I still feel I have a lot to offer in sports in general, but I just can’t be as committed to the gaelic side of things."

Source:http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=105598
    The truth fears no questions...
    It's only when the tide goes out that you learn who's been swimming naked

1,103 Posts
    He's a good keeper from what I've seen of him. Another decent signing.

22 Posts
    He's an excellent keeper
    Marco Tardelli's red and black,
    Red and black, red and black.
    He hates Athlone.

137 Posts
    Just a pity he makes it sound like he's going to be having a kick around in the park, compared to the mighty GAA.
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

22 Posts
    I'm cutting down on fast food as my new year's resolution, so you'll pardon me if I give that chip on your shoulder a wide berth
    He hates Athlone.

heard the news about brendan murphy last night from a prominent poster on foot.ie! didnt realise that he is 33. he has bein on the go a long time . i would have heard of him in the mid 90s when he was at wimbledon. when he came home to ireland from the uk he had numerous offers to come back but only now he has made it.. a brill signing...

oh by the way stephen gough has left us to go back to bray for the third time so no confusion for next season! will miss his power drivers like against monahgan utd at home last season...
    Last edited by Martinho II; 13/01/2009 at 6:43 PM. Reason: damt typing skills

In the heights of elation since 7.18pm 14/11/10
    Keep an eye on Matthew Judge. Has been let go by Sligo and would be a good signing. Himself and Glynn could be worth 30-35 goals a season between them

22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Redkenrover View Post
    Keep an eye on Matthew Judge. Has been let go by Sligo and would be a good signing. Himself and Glynn could be worth 30-35 goals a season between them
    I'm a big fan of his, I'd be amazed if he'd come near us though
    He hates Athlone.

Was listening to Brendan Murphy on Newstalk last night, he said that the main reason that he is leaving the Meath set up is that they train three nights a week and that he could not commit to that. He said that he has joined LTFC on "his own terms", and he has an understanding with the manager that he will only have to travel to training one night a week. His wife is expecting their first child this year and he said that he wants to spend more time with his family and concentrate a little less on football. These were his reasons for taking "a step back" to LOI football.

Based on the above First division soccer players can never again claim to be on a par with their GAA cousins. I mean Murphy wouldn't get on the Longford GAA panel with "commitment" like that.

In saying all that I was talking to my cousion in Trim who is a good friend of Murphys and he said he is decent and genuine guy and should do very well for us and that he is looking forward to going back playing soccer. Also told me that one of the reasons that he left soccer behind him in England was that he was ****ed off playing reserve team football and getting released by his clubs. His final club in England was Solihull Borough, and he is 34 in August.
    The truth fears no questions...
    It's only when the tide goes out that you learn who's been swimming naked

1,103 Posts
    I'm sure he'd be dedicated enough to do his own training on whatever nights he isn't there. Goalkeepers usually do nothing much in training anyway!. It'll be interesting.

22 Posts
    Met him for the first time last night he seems like a nice bloke turns out he lives a few doors down from me! Small world! We'll be car pooling to longford so I hope he's not a nervous passenger

Quote Originally Posted by Titan View Post
    Met him for the first time last night he seems like a nice bloke turns out he lives a few doors down from me! Small world! We'll be car pooling to longford so I hope he's not a nervous passenger
    have you a bit of insider knowledge there titan??

Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast