Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9101112 LastLast

Thread: Combined Counties Football League

Quote Originally Posted by PAFC View Post
    Anyhow it should be interesing to see how the CCFL handle it.

I agree the refs have been poor over the last few seasons. Fitness is a major problem but so too is their attitude. Only one or two are up to the standard required.
    I think alot of the guys do the job of referee for the money. One guy i know who did it for a year or two told me the money is great.
    On a saturday you can ref 4 schoolboy & one youths game. €160+ in cash by saturday evening. Two adult games then on a Sunday €120. He made a massive hole in the mortgage and this was his sole motavation.

Perhaps a massive drive should be made to identify ex players who understand the game and get these guys to qualify as refs.
    I couldnt agree more,,great points

Quote Originally Posted by PAFC View Post
    Anyhow it should be interesing to see how the CCFL handle it.

I agree the refs have been poor over the last few seasons. Fitness is a major problem but so too is their attitude. Only one or two are up to the standard required.
    I think alot of the guys do the job of referee for the money. One guy i know who did it for a year or two told me the money is great.
    On a saturday you can ref 4 schoolboy & one youths game. €160+ in cash by saturday evening. Two adult games then on a Sunday €120. He made a massive hole in the mortgage and this was his sole motavation.

Perhaps a massive drive should be made to identify ex players who understand the game and get these guys to qualify as refs.
    Wouldn't agree with the fugures you put forward but yes it is a nice little earner alright. The problem as I see it is that a referee needs to know the rule book obvioulsy but it's the application of those rules and indeed being able to deal with people. Some refs are good at it, some are bad. If you have a ref who say is a supervisor at his work place or perhaps a teacher etc you will find they konw how to handle certain situations through common sense. I have seen refs who know the rules but because this then gives them a bit of "power" on a Sunday morning or whenver they can sometimes loose the run of themselves. Whats worse, I hate when refs make a decesion and knows instantly it's wrong so trys to make amends by giving a decesion later in the game but in the end make things worse. Fr Ted springs to Mind when he went at his car to hammer out a small dent. He went too far on one side so he over compensated on the other only to realise he went too far pushing it back over and you get the picture!

peters drawin to mountmellick 3-3 willow pk must be lickin there lips!!!!!!!!1

ya fair play to them, it`s not easy with willow and peters dominating!!!!!!!

Was at the melville vs monksland game today great game and a bit of a shock with melville winning monksland wont be happy it might get there season going now..also great result for peters not an easy place to go and win as killavilla have improved..how did that match go were peters lucky...

Feel sorry for Monksland, they were 3 -2 up I believe??
    Ref, didn't do them any favours as i understand it. Anyone else at it who can elaborate?

Peters B won 3 - 2 down in Kilavilla at 11am and the first team won one nil at 2pm. Not an easy place to go, plus the wind didn't help so I think all are happy with 6 points yesterday. it puts Peters top of two divisions and the B travel to second place kilcormac next week which is the preverbal 6 pointer!

30 Posts
    Couldnt get to it but I heard that the Land lads were arguing among themselves
    for a fair bit of the game and that didnt help at all.

Thanks Ash,

Hope the monksland lads don't let that get in the way of football, they can be proud of their record to date this year and should build on it now for the rest of the season. It's always difficult when you have a team who are used to winning not quite getting their way on the day and the rows are frustration rather than anything sinister.
    Hope they bounce back, they have signed a great addition in Stevie Mullan, though a little fiery himself he'll have the experience and ability to change games that are heading for a draw, into a monksland win. Good luck to all.

It looks like Monksland are going to be in the top divison in the ccfl next year. But dose anyone think they will stay up or will they struggle like Mellive. Personally i think Willow and maybe St Peters are to strong for this league so if they were to move to a better league they might have some chance.

I think monksland are more than capable of staying up tbh. I would say they have a better squad this year than Melville had last year and if they can hang to the team they could do quite well. Also, Melville have quite a few lads in the Army so unfortunatly they seem to loose two or three to Chad or some other trip.

The Weather has played havoc with Fixtures. St Peters firsts have played two league games since 16th of October but still are half way through their league. The B team have played one and and are over half way. If the Weather was a kinder Winter, both would be nearly finished by now and shows how poor this league set up is. I think for Peters and Willow to progress and keep attracting good players they''ll need to look outside the CCFL, while their standard is good for other teams to pitch themselves against, eventually the gap closes in a backwards fashion.

30 Posts
    Monksland dropped their 1st points of the season on Sunday. Drew 1-1 with
    Edenderry. Even enough game, referee was terrible, although Monksland were
    doing themselves no favours with some bickering amongst themselves.
    Stevie came on as a sub ... little bit of a dive for a peno but was turned down

B team lost 4-1 to Moate, was only 1-0 at half time, seemed evenly enough
    matched Typicial I missed most of the goals cos both games were on at same
    time at I watched 1st half of B's and 2nd of A's.

congrats to willow park and st peters for pickingup westmeath sportstar awards at the weekend.It's good to see local football being reconised on a bigger stage long may it continue.

Thread seems to be gone bit quiet at moment .Just wanted to say well done to willow park on reachin the last 32 of Fai Junior have a great chance now in IMO.And to St peters and mullingar and willow Reachin the last 32 of leinster Junior.
    And all left to play for in the domestic leagues and cups who do people fancy for them?And just read there davy donoghue has been selected to Irish junior squad well to him IMO i feel a few players in league are good to get a crack at it.

30 Posts
    Goal fest in Cushla Park this morning in the Cup game. Clonbunny went into a 2-0 lead, Stevie Mullan pulled 1 back for
    Monksland before half time.
    Again the Monksland lads were sniping at each other throughout the game but David O'Brien made things level with a bullet
    free kick and then ran 3/4 the lenght of the pitch to score and Monksland 3-2 up. Matt Scally then came off the bench
    and netted a hat-trick to finish the score 6-2.

B team were robbed by the most incompetent referee I have ever seen in all my Sundays watching footie. Monksland went
    1 up in 2nd half, Clara pulled 1 back and in the last 5 mintes got the winner from an unbelievably off-side position. Ref
    totally missed it as he was chatting to some of the other players and not watching the game at all!
    Last edited by Ash; 15/02/2010 at 7:22 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by AlwaysAHoop View Post
    Thread seems to be gone bit quiet at moment .Just wanted to say well done to willow park on reachin the last 32 of Fai Junior have a great chance now in IMO.And to St peters and mullingar and willow Reachin the last 32 of leinster Junior.
    And all left to play for in the domestic leagues and cups who do people fancy for them?And just read there davy donoghue has been selected to Irish junior squad well to him IMO i feel a few players in league are good to get a crack at it.
    Well Done to all the above sides mentioned!!

Well Done to Davy Donoghue also.. lets hope he makes the trimmed down Squad!!

Looking @ the CCFL Table.... Like a reversal of last season with Willow Park playing catch up!!

Favourites @ the moment would be St Peters with points on board???

I would not say peters are favorites i still think willow are favorites.Heard peters signed rory mcgowan back aswell great player for them.exciting run now till end of season.

Best of Luck to Sully and all the willow lads this Sunday in the FAI. There are a couple of big sides drawn against eachother in this and the next round so "Impossible is Nothing"!

ST Peters in the LFA against Mullingar Athletic should be a good old fashioned cup tie with both sides capable of good football and the odd hard tackle... So good luck to Micky and the lads.
    Last edited by Fr Damo; 19/02/2010 at 8:17 AM.

30 Posts
    Monksland United FC - CCFL Premier Division Champions 2010
    That is all.

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post
    Monksland United FC - CCFL Premier Division Champions 2010
    That is all.
    well done to monksland. quick question ash, when they moved from roscommon to CCFL what division did they join? its not too long ago so its a great acheivement to make the senior div already
    Havin a weekend away is quite frankly,lettin ur team mates down!

30 Posts
    Not sure which division ... I think I was still playing with ye when they made the switch!
    From what I can remember it was around the time that Heatmerchants folded aswell after the Ros League were looking for rather large entry fees. CCFL was a lot cheaper to join so they moved across.

Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9101112 LastLast