Thread: SPL set for Irish influx

Gosh A Face, it's not as it they're threatening to break anyone's legs.

Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    Moderation: Dortie and Not Brazil, chill out there lads. Leave at that now will ye.
    Never intended or indeed want to start a debate over Nationality and internationals with a Linfield fan.

McGinn chose to play for N Ireland, thats his decision as i stated, back on topic, i outlined what might cause him problems when playing for Celtic and N Ireland. Thats if he makes the senior team.

Anyway, £5,000 a week, Derry to Celtic, there was no option.
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by seanfhear View Post
    Good luck to the lad but he should have decared for Ireland though.
    Whilst I can just about let it pass when people on this site refer to the "Ireland" [sic] football team in isolation, it is ignorant and/or insulting when used in direct contrast to the the Northern Ireland team.

How hard is it for you to get into your head that there are two international football teams on the island, neither of which is called "Ireland"? The official authority on this matter is FIFA, and they have declared that the FAI's team is called "Republic of Ireland" (or "ROI" for short).

P.S. I appreciate that this post might get me banned, or this thread closed; so be it.

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    Moderation: Dortie and Not Brazil, chill out there lads. Leave at that now will ye.
    I wasn't feeling heated A Face - I simply believe that professional footballers are, in the main, profesional footballers first and foremost.

I agree with dortie - it's an opportunity for the young lad to earn a decent bit of money, and possibly make a real name for himself. It certainly must be a big thrill for him to have joined a club of the size and stature of Celtic.

He made a bright debut for Northern Ireland, and, has every chance of becoming a regular feature in the international side, particularly as Keith Gillespie's days are numbered.
    The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
    But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
    Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
    And this is what we sang...

Quote Originally Posted by seanfhear View Post
    Good luck to the lad but he should have decared for Ireland though.
    Well I think players should have the choice but if someone is able to shut out all the exterior stuff then that's their perogative and good luck to them. Some can and some can't.

McGinn obviously can so I think his decision should be respected.

Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley View Post
    Gosh A Face, it's not as it they're threatening to break anyone's legs.
    Quote Originally Posted by dortie View Post
    Never intended or indeed want to start a debate over Nationality and internationals with a Linfield fan.
    Sorry lads, i was just trying to prevent anything happening. All is good