Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Possible new signings

Quote Originally Posted by howsyourtouch View Post
    wasnt really that hush hush,he let everyone know he wanted to go and do the scholarship,fair play to him doh,one for the future maybe,his younger brother is still with derby county aswell..
    whos his younger brother howsyourtouch??

1,101 Posts
    At least we're getting started on the squad building fairly quickly. Glynn could be a great signing for our level, I'm surpised he hasn't been kept by Galway. Don't know anything much about Curran but I seem to recall some of the Sligo lads praising him on their forum so if he signs he may be quite useful. That's the type of player we shoud be looking at anyhow, younger players who are hungry to prove themselves. They're generally cheaper too which is of course crucial. Evan Connolly didn't really look ready for first team football in the few runs he got last year but best of luck to him in UCD, dead right to take the scholarship.

38 Posts
    cant remember his brothers name off hand but it does be in the star ever monday on the "irish players abroad" at the back of teh football pullout...he is in the derby youth team,in his second season over there...

1,101 Posts
    Ryan Connolly rings a bell? Think it's something like that.

thats what one of the sligo lads said to me about him. he said that he would be a big loss to rovers
    wouldnt say he'd be a big loss to us. He's been with us for about 4 years now, and hasnt cemented his place, he had one very good game last year V Harps, apart from that hes done nothing special. Wouldnt miss him too much if he left. Good 1st Div player though.

Marty, ignore Rovers1's opinions on Gary Curran and Brian Cash...he has a gripe with them for some reason so his view is tainted.

Curran's a good player and I hope he doesn't go to ye, unless it's a loan deal.

Marty, ignore Rovers1's opinions on Gary Curran and Brian Cash...he has a gripe with them for some reason so his view is tainted.
    no, no "gripe"... just think theyre not good enough for Rovers. Faz on the other hand..too good for us

In the heights of elation since 7.18pm 14/11/10
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Ryan Connolly rings a bell? Think it's something like that.
    Spot on. He is just about to start his second year at the academy. Even though he only officially started last July. Has started about 13 of the 16 games they have played this season, the only first year scholar to start that many games. He has also been a regular in Rep of Ireland underage teams in recent years.

1,101 Posts
    Gary Curran has signed. Confirmed on www.ltfc.ie.

the signings just get better and better. roll on the next new signing.. looked up an old town program against mervue utd jan 03 and trevor gethins was part of the town squad..

so howsyourtouch your memory is quite impressive...

Quote Originally Posted by Cabs88 View Post
    Glynn is a very good signing, and i rated him higher than lower first division so to have him is a great addition. Cant say i would rate the athlone lads too highly, but then again, we're never gonna set the division alight.
    I'd like to think we could hold on to some of last years players, I felt Hardy and Frawley were decent, Gallagher clearly the stand out player. Goughie did alrite, and i think Evan Connolly could be one to look out for with some games
    great signing for ye. he'll definatly score goals in div 1.

information on the new signings:

www.galwayunitedfc.ie

Derek Glynn

Position:
    Striker

Date of Birth:
    08/04/1983

Place of Birth:
    Castlebar, Co Mayo

Height:
    5’7” / 1.70m

Weight:
    11st 6lbs / 160lbs / 72.4kg

Joined United:
    Jan. 2007

Previous Clubs:
    Claremorris AFC

Honours won:
    Connacht medals for Gaelic and Soccer at underage level. Mayo League top scorer for 3 years.

www.sligorovers.com
    gary curran
    Date of birth: 22.09.1987
    Position: Central Midfield
    Previous Clubs: Real Tubber
    Another local and product of the under age system, Gary has full under 18 and under 21 international honours. Composed on the ball, his incisive passing make him a real asset in the centre of the park

22 Posts
    Add to that, Glynn won an MNS Goal of the Month award, I think for July, for his goal against Cork at Turners Cross.
    Marco Tardelli's red and black,
    Red and black, red and black.
    He hates Athlone.

he won player of the month and 2 goal of the month awards

Couple of handy signings for Longford, I must say. If ye can get a midfield grafter to partner Curran (and if he plays to his potential) then ye'll have a good midfield. Glynn will score goals, we know he can. Galway fans seem gutted that he's gone.

220 Posts

Unhappy

So whats the chances of getting Kirby, Freeman and Paisley back in the fold with 'De Town'? If no club comes in for them they'll have to lower their wage demands and then thats when Gough will strike!! I hear McKenna gave a definite 'NO' to Gough when he was asked to rejoin. Any truth in that?

I wouldn't have Paisley back to clean the seats or toilets in the Flansiro !!!!!
    De groot nummer 10

220 Posts
    Well I only wanted Paisley back so we could throw that cheap toilet roll at him and then hopefully we could get some andrex or kitten soft in there!! Exactly how many of our ex players are without a club for next season?

22 Posts
    I'd gladly take Paiso back because he's a quality defender (when fit) and is always a threat on set-pieces. Although there's virtually no hope of him or Kirb coming back. Mostly cos they'd get better offers from other clubs, Alan is a full-time student and planning for a wedding, the €150 or so a week we'd only be able to offer wouldn't take him too far.
    Red and black, red and black.
    He hates Athlone.

1,101 Posts
    Wouldn't be rushing to take Freeman back but I could forgive and forget as regards Paiso, though I think I heard something about him being off to Fingal in any event. Kirbs would be welcome back any time and I wouldn't be surprised to see him back before he finishes his career anyway given that he's going to be living in Longford, possibly is already I don't know.

Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast