Thread: Martin Cullen: "I want an Irish team in the Premiership"

22 Posts
    Chuck Norris don't want it.

That is all.

On a serious note though (accepting that it won't happen for the reasons noted), would the barstoolers of the country ditch Liverpool/Man Utd/Arsenal/whoever to take up watching a team in Dublin? It'd sell out with "away" "fans" for the big games only and be a damp squib the rest of the time.
    Tony Mc Do'nt want it neither. The discussion is now over. The great man has spoken.

64 Posts
    I haven't gotten a response. Has anybody else?

55 Posts

with

one accountant leading the helm and the rest of the dail all teachers on leave, receiving pay and pension from the teaching and guaranteed the jobs back when they pack in the politics despite the fact they will receive more pensions, expenses and ex gratia payments from the politics what do yee expect.
    Teachers are like priests advising on marriage, they part knowledge from textbooks and never really experience anything they teach. The country is being run like a school

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley View Post
    Which buddy of George Bush, anti-democratic oil sheikh, Russian mineral wealth thief or south-east Asian torturer would own Dublin United?
    Ubergruppenfuhrer Schwarzwalder von Hautkopf - thought to be at large in Paraguay
    Kom Igen, FCK...

82 Posts
    As Gary posted above, sure we already had an Irish team in the Premiership and look how that turned out?!

The boys got bored with their toys when the novelty wore off and instant success wasn't forthcoming.

Martin Cullen should qualify his point to "it would be great if we had an Irish team in the Premiership that won everything every year in order to keep the interest of the most fickle, bandwagon-jumping, attention deficit disorder suffering, brainless sheep follower nation on earth".

Something to be proud of indeed.

I'll be dropping Martin a line just to make myself feel better, but honestly, I'd have been more surprised if he didn't say something like this. Given the moron's anti-Midas track record (everything he touches turns to....) I'd prefer he remain a country mile away from the EL as god knows things are bad but not bad enough to need his support.

The sad thing is if there was an election tomorrow he'd probably get in again.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post

Martin Cullen should qualify his point to "it would be great if we had an Irish team in the Premiership that won everything every year in order to keep the interest of the most fickle, bandwagon-jumping, attention deficit disorder suffering, brainless sheep follower nation on earth".

Something to be proud of indeed.

The sad thing is if there was an election tomorrow he'd probably get in again.
    yeah 100%
    and Bertie is tipped for uras - might change my nationality when that happens

136 Posts
    I'd have a slight preference for an Irish team in Serie A. More sunshine and fabulous art galleries for the away trips.

[QUOTE=OneRedArmy;1078252]

"it would be great if we had an Irish team in the Premiership that won everything every year in order to keep the interest of the most fickle, bandwagon-jumping, attention deficit disorder suffering, brainless sheep follower nation on earth".

LOL - that's (sadly) our great 'sport-lovin' public in a nutshell
    Beauty is in the eye of the beer holder

Quote Originally Posted by teckno View Post
    Sorry lads but have to agree with our Minister for Sport on this one. Look at the bigger picture here, if we had an Irish team in Premiership etc look at the overwhelming boost it would do for Irish Soccer. It would give us a massive platform to promote the game nationally. Our top young players rather than leaving the country could now stay at home and play full time professional football without leaving their familys at 16
    Before I get knocked to pieces on this one I feel in turn this could be indeed an excellent boost for League of Ireland football with more fans than even before becoming interested in the game this feel good factor I believe could spill over and in fact help to increase attendances locally etc. I love the league of Ireland etc but to me anyway I can only see positives in this!!!
    You have got to be kidding me!!!!

Premiership ticket normally costs in the region of £30-50, so lets just say €45. Say a dad takes his 2 kids to see Dublin FC face Spurs and ends up paying €135, do you really think he's going to think to himself "Wow, this soccer thing is incredible...I wonder if we have a league of our own?" go home, do some Internet reserach and after he has read all about the snakes being banished from Ireland on Wikipedia turn up at Richmond Park to see Pats vs Sligo and spend another near €50? You are way off the beaten track.

Also, is the presence of Dublin FC going to go around and advertise the Eircom League at their home fixtures, a league that will be it's comeptition for fans and resources? Do you really think they are going to ask 14 year old Joe Irish to join their youth team if they can afford to go and get the next Fabregas instead? The basic fundamentals of the footballing world, especially the Premiership World (ie...money money money), are all missing from your post. Deluded or Wumming, and for the sake of you and yours, I hope it's Wumming

Quote Originally Posted by Titan View Post
    Pineapple Stu is as we speak listing the reasons and UEFA/FIFA rules that will prevent it from happening. He should have the full list by October next year theres that many of them.

Really ?

The only time European law was asked to intervene in a case of clubs from one footballing jurisdiction playing in another jursidiction against the wishes of their home jurisdiction, the clubs won (i.e. the case of the Welsh exile clubs vs the FA of Wales). Footballing rules are always trumped by European law.

Under European competition and restraint of trade laws, if a Dublin-based club was to be accepted into the English Premiership in accordance with the rules of the premiership, there is nothing that could legally be done to prevent that. That is now an established legal fact within the EU, and will remain so until and unless a contrary judgement.

So there are no such regulations for anyone to list that are legally enforceable. Which may explain why they haven’t been.

Quote Originally Posted by endabob1 View Post
    The MK Dons move would suggest that a consortium could quite easily buy an ailing club and simply move them….
    Following the MK Dons farce, the FA have allegedly acted to close the loop-hole that they allowed be created in that case (i.e. that you can move clubs around like chess pieces).

We'll only know for sure how water-tight it is if and when someone tries to do it again.

Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    Aren't Sunderland Irish? Martin, waht next are you going to claim our great Glasgow club Tweedledum aren't Irish too?

This is the idiot who came up with evoting machines that use 20 yearold computer technology and then spends millions storing machines that were obsolete years before he even bought them.

Sorry to dissapoint you, but he didn't that honour goes to Noel Dempsey.
    Now persisting with them and storage thats another story.

Martin Cullen
    Constituency office 8 Ballinakill Crescent
    Ballinakill
    Waterford

Telephone 051 844860.
    Fax number is 051 876943.

Email: ministersoffice@dast.gov.ie

Clinic Times

• The Tavern, Lower Yellow Road at 5pm on Fridays
    • Furlongs, Passage, second Tuesday of every month, 5pm to 6pm

Would a full-on petition not be more effective?
    Lets redefine what it means to heal

reder
    Truely terrible idea and thats coming from someone who has actually attended hundreds of LFC games. The club itself would be a classless piece of sh1t with no history and small sections of scummy inbreds, like some of our lot, would travel over and create trouble which would be perfect fodder for the GAA driven media here, to bash the game of football as a whole. The EL would suffer just as much as anyone from this.

I cant see one positive for the EL in this.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Straightstory View Post
    I'd have a slight preference for an Irish team in Serie A. More sunshine and fabulous art galleries for the away trips.

fabulously understated humour there - just shows how feckin ridiculous were Cullens comments.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

I have three thoughts:

1) when you consider its population and the huge demand and market for 'cross channel soccer' (as RTE like to call it) in this country, there is absolutely no doubt that dublin could quite feasibly sustain a premier league club.

Indeed, if football in europe did operate on a franchise system similar to US sports, i would think that such a club would have materialized long ago. To me, commercially this is a no brainer.

2) Regardless of whether this would actually be a good thing for Irish football, this will not happen anytime soon unless there is a complete overhaul of the game to run on a purely commercial basis. If it hadnt been for the introduction of the extended champions league, this may possibly have happened some time in the 1990's. However, the biggest clubs are now quite happy with the status quo, such that they have even disbanded their elite lobby group G14. Unless they suddenly decide to break away from their national associations and UEFA, the chances of this happening are nil.

3) Most of you lads cannot give an impartial or objective comment on this as to whether a dublin PL club would contribute to the betterment of irish soccer due to your commitment and dedication to the eircom league. Clearly, the formation of such a club in dublin would sound the death knell of the eircom league as even a semi-prof league, let alone one that is fully pro . Like what happend the AIL in rugby once the provinces went professional... the little public interest that exists in the eircom league at present would fall away completely.

It would be the ultimate admission of defeat with regard to establishing a professional domestic league in this country, and seeing as most of you guys seem to still think that goal still to be sensible and feasible... (i am doubtful on both of these fronts), you are most definitely not going to support a proposal that would destroy that vision... Even if it would lead to a more successful national team in the long run
    Last edited by ofjames; 22/12/2008 at 6:25 PM.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ofjames View Post
    I have three thoughts:

1) when you consider its population and the huge demand and market for 'cross channel soccer' (as RTE like to call it) in this country, there is absolutely no doubt that dublin could quite feasibly sustain a premier league club.

Indeed, if football in europe did operate on a franchise system similar to US sports, i would think that such a club would have materialized long ago. To me, commercially this is a no brainer.

2) Regardless of whether this would actually be a good thing for Irish football, this will not happen anytime soon unless there is a complete overhaul of the game to run on a purely commercial basis. If it hadnt been for the introduction of the extended champions league, this may possibly have happened some time in the 1990's. However, the biggest clubs are now quite happy with the status quo, such that they have even disbanded their elite lobby group G14. Unless they suddenly decide to break away from their national associations and UEFA, the chances of this happening are nil.

3) Most of you lads cannot give an impartial or objective comment on this as to whether a dublin PL club would contribute to the betterment of irish soccer due to your commitment and dedication to the eircom league. Clearly, the formation of such a club in dublin would sound the death knell of the eircom league as even a semi-prof league, let alone one that is fully pro . Like what happend the AIL in rugby once the provinces went professional... the little public interest that exists in the eircom league at present would fall away completely.

It would be the ultimate admission of defeat with regard to establishing a professional domestic league in this country, and seeing as most of you guys seem to still think that goal still to be sensible and feasible... (i am doubtful on both of these fronts), you are most definitely not going to support a proposal that would destroy that vision
    why not the Primera Liga?
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quote Originally Posted by ofjames View Post
    blah blah blah
    We already have a football team in Dublin though. 7 to be exact playing in top two tiers of our ****ing national league. (Yes, **** shock horror we have a football league!)

If Cullen wants football of an ''acceptable standard'' so he can sit in his fatcat corporate box with the rest of his Premiership loving, invisible importing, hypocritical Fianna Fáil chums, he can invest some major money into the LoI instead of inventing some souless club with no history or tradition, a.k.a Franchise Football.

[quote=ofjames;1078431]I have three thoughts:

Yes, because population and market demand are reason enough to play in another countries football league. Sure there is a huge market for premiership teams in Asia too and a huge population, might as well add a few teams as well.

"Indeed, if football in europe did operate on a franchise system similar to US sports, i would think that such a club would have materialized long ago. To me, commercially this is a no brainer."

Yeah we could have this Dublin team sponsored by Mcdonalds or even KFC. KFC Dublin FC. That certainly would be a commercial 'no brainer'.

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast