Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

Thread: Martin Cullen: "I want an Irish team in the Premiership"

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Its weird but its not thousands and thousands weird.
    Thing is, if somewhere vague figure between 2.5k and 5k go each weekend, the total number who go once/ twice/ thrice a season - and consider themselves 'fans' - is probably a decent multiple of that, whereas the 12k who go to a LoI game of a friday probably represent the majority of the total who go at all in a season.

To put it another way - only a minority of the total number of travelling Irish prem fans go every week, whereas a relatively large number go a few times a season, whereas - I would guess - most of those who do go to LoI games go most weeks (or most home games anyway), so that the 12k average total attendance at League games here probably represents half - or more - of hte total who ever go.

A wide but shallow pool of one kind of fan V a small but deep pool of the other.
    Last edited by sonofstan; 23/12/2008 at 3:26 PM.
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

Quote Originally Posted by ofjames View Post
    I have three thoughts:
    . Even if it would lead to a more successful national team in the long run
    Just out of curiosity, does anyone know the rules regarding international football? With no national league left, and therefore no teams in any European competition and the only club team to speak of playing in a foreign country's league, would Ireland even be entitled to field a national team in either FIFA or UEFA competitions?

3,489 Posts
    Liechtenstein's clubs play in Switzerland, but they have to organise a domestic Cup to keep their national team in UEFA.

Rovers should team up with Ryanair to issue a joint statement denouncing this as nonsense.

136 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Boh_So_Good View Post
    I was thinking about all this today and I think this might be a carrot (lie) Cullen is holding out to the Sheeple as a YES vote Sweetener for the Lisbon Treaty.

The Masonic Common Purpose agenda runs seminars for politicians teaching them to bully and fool the electorate without any restraint is good if it achieves the ultimate goal of an EU facist superstate. I suspect that we have not heard the last of this and we may well get. "Lisbon will allow for the Premiership to expand into Ireland" and expect to see NeoCons such as Gordon Brown and Barroso coming out with the same line as the Lisbon Vote nears.

Considering that the Irish premiership brigade are instinctual traitors by their very nature, it makes perfect sense that the greatest act of teason in the history of Ireland (our entire political machine at war with our Republic) would reach out to them in time as they are a natural collaborator.
    Quite the barmiest conspiracy theory I've ever seen. You're either joking or an acolyte of the hugely sinister Declan Ganly - a man who appeals to the very worst instincts of Irish people (rather like Roy Keane). 'European Fascisct Superstate' - don't be so ridiculous.

105 Posts
    I have met Cullen on several occassions. What an idiot to come out with something like this. I can't wait until I have the pleasure again.

Quote Originally Posted by Straightstory View Post
    Quite the barmiest conspiracy theory I've ever seen. You're either joking or an acolyte of the hugely sinister Declan Ganly - a man who appeals to the very worst instincts of Irish people (rather like Roy Keane). 'European Fascisct Superstate' - don't be so ridiculous.
    Then why bother replying, Oh EU lovin NeoCon? Nevermind, I think we all know the answer to that.

Have no fear, on the eve of the Lisbon Treaty vote, I shall ressurect this thread to remind as many of the non-Sheeple folks here on foot.ie why they might consider voting NO. Not all of us want to live in a bland, souless, undemocratic EU McSuperstate with 32 mega soccer clubs run by NeoCons and Financial Criminals who want to "upgrade" us with microchips because they loath individuality and regional cultures.

Just because the likes of Martin Cullen is an anti-Irish loser do not assume the rest of us are just as worthless. Now hurry back to your Common Purpose seminar as I think the module on destroying local communities/cultures is just about to start.
    Last edited by Boh_So_Good; 23/12/2008 at 11:37 PM.

Cowan just rolled out Cullen to distract attention from the collapse of the Irish economy.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    There are ****ing loads on boards. Idiots.
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055446109
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthrea...4#post58355814

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy
    You can't compare a Sligo person supporting Sligo and a Mayo person supporting Sligo for jaysus sake.
    could say the same for a culchie supporting Manchester United...
    Kom Igen, FCK...

http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=c...k=view&id=3910

Sure when the head of the FAI couldn't even give a ****e enough to mention the league, something is seriously wrong.
    Lets redefine what it means to heal

Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthrea...4#post58355814

could say the same for a culchie supporting Manchester United...
    This is funny !

399 Posts
    Just picking this up now, I think I read a figure of 10,000 per week leave Ireland to watch matches in the UK, this is an all ireland figure from which Celtic come out on top with around 5,000 (as they would atttract more support from sections within NI + ROI for historical reasons) and Man U next at around 3,000, all of the others were in high hundred figures.

Dont ask me where I read this, I think it was the Sun Indo and was a good few yrs ago.

Ps Cullen couldnt even get the name right, the legal entity of the top div in england is called 'The (barclays) Premier League' - the use of 'premiership' ended 2 seasons ago
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

47 Posts
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...728559325.html

Fair play Turlough! That'll take him down a peg or two.
    "If you don't work harder I'll pull you off at halftime,"
    “Crikey, at Manchester City all we get is an orange and a cup of tea,"

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Cowan just rolled out Cullen to distract attention from the collapse of the Irish economy.
    POTM !

Funny, and posibly true, but this has only upset about 12,000 of us so it's hardly worked on the scale he had envisaged. We need to do like the Americans and declare war -wasn't there some weapons of mass destruction on the Isle of Man or something?

283 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post

Under European competition and restraint of trade laws, if a Dublin-based club was to be accepted into the English Premiership in accordance with the rules of the premiership, there is nothing that could legally be done to prevent that. That is now an established legal fact within the EU, and will remain so until and unless a contrary judgement.

So there are no such regulations for anyone to list that are legally enforceable. Which may explain why they haven’t been.
    Unwittingly, DCFC has hit upon why this suggestion is about as feasible as an Irish Mission to Mars: The Premier League would NEVER entertain "Dublin United FC" joining them.

Think about it. The EPL is arguably the most lucrative cash generator in world sport. It is controlled by the Chairmen of the 20 participating clubs - many of them Billionaires. They are all absolutely desperate for their own club to remain in the EPL.

WHY ON EARTH WOULD THEY VOTE TO EXCLUDE ONE OF THEIR OWN, IN ORDER TO MAKE WAY FOR A CLUB WHICH DOESN'T EXIST AND WHICH DOESN'T EVEN HAVE A STADIUM, NEVER MIND FANS, FROM AN OVERSEAS CITY IN ANOTHER JURISDICTION ENTIRELY?

Whenever Rangers & Celtic crash out of Europe early (i.e. half the time), someone connected with those clubs suggests that they should be allowed to join the EPL. Yet despite both these being long-established clubs with a hugely impressive history, with massive support and excellent stadia, in a British city which is only 5 hours by train from the furthermost existing EPL club (Pompey), the EPL still politely tells them to Sod Off every time.

And even in the hugely unlikely event of the the EPL expanding its remit outside of England, off the top of my head, I can think of half a dozen major European capital cities alone which would be far more likely/feasible to be invited to join before Dublin (Paris, Amsterdam, Copenhagen, Prague, Budapest, Brussels etc).

I can see why LOI fans are outraged by this suggestion. But for the above reasons, IT SIMPLY WILL NOT HAPPEN. So after registering their disgust with the Minister concerned directly, I would suggest that they simply forget about this.

Quote Originally Posted by ofjames View Post
    I have three thoughts:
    3 good thoughts, despite the over-reaction of many on the board. Had any of the various "breakaway" leagues touted by the G14 to threaten UEFA over the last few years actually become reality, then I would think that some billionaire may have attempted to get a Dublin club into the mix (obvioulsy not in the current economic climate). However, joining an established closed shop is a non-runner, and would indeed spell the end of football in Ireland as we know it.

My various thoughts include the following (some devils advocate so try to avoid calling me names please...)

• Firstly, I think that the nature of this forum lends itself to a predictable overall response to this issue - obviously we are all wedded to our local clubs and want this ludicrous proposal to be laughed out of it.
    • Secondly, taking rugby as an example is a good comparison - however the provincial structure in Ireland lent itself very neatly to the transition to professionalism. There already was a long history of inter-pro competition and the various traditions of the provinces were well established. There are no such structures already in place in football
    • Thirdly, on the continuing rugby theme, Wales and Scotland were forced to create regional teams from scratch. This has had mixed results. The Celtic Warriors were formed from 2 of the stronger league teams, yet only lasted a year before being disbanded, while the Ospreys have gone from strength to strength
    • Fourthly, I find it a bit ironic that "national" issues are being thrown out when many of the people on this board see as perfectly acceptable the long-term goal of an All-Ireland league, with feeder national leagues from Ireland and the North.

As I've said, with a forum like this, when a proposal arrives, the first question we ask ourselves is "how will this affect my club".
    Given that this scheme would kill the professional clubs in existence already, it's fairly obvious that none of us are in favour of it, whereas there may be some qualified support for a Celtic League, provided all clubs had a shot at getting into it and regionalisation was not applied.
    Foot.ie's entire existence is predicated on the average idiot's inability to ignore other idiots

read in the paper yesterday joe dolan toured russia years ago and the government thought he was a communist.pity he wasnt and didnt lead a coup so idiots like cullen would have no job today

Celbridge aka C-Bridge aka The CBDG/Leeson Street
    Well lads, didn't he just say this in passing with absolutely no intention of following up? Just a dumb*ss attempt to say what he thought people would like to hear? Tryin to be... down with the kids

Infact, apart from the minority LoI populace, maybe a large chunk of the other 3.9million in the country heard it and said "that would be class! Man Utd home! Savage!" Maybe not.

Its just highlighted the different evolutionary paths (or stages on the same path) between the currently local passionate semi pro loi club surviving on the will of the community with the Premiership Era english clubs who are just money machines who could fill their stadiums ten times over with their "fans" in South America and Asia. Proper fans galled at the idea while armchair fans just think of the glamour. (Though in fairness, if a club did get in, spent the resulting millions and millions on LOI players, facilities, clubs etc would that be worth the selling of whats left of our footballing soul? Trophies change minds?lol)

Also a team couldnt just jump into the Premiership like that, they'd have to start in League 2 at the highest. I think the Football League has tested the Old Firm with that before, see if they'd suffer Torquay United et al lol Look at the Welsh teams, whens the last time any of them were in the Premiership? Politicians are shortsighted insincere, corrupt, incompetent idiots of the highest order. I omit none from that statement... since Joe Higgins lost his seat lol
    "Football's not a matter of life and death... its much more important than that"

http://pintofunspecific.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by ShnaeGuevara715 View Post
    Politicians are shortsighted insincere, corrupt, incompetent idiots of the highest order. I omit none from that statement...
    Whilst the core of what you are trying to say is true, it isn't at all served by being capped-off by such a childishly feeble assertion...
    Last edited by dcfcsteve; 02/01/2009 at 10:39 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by stamullendrog View Post
    joe dolan toured russia years ago and the government thought he was a communist.pity he wasnt and didnt lead a coup so idiots like cullen would have no job today
    I'm pretty sure you'd find that if we had become a corrupt communist dictatorship, you'd find yourself petitioning Local Commissar Cullen under the framed portrait of General Secretary Ahern to get that new plough for your collective farm.

'Twould be the same rats, only in a slightly different sewer.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fivesilver View Post
    I'm pretty sure you'd find that if we had become a corrupt communist dictatorship, you'd find yourself petitioning Local Commissar Cullen under the framed portrait of General Secretary Ahern to get that new plough for your collective farm.

'Twould be the same rats, only in a slightly different sewer.
    and the populous would be stood in the People's Stadium on a Saturday afternoon watching CSKA Limerick play Lokomotiv Monaghan
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast