Page 9 of 26 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast

Thread: CL knock out stage

200 Posts
    The only Arsenal penalty that really impressed me was Kolo Toure where he raced in from virtually the center circle and pinged it low into the corner. I think that approach is the best way for a non specialist to take a penalty, just lash it low hard and fast, that way - assuming it's on target - the keeper has to get a fair bit of his body behind it to stop it. I feel a bit sorry for Eduardo, he jittered to try and see which way Doni would go but the Roma keeper didnt commit himself - and he lost all momentum when it came to striking the ball as he'd paused his run up.

Of Roma's takers I thought Montella (right in the corner) Aquilani and Baptista (given his treatment by the crowd) hit good kicks.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Don't remind me about keepers going the wrong way for penos. I will never forget Given going the wrong way for all 5 in Korea
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    Don't remind me about keepers going the wrong way for penos. I will never forget Given going the wrong way for all 5 in Korea
    Ya, what was that about?? I really fancied he'd stop a few. Oh well, he's still class.

200 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    To be fair with Mendieta's he came so close to flicking it over with his shin...
    I always think it's best if a keeper stays pretty central for penalties especially in shoot outs where, as you start getting down the order, the kickers are less and less set piece specialists.

If a keeper stays upright as long as possible he can try and see which way the ball is going, if it's either slow, or not right in the upper corners, he should be able to get something on it. Also shoot outs are where big keepers (physically tall etc) come into their own, Buffon, Der Saar, Kahn, Dida* all have big frames and all are good at saving PKs.

*Granted Dida is pretty crummy at conventional keeping...

Quote Originally Posted by cfdh_edmundo View Post
    To be fair with Mendieta's he came so close to flicking it over with his shin...
    I always think it's best if a keeper stays pretty central for penalties especially in shoot outs where, as you start getting down the order, the kickers are less and less set piece specialists.

If a keeper stays upright as long as possible he can try and see which way the ball is going, if it's either slow, or not right in the upper corners, he should be able to get something on it. Also shoot outs are where big keepers (physically tall etc) come into their own, Buffon, Der Saar, Kahn, Dida* all have big frames and all are good at saving PKs.

Van Der Sar has never won a penalty shoot out competition when it's mattered until last seasons CL final.

He is woeful at penalties. But in general your point stands up. Pepe Reina is good at pens as well.
    The Hallion Battalion Molests football.:D

2,796 Posts

Cech has a poor record in shoot outs.

Apparently Niall Quinn was superb at it.

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Bruce View Post
    Van Der Sar has never won a penalty shoot out competition when it's mattered until last seasons CL final.
    Not true. Holland v Sweden Euro 2004.

Quote Originally Posted by Steve Bruce View Post
    He is woeful at penalties.
    Ok this didn't really matter but still impressive enough. Hardly woeful anyway.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YXtiWM20O0M

Quote Originally Posted by BarelyLegal View Post
    Not true. Holland v Sweden Euro 2004.

Ok this didn't really matter but still impressive enough. Hardly woeful anyway.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YXtiWM20O0M
    Ha ha classic fair play barely legal.
    In Trap we trust

84 Posts
    When is the draw for quater finals?
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

200 Posts
    friday 20th lunchtime, same time as uefa cup draw.

64 Posts
    Also shoot outs are where big keepers (physically tall etc) come into their own, Buffon, Der Saar, Kahn, Dida* all have big frames and all are good at saving PKs.
    I'd say penalties are Buffon's only weak area. He saves relatively few considering how good he is overall.

200 Posts
    He did alright in Euro 2008, saved from Mutu in normal time (the only regular penalty saved in the competition) and from Gueiza in the shoot out vs Spain. He saved Kaladze and Seedorf in the 2003 Champions League final...

Villareal v Arsenal
    Man.Utd. v Porto
    Liverpool v Chelsea
    Barca v Bayern

Semi's 1v2 & 3v4
    They say what about the meek?
    I say they’ve got a bloody cheek

47 Posts
    Handy draw for Utd, Liverpool vs Chelsea for the 10,000th time...
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

reder
    Villareal v Arsenal
    Man. Utd v Porto
    Liverpool v Chelsea
    Barca v Bayern
    Last edited by reder; 20/03/2009 at 11:18 AM.

21 Posts
    ManU to beat Arsenal in the semi
    Liverpool to beat Barca in the other semi

Liverpool to beat ManU in the final... and then I woke up

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Barca to beat Man Utd in the final.

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    Barca to beat Man Utd in the final.
    I'd be happy with that (ManU to lose) but I think the winner of the Chelsea/Liverpool tie will be too strong for the Catalans

Man Utd are the poxiest shower of @uck£ng @astar&s this side of the moon...

Talk about your handy draw.

Liverpool have it all to do.

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pike B View Post
    Man Utd are the poxiest shower of @uck£ng @astar&s this side of the moon...

Talk about your handy draw.

Liverpool have it all to do.
    100% agree

Page 9 of 26 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast