Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Players Meeting?

fair play to garto who waived the wages owed to him from his contract and had his contract cancelled. the rest of the players should have done the same..
    Well for him when he had a club across the water to walk into.

The players can go and fcuk off
    You're right they are entitled to walk.

Mainly because your club treated them like dirt.

they will get nothing if things continue to go this way
    Not the point.

I wouldn't have accepted that derisory offer either.

But then I'm really, really, self righteous.

the money they are being offered has come from OUR pockets.
    Fairplay and all but what's your point?

Drogs fans are busting our nuts to save our club , we have families and mortgages aswell
    You also have a vested interest in Drogs survival that the players have no reason to share.

We are trying our best to do right by the players but some of them are being totally unrealistic and whoever thinks the club is trying to get some advantage by not paying its debts ?
    Of course you're getting an advantage.

What's to stop Limerick signing 20 pros on 20 grand a week walking the First Division and then turning around at the end of the year and saying "actually can't pay ye, but don't blame us, we're simple folk, with house, and families, and mortgages, and stuff"

Jesus wept.

grow the fcuk up .
    Right On.

Hope it all works out for ye. May I humbly suggest:

NOT GIVING VINCENT HOEY ANYMORE MONEY!!!!

Players were far from treated like dirt i can assure you of that pal, of course its the point , if they continue this they get nothing .The whole issue is about money is it not ? so how can this not be the point .Of course we have a vested interest in our club thats what being a fan is all about FFS . I dont agree with the way things were done , im screaming blue murder over it here in Drogheda, but what do WE do to try and save our club then ? I want us to start afresh if we survive this ,the current board can fcuk right off as far as im concerned .Dont care if we have to go down to the a leauge , that would be great as long as the club survives . Thats the bottom line here DUFC will die if things continue in this way .This money is coming for our pockets not the directors , i would love them to produce the money but it aint gonna happen , certain players are acting like total idiots because they feel they were mistreated by the club and we as supporters are gonna pay for this by seeing our club destroyed .

125 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ndrog View Post
    Players were far from treated like dirt i can assure you of that pal, of course its the point , if they continue this they get nothing .The whole issue is about money is it not ? so how can this not be the point .Of course we have a vested interest in our club thats what being a fan is all about FFS . I dont agree with the way things were done , im screaming blue murder over it here in Drogheda, but what do WE do to try and save our club then ? I want us to start afresh if we survive this ,the current board can fcuk right off as far as im concerned .Dont care if we have to go down to the a leauge , that would be great as long as the club survives . Thats the bottom line here DUFC will die if things continue in this way .This money is coming for our pockets not the directors , i would love them to produce the money but it aint gonna happen , certain players are acting like total idiots because they feel they were mistreated by the club and we as supporters are gonna pay for this by seeing our club destroyed .
    ndrog i have a great deal of empathy with your plight but unfortuneately empathy or sympathy don't the bills.
    The blame completely lies with the board and nobody else. The players at the end of the day are only holding out for what is theres. God knows when they will ever get another contract like it so personally i would hold out for a better offer.
    The board are treading a very tight line here because the director of corporate enforcement can look into their other directorships and assess if those companies are linked to Drogheda United if receivership takes place. The players know that board (personally) have the money and they are waiting for a better offer.
    The biggest loser here is Drogheda United because nobody is acting in its interest.
    Long Live King Kenny

But surely the point is WE as supporters are killing ourselves to raise the money .The board can rot in hell for all i care , but we are just trying to get on with it .What choice do we have .People are coming on here criticising and having a go like that limerick fan just fcuk me off .

123 Posts
    The self righteous nonsense on here never sesase to amaze me .How the fcuk do you know what supporters thought about the wages players were on ? The players can go and fcuk off , they will get nothing if things continue to go this way , the money they are being offered has come from OUR pockets. Drogs fans are busting our nuts to save our club , we have families and mortgages aswell ! We are trying our best to do right by the players but some of them are being totally unrealistic and whoever thinks the club is trying to get some advantage by not paying its debts ? grow the fcuk up .
    your club made promises you could not keep so now live with outcome If my employee failed to pay my salery and put my home at risk and then let me go why should i help him in any way.and if i was a player i would take any promises made by the club with a large pinch of salt so i think they are right you fcuked them over so they are now receprocating.
    P.s my point is debatable and does not require me to grow the fcuk up
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

The players should have accepted the money as if the club folds they will most likely not receive a cent assuming the fans withdraw their donations. It matters little that contracts were too big or how suddenly the club ran out of money as that is history now.

I still believe Hoey 'n Co should have left months ago.

Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    your club made promises you could not keep so now live with outcome If my employee failed to pay my salery and put my home at risk and then let me go why should i help him in any way.and if i was a player i would take any promises made by the club with a large pinch of salt so i think they are right you fcuked them over so they are now receprocating.
    P.s my point is debatable and does not require me to grow the fcuk up
    seriously are you thick in the head or what ? My club made promises " i " could not keep ? How could i keep these promises ? So you think its fine that the players dont accept the only offer thats on the table and that the club dies ? What have i and my fellow supporters done to deserve that ? We are trying deperately to raise as much money as possible in the worst financial state the country has been in for years ! And a bunch of spoiled fcukers are gonna take my football club away from me .I have stated on numerous occasions that the board were totally and utterly wrong in what they did .Thanksfor your support mate.

125 Posts
    seriously are you thick in the head or what ? My club made promises " i " could not keep ? How could i keep these promises ? So you think its fine that the players dont accept the only offer thats on the table and that the club dies ? What have i and my fellow supporters done to deserve that ? We are trying deperately to raise as much money as possible in the worst financial state the country has been in for years ! And a bunch of spoiled fcukers are gonna take my football club away from me .I have stated on numerous occasions that the board were totally and utterly wrong in what they did .Thanksfor your support mate.
    Ndrog I don't want to get on your back but do you not think that the good people of drogheda are being used and duped by the current board. They are going around (more or less) begging the people of drogheda and its environs for cash that since they put the club in this mess that they are standing back and letting ordinary people who may be struggling as it is, put more strain on themselves by futily trying to bail out the club and then letting themselves off the hook in smug knowledge that they've really cut their costs at the expense of the club you love.
    Long Live King Kenny

Professional Players play for money - if you want players who put the club first you should've gone amateur rather than fully pro.

This blame the players mantra is very convenient for Hoey and Co on the board - it'll be them that'll kill the club, not players wanting what they've earned fair and square.

Quote Originally Posted by jinxy lilywhite View Post
    Ndrog I don't want to get on your back but do you not think that the good people of drogheda are being used and duped by the current board. They are going around (more or less) begging the people of drogheda and its environs for cash that since they put the club in this mess that they are standing back and letting ordinary people who may be struggling as it is, put more strain on themselves by futily trying to bail out the club and then letting themselves off the hook in smug knowledge that they've really cut their costs at the expense of the club you love.

We are gonna start going round in circles tbh .The board fcuked up and they left the supporters to carry the can .Whats done is done , we have no choice but to try and pay the debts if we want the club to survive .The blame game has been done to death at this stage . Reality is if the players done take the money on offer we are dead. end of .

555 Posts
    Reality is if the players done take the money on offer we are dead. end of .
    What about the other creditors, including the Revenue? Who will pay them?

If the players do accept the money put up by the fans, the club could still go under.

Would the fans get their money back?

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    AFAIK employees are always first in line when companies are bankrupt. Revenue would be next in line.

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lucanhoop87 View Post
    thats exactly it, its not completely the players fault, hoey et al are infinitely more to blame than the players

btw does anyone have a link to the main drogheda MB?
    www.irishfootienetwork.com.

Think it's linked in the stickies thread in this forum.

123 Posts
    you still dont get it the players or at least some of them feel ****ed off with the way they have been treated by your club so are now kicking back and cant be bought with a derisory offer i wish more players around the league stood up to these stupidly run clubs and demanded the money they were promised ,my dearest wish is that you go under in the hope it will bring to an end this continued full time dream of the so called super clubs ..go to the A league and learn the rudiments of club management
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post

If the players do accept the money put up by the fans, the club could still go under.

Would the fans get their money back?
    I thought DUFC need to pay the players to have any chance of getting a license next season. I thought the only way the club could go under was if the revenue issued a winding up order because of non-payment.

3,488 Posts
    If the players accept even 1% of what's owed them in full and final settlement of outstanding wages, they can get a licence.

The club will go under on Monday if the examiner decides they have no viable future. Different to the way Shels/Cork/Limerick potentially went under in 2006 (which was as you described).

Ndrog...why arnt you attending this BIG meeting...I have contacts in Drogheda and all fans are welcome....stop fighting with others and go save your club!fight with the players at the meeting instead of biting back at opinions from other clubs fans!

Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    my dearest wish is that you go under
    So this is above any wish for Monaghan United to do well or for you and your family to have good health and happiness.

Your dearest wish is for a football club to go under.....

Weird.. Well actually its incredible.
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

If the players accept even 1% of what's owed them in full and final settlement of outstanding wages, they can get a licence.
    And that's the stumbling block at the moment. The players can't agree on what to accept. Some players want to go with what the club have offered, while a few others are digging their heels in and looking for the full whack.

There'll be a statement from the club at lunch time today regarding this.
    Forzadrogs.....A blog by a Drog with an opinion!

Completely objective point of view:

Fair play to Drogs fans for all their efforts, a lot of credit is due to them.

BUT

These players are FULL TIME PROFESSIONALS. They have held up their end of their contract by attending training and playing matches. The club's end of the contract was to pay them the agreed salary. I

If the club could not guarantee payment of this, why enter into the contract in the first place?

Let's put it into context....

Mr X works for company Y.

His contract is for 50,000 euro per year. He only recieves 45000 of this. The company go bust.

Drogheda will go bust and it will be good enough for the idiots running it. I mean what did Hoey and Byrne think was going to happen is Plan A didn't work out?

The angel fcuking Gabriel????

No disrespect intended to the ordinary fans

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast